223083 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Chester, California (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
6.01 miles SE
6.01 miles SE
8.86 miles SE
15.44 miles NW
15.44 miles NW
20.92 miles SE
26.44 miles SE
26.64 miles SW
28.01 miles NW
30.19 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Terminal Geyser 205
11.63 miles NW
Boiling Springs Lake 190
13.15 miles NW
Drakesbad 151
14.01 miles NW
Hot Springs Valley 83
14.22 miles NW
Devils Kitchen 203
14.76 miles NW
California
Chester
Most Recently Reviewed
North Shore Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2013-07-09 10:25:40
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Chester, California
Camp Information
Sites
32
Date of Stay
July 2011
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$14
This is great park in the Lassen National Forest, senior pass was only $7.00. Just north of Chester and lake Almanor. short drive to Lassen Park which was our end destination. Heavy forest, nearby creek. No hookups but clean restrooms. Fresh drinking water for RV fill up, but no dump station. Most sites fairly level and a few pull throughs. Easy entry from Rt 36, but have to watch close for the turn off. The Ranger station on the north end of Chester, just passed the airport and also on rt 36, can help with maps and information. Some road noise but almost none late at night. Loved the place and will definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$14
While this campground doesn't have many amenities, it is sparsely populated and a beautiful location. The times we have camped here we have been 1 of 8 or so spaces occupied. The individual spaces are large and configured in a way that doesn't put anyone right on top of you. Most of the spaces are level. The spaces in the front loop, away from the creek, better. While we camp in a tent trailer, most of our neighbors were in large travel trailers and they navigated through he campground with ease. The entire campground in under the cover of large pine trees. The campground is at 5000 ft above sea level in the Lassen National Forest, just out side Chester, CA and minutes from Lassen Volcanic National Park. The campground is open from May to October and the National Park is only open when the main road, Hwy 89, is passable. In 2007, this was May but in 2006 it was July. This is an amazing park, but camping in the park is like a refugee camp. By staying outside the National Park, you can enjoy beautiful natural surroundings up close. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
27
Date of Stay
October 2004
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
question
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2004
$25
This park was full with full time residents. Very small park, had a very hard time getting into the drive way and had to go all the way around back to the street to get into our site for the night. I have no idea how they got some of these RV's into the spaces they were in. The staff was very nice. The place was clean. I would stay there again overnight but not for any length of time there just isn't any room. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   5   1   7   6   9   2   8   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$42
Nice campground in forested area near the lake. Lots of hiking trails in the area. Be sure to bring your bug spray. The electrical system in the park had a problem maintaining voltage in the afternoon when everyone had their air conditioners on. 105 to 108 volts was typical in the afternoon. When we turned on our AC, it dropped below 104 and tripped our power line monitor, taking us off line. So we couldn't use our AC during the hottest part of the day. I checked with the AC manufacturer the next week on the minimum voltage acceptable. Turns out that 105 volts and below will start burning the AC components up, so it's a good thing that the power line monitor kept cutting out! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
Rustic setting. While the age of the campground is evident throughout, the beautiful setting outweighs any detriment. The grounds can use some sprucing up, (i.e) clearing of overgrown brush. The location is perfect for touring the Chester, Werner Valley, Lake Almanor area. We viewed other campgrounds in Lake Almanor, and Northshore has the most spacious sites. Bathrooms and showers are very clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2013
$22
This place was rustic dirty. Stayed here 3 nights. Seems lots of camps had campfires going and it was very smoky. Doubt I would return. Restrooms were good. Store is well stocked. Probably good if you are a fisherman. Lake was pretty. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for North Shore Campground
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$25


Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
question
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
This is a PG&E campground. We camped here several times during the summer in our 30 foot rig. Most (if not all) sites have a view of Butt Valley Reservoir. This is a "primitive" campground. It has paved roads to the camping sites. It has pit toilets and water is available but there are no hookups. The restrooms were cleaned daily. While there is no formal "equipment" for kids, the roads are safe for bicycles and there is a large beach to play on. One of the big pluses is the slope of the lake bottom. It is so gradual that a person can go out quite a ways from the shore before the water actually gets deep. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com