223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Borrego Springs, California (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
18.58 miles SW
18.58 miles SW
18.79 miles NW
23.78 miles SW
24.06 miles NE
24.06 miles NE
28.24 miles NE
28.36 miles NE
28.76 miles N
29.26 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
D and E's
2.58 miles W
La Pavilion At Rams Hil
2.60 miles W
Bernard'S - Borrego Spri
3.54 miles SW
The Springs At Borrego (Approx) 25% Discount
4.38 miles NW
Anza-Borrego (35')
4.70 miles W
Leapin Lizard
14.05 miles SE
Stagecoach Trails Resort
(877)896-2267
15.07 miles SW
Benlo Rv Service Center
16.47 miles NE
Sun Bird Rv
16.56 miles NE
California
Borrego Springs
Most Recently Reviewed
The Springs at Borrego RV Resort and Golf Club
Latest Review Submited On
2014-06-14 22:29:48
8 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Borrego Springs, California
Camp Information
Sites
140
Date of Stay
December 2012
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   10   7   10   8   7   7   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$37
Agua Caliente is a very peaceful, desert location (except for the helicopter training) if you want to be a remote location. We had a great hike on the Moonlight Canyon Trail. But the park is easily an hour from the Anza Borrego Visitor Center and from Julian. We had absolutely no cell reception (Verizon). In order to do an on-line reservation we could not select a 50 amp site although new power pedestals were going in with 50 amp service. We found the sites quite unlevel (our front tires were off the ground) We also would recommend approaching the park from I-8 if there is a choice. especially with a bigger rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$35
But for the heat this is a very nice park. It is a seasonal campground that closes at the end of May and reopens in October. Late spring can be as hot as any summer day at this park, as we found out the hard way. We arrived late Friday night expecting the daytime temp to be around 80 or so degrees the next day. How wrong we were. We went on April 20 and the daytime high the next day was about 114 degrees. We decided this was much more than we bargained for and so we left. Aside from the heat this early, the park is a desert hot spring with three pools. One of the three is exclusively adult use only, I don't know the reason for this but no funny business or anything like that. The campground is well maintained with paved roads right up to the camp site with dirt/sand camping pads. There are both full hook up and primitive sites and everything in between. If you expect to be able to get a cell phone signal don't bank on it, you are isolated and the only connection to the world is a pay phone at the registration office. I went here visiting from memories of my youth when my folks used to take us there, I just don't remember the heat. Anyway, if you are going to visit this campground I think it could be much more enjoyable during the cooler times of the year unless you are just a die-hard and it doesn't matter. There were plenty of those out there too that just enjoyed their time no matter the heat. I will visit this park again but when it is much cooler. Last thing that is a little misleading, this park is actually in the city of Julian not Borrego Springs which is about 20 miles North of Agua Caliente though they are both considered the Anza Borrego Desert. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$26
Agua Caliente is a beautiful park in a beautiful desert! The rangers and camp hosts are wonderful, welcoming and helpful. The sites all seem to be very large. We were in a back-in spot at the end and rear of the park and our backyard was a gorgeous stretch of desert and a mountain peak behind that. You are surrounded by nature and there are many trails and hikes to take in the park and also in Anza-Borrego S.P. We had no TV, no cell reception, no Internet, and couldn't have cared less. The beauty is outside and that's were we stayed. The "Hot Springs" spa is chlorinated so it kind of ruined the "natural" part of having the spa. And the only other bothersome thing is the nearby El Centro training center for helicopter pilots who did land/takeoff drills for several hours two nights in a row, right across the highway. It was loud and very annoying but not the park's fault. Other times it was so quiet you could hear the coyotes, the owls, the quail, and even a pin drop! Peaceful!!! I would imagine if you had kids there, you'd have to be pretty careful keeping an eye on them. The "big" pool was freezing cold and I did not assess the "children's pool" so amusement might be an issue for small kids. But us two grown-ups LOVED the park and can't wait to return! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Agua Caliente County Park
Camp Information
Sites
140
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   4   8   8   9   9   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
This is a great state park. Very quiet desert setting a long way from any significant traffic. We had wind and blowing sand for 2 days and lovely weather for 2 days but that's the luck of the draw on the desert. There are many walks and sights to see nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
We stayed in the dry camp area. Site was OK sized with a nice shaded picnic bench, fire pit, and lots of backyard. Good privacy. Best part was the quietness at night. No noise whatsoever. Sites are fine gravel and level. We used our Verizon MiFi, which worked well. However, before paying $25 a night for dry camping, we will try a boondocking site in the area when we come back to Borrego Springs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$35
I've been to Borrego many times from 2007-2010. The rates have increased at the park since my last visit, but the park is still as nice as it was years ago. There are full hook up sites and primitive sites throughout the park. It is a quiet family friendly park to be sure. Internet and cellular connections are not the greatest, but given the location visitors should spend more time outside exploring the area. Oh, and the showers now require tokens which is a change from our last visit here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Anza Borrego Desert State Park
Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
February 2012
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   3   10   6   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$23
The Managers are what made this experience a good one for us. Their attitude and willingness to let us stay without a reservation during the busiest season even though we had to move sites twice during the month was outstanding. The Park is clean and new laundry and clubhouse are almost finished. Location is great for riding your bike all around town. We made a reservation for the month of March next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$23
Rate based on a two week stay. My site was a sand back-in that was almost level. All utilities worked fine. Wi-Fi signal strong and internet connection good most of the time, but slowed down during busy times. Cable TV available for those staying longer than one month. The park is undergoing some improvements. A new clubhouse should be opening soon. The laundry and restrooms are being upgraded. A new entrance to the park will open same time as the clubhouse, but until then use the old entrance. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2011
$35
We stayed at Holiday Homes for 4 winters, 2010/2011 winter being our final visit there. The transition from the previous owner to the new one has been tumultuous and rates have increased substantially. The infrastructure is still mostly 1960s without appreciable upgrades. The new owner has done a lot to clean up the park, electrical/water/sewer hookups are replaced on a "per need" basis. Laundry floods if more than one washer is used and circuit breaker blows if more than two dryers are used. If 50 amp service is not working you have to adapt for 30 amp. Only two bathrooms and one shower per gender; not enough to meet needs. Staff is friendly unless something breaks down, then become contentious. This park used to be a nice, inexpensive place to stay for self-contained RVs. Now rates have increased to the point that it is no longer a good value for the amount charged. There are a great deal of intro-park politics, which we don't like participating in. No one seems to be happy. The park is in a constant state of flux. Recently, before we left, there were three different rate policies in effect with two weeks. The town and park offer a lot of incentives, but this park needs to establish fixed policies and upgrade it's infrastructure before we will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Borrego Holiday Home Park(a 55+ Community)
Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   10   7   10   9   8   9   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
We loved this park, the shade around each site, the friendly staff especially the owner who helped us back in to the site, and the immaculate restroom facilities. The sites were generous in size, level and well-kept. The only drawback is the extremely limited communication through cell phone and Internet. Limited browsing does not include use of Facebook. I know this is not important for many people but we are full-time travelers and want to keep connected with friends and family. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$23
We really enjoyed this campground even though it was in the middle of the desert and ATVing is the popular activity. It was quiet while we were there, but according to their rules it would be even when they have a lot of ATVers. ATVers must use a back gate and push the vehicle out do the park or in to avoid stirring up dust. The sites are surrounded with some kind of tree/bush which provided shade for a good portion of the day. This campground was immaculate! They sweep and rack the sites each day and also the dog park, which they also roll pack. The shower house/bathroom was spotless and I observed them multiple times each day, checking it out. The laundry room was also extremely clean. The owners and workkampers were so friendly and helpful. The owners are building a pool and hot tub which is going to be beautiful when finished later this year. I would definitely stay here when in the area. Again, ATVing is the thing to do in this area, so it could be dusty (more than normal) in the area, but not inside this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$12
Price is based on monthly rate. This park is just wonderful. Rural, but not completely isolated. The Leaping Lizard's owners and staff are not only helpful and incredibly friendly, but will work out excursions for you, give you info on Anza Borrego SP, and the area surrounding the RV Park. LL owns about 135 acres, that is our backyard view from the RV, and a fine place to take the dogs for a big run. There is a trough for the horse which the dogs (2 golden retrievers) can jump in and cool off! We are about 20 minutes from Borrego Springs and 40 minutes from Brawley, which has all the big box stores if you need a big "shop." We arrived after dark, and the owners and two staff showed up with flashlights to help us back into our primo spot (#18). The bathrooms and showers are immaculate. I am serious! This is the first RV Park Review I've done and I'm inspired to do so since this is such a perfect place for us. If you like big-in-town luxury parks, this is probably not for you, but we were mightily amazed even to find every one of the 60-some sites raked and surrounded by tamarix for ultimate privacy. WiFi is fine, but we don't have cell coverage. You can walk a block to get three bars. There is a store for emergency goods a half mile away. They are building a pool that should be open next year. Come visit! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Leapin' Lizard RV Ranch
Camp Information
Sites
6
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
question
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$45
The Oasis is a small, clean, quiet place to stay in an RV, in the middle of a beautiful desert, yet close to restaurants, Anza Borrego Desert State Park, the Ocotillo Wells off-road area, and the Spring wildflower bloom. The RV sites have water and electric and, being in town, VZ and Sprint Internet broadband can be received. The management is pleasant and accommodating. The Oasis closes for the summer, and has many regular bookings, so check for availability. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
132
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   5   4   8   8   7   7   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  no  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$37
This was our second visit to the Palm Canyon this year. Friendly check-in, very clean facilities, great pool and Jacuzzi, close to the Anza Borrego visitor center and Palm Canyon Oasis trail. Bar with happy hour and a good restaurant. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
This is a great park. All staff are friendly and easy to work with. The park is in need of cosmetic updating but it's comfortable and has beautiful views. Lots of potential. Nice clean pool & hot tub. Great place for family vacations. Very dog friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2013
$28
This is a bank owned property, but check in staff working for the management company and are very nice and helpful. They allowed us to use two back ins as a pull,through. Like the other comments, it is not well maintained. No soap in the bathrooms. No heat in the bathrooms. Paper towel dispenser coming off the wall. Both female and male bathrooms marginal. One of the pools and spa closed. It is convenient to town. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Palm Canyon Hotel and RV Resort
Camp Information
Sites
27
Date of Stay
February 2010
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$25
In Anza-Borrego Desert State Park. Not actually in Borrego Springs but only about a beautiful 15 minute drive away. Two hiking trails located right outside the gate with some wonderful desert scenery. 27 sites on 10 acres within a grove of Tamarisk trees. Hot showers which you need quarters to use. Restrooms/showers were very clean. Rangers were very friendly. There is a table, shade ramada and a fire pit/grill at each site. Sites are asphalt with dirt surround for tent use. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
143
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   4   9   10   8   9   10   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
Wonderful park and great friendly staff. We had a very new site facing the golf course. I had reserved the wrong site, which had been all prepped for us. They gladly gave us the one I had intended to reserve and while we were setting up the hosts wiped down the picnic table! They also came by and checked on our dog while we were out. Beautiful pool and clubhouse, well-equipped gym. Big level concrete pad. We have friends in the area and will go back for a longer stay. They even have a stargazing area! We rate this the best park ever! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2014
$65
This park charges for a first class operation. The wifi simply does not work. They have all the usual excuses but bottom line? It doesn't work and the owner/manager just keeps saying the same thing. They have rules but it seems like the old timers don't have to follow them. We were told to keep our dog on a leash at all times and then we see a guy (long timer) just playing ball with his dog in the street. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$85
This was our 5th visit to the Springs at Borrego, so obviously we are happy customers: we keep going back. This is a clean, well-kept, and well-managed resort that includes golf (9-hole), tennis, and pool/spa. Staff is always friendly and helpful. Sites are good sized. The original section of the park is mostly pull-throughs and there is a new section that are larger, but back-ins. All utilities are modern and functioned well. This was the first time we've been frustrated with the internet service. There are lots of routers/connections in the park, but the service was slow: sometimes painfully slow. At first we blamed it on the usual: when the park is full, service slows down due to limited bandwidth. However, this time I also noticed that my Verizon connection was slow. 3G at best and also very slow. We had the opportunity to spend some time with folks who live here and they said that they were also having speed issues on their home system (Verizon). The carriers have enough installed capacity for normal usage, but on high-volume weekends (this was President's Weekend), the high number of users in town brings everything to its knees. So: internet was slow, but I'm not sure in was the resort's fault. We're happy customers and have already booked our next visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for The Springs at Borrego RV Resort and Golf Club
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com