User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Death Valley, California (Air Miles)
-Other Nearby Points-
Death Valley National P
14.35 miles SE
California
Death Valley
Most Recently Reviewed
Furnace Creek Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2012-03-01 17:38:04
7 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Death Valley, California
CGID6396Furnace Creek Campground
Camp Information
Sites
136
Date of Stay
January 2012
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   9   8   9   7   7   8   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$18
This is a very nice, clean National Park Campground. Not very many amenities. Clean restrooms, potable water available in places & clean dump station. Dry camping, however the campground closed Feb. 1 after we left. They are in the process of putting in 21 full hookup sites, water, electric & sewer. They are replacing the sewer lines in the park and are going to rebuild the restrooms. Even without hookups, the park was very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2012
$18
Perhaps the most vegetated of the campgrounds in Death Valley, but still pretty bleak with sites close together. Constant drone of generators between 7 AM and 7 PM. I would rather not stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$9
The rate was half price Access card. We came here after two nights at another RV park just up the road. It was quiet, and the stars at night were something to see. The sites were roomy with some small trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Furnace Creek Campground
CGID8473Mesquite Spring
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
February 2011
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$12
We stayed at Furnace Creek and Panamint Springs but we did drive in to see this campground. It's a great place to dry camp in Death Valley, especially with all the great places to visit in the north end of the park. It is pretty limited for access, but I think with proper precautions, we could squeeze our 36 ft fifth wheel into a nice spot. The entry has overhanging trees that 'could' scratch your rig if you aren't careful. What a great place to enjoy the less crowded (and quiet) end of the park! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$12
This is the best campground to stay at in Death Valley National Park if you want to explore the North end of the Park, including Ubehebe Crater, Eureka Dunes and the Racetrack. Scotty's Castle is just a few miles away. This campground does not take reservations, but rarely fills up. It has restrooms with flush toilets. There are no hookups, but there is a dump station. Generator hours are from 7:00 AM to 7:00 PM. Most of the sites will accommodate RVs, but they are almost all quite rocky and uneven. Many will require you to do some creative leveling. That said, this is still a nice campground if you want to experience the grandeur of Death Valley. Keep your dogs under control and don't let them out at night - coyotes serenaded us in the campground each night of our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.
CGID4659Panamint Springs Resort
Camp Information
Sites
63
Date of Stay
February 2012
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   2   1   7   2   2   8   1   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2012
$20
Rate reflects 15 for water hook-up only plus 5 for the dog. Understand that you do not have a whole lot of choice in Death Valley. You can stay in the National Park or boon dock outside on BLM land. All the RV parks are glorified parking lots and although this one was better than most it was right on the Hwy. The showers worked intermittently and are in much need of repair. I just got lucky and was able to get a hot one early in the morning. To do again, I would boon dock the day before I planned to drive through the national park. I prefer to enjoy a beautiful area in a much more secluded fashion. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$28
We stayed here as a group of eight motor homes and were visiting the Death Valley area. This RV park is in a remote area. All of the hookups worked perfectly including 50 amps. We had beautiful views out the front of our coach. The spaces are rock and dust. But this is in the area of Death Valley so you expect that. The Wi-Fi was free and was a bit weak from our motor home. The Wi-Fi was also a bit slow. We ate a couple times in the restaurant and it was fine. This is likely the best full hook up RV park in the area. If you are coming to this area to see Death Valley you should remember that distances are great here and this is in the valley just to the west of Death Valley. It is about 50-60 miles to the Furnace Creek area of the park from here. I would have rated this park an 8 except the driveways from the main road to your space need some work. And there are a few RV tire killers you have to watch out for. My Verizon service did not work at all here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2011
$45
This park is less than you would expect even in Death Valley. The water smells bad and pressure is non-existent. The electric power is weak causing lights to go dim in my RV. There is no Wi-Fi as advertised. BUT, their reservation policy is the worst. We reserved 5 days but elected to leave after the first night due to the poor condition of the place. They had per-charged our CC and say they would not allow us to cancel no matter what the reason. They charged my CC and my bank is backing them because I signed the receipt when they scanned my card. Simply put, avoid this place as they are not honest. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Panamint Springs Resort
CGID324Stovepipe Wells Campground
Camp Information
Sites
14
Date of Stay
February 2011
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   10   9   7   8   7   7   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$30
Site gravel pull thru and not level. Amenities included use of restroom/showers and pool across the street at the motel. No TV available except for satellite. Wi-Fi at motel, but not able to connect from campground. If you need to buy gas in Death Valley fill up in Stovepipe Wells. It was over a dollar a gallon cheaper there than Furnace Creek. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$31
Not worth the price. You have water, electric, and dump at each site but unless you want the electric, spend twenty bucks less by camping next door. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$22
So much to see and do and so little time!! This park is clean and tidy. Staff is very friendly and efficient! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Stovepipe Wells Campground
CGID3569Sunset Campground
Camp Information
Sites
270
Date of Stay
February 2012
Latest Rate
$6



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   8   9   7   6   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$6
Camping at Sunset is essentially boondocking, but with lots of neighbors and nearby amenities: a water source, clean and tidy restrooms with flush toilets, and one dump station. With no hookups, you depend on your rig's "consumables:" water, battery power, propane, and waste storage. But you can lug water a couple hundred yards in jerry cans, you can run your generator to recharge the batteries, and use the restrooms to minimize the impact on your black tank. We stayed here 4 days without having to move the rig to the dump station--primarily by dumping dishwater down the toilet: grey water storage turned out to be the limiting factor. Easy walking distance to the services at Furnace Creek, and impressive views of the mountains add to the appeal of Sunset Campground. The lack of hookups gets you closer to "camping" after all. Great experience. (The "no" answer about clean showers indicates there are no showers--not that they're unclean.) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$12
Basically a very large gravel parking lot. There is a dump station with potable water available. There are flush toilets, but no showers. They also have dishwashing stations available. The sites are dusty, but this is the desert. No trees, no fire pits, and no picnic tables. Generator hours are from 7 am to 9 pm. This campground is across the street from the Furnace creek gas station (VERY EXPENSIVE) and general store (2 minute walk from campground) and restaurant. If you park in the SW corner of the campground you may be able to pick up a public Wi-Fi signal ($10.95 per day). There are showers across the street for $5. Propane is also available across the street. Most sites look level but are not. It may be difficult to level your rig as most sites will result in the rear tires off the ground to achieve optimal lighting orientation. There are 3 pay stations which are easy to use. Road noise was not an issue for us. Trailers running their generators from 7 am to 9 pm did bother us, but was better than the noisy tenters and fire pits in the Texas Spring Campground. We were able to receive more privacy in the Sunset campground versus the Texas Spring Campground. The Texas Spring Campground is a nicer location with regards to scenery. All three campgrounds, Sunset, Texas Spring, and Furnace Creek are within 1 mile of each other. Sunset is the least expensive and allows generator use, but no reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$6
The park roads are paved, site pads are well graveled, and dust was minimal. There are utility sinks near restrooms. There are no paths to restrooms between camp sites. One either walked the road to the restroom, or walked through sites. The dump station at north side of camp, and two dump stations less than a mile away. It is an easy walk across road to Furnace Creek Resort. Generator hours are 7AM - 9 PM. Many inconsiderate campers run their generators for hours, even though air conditioning was not needed. We attended the 49er Days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Sunset Campground
CGID9790Texas Spring
Camp Information
Sites
92
Date of Stay
December 2011
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$14
The campground is located in beautiful topography. There are lots of hills that can be hiked from the campground with great views. No generators are allowed. Minimal garbage / recycling available (one location only). This is more of a tenters campground. No showers. Dump station is located half way up the hill to the campground. It is not conveniently located for a longer stay, but good for when one leaves. The weather is cold at night and not having the option of using our generator for heat and all the loud, fire burning tenters drove us to leave this campground and return to another park. That park provided more privacy as most people had big rigs versus the small RVs or tents that were common in Texas Spring. Campground is gravel and dusty. The upper loop is for RVers and tenters. The lower loop is only for tenters. There are a few large sites, but they were difficult for us to level or 34 ft rig on (back tires on the ground). Smaller RVs will find it easier to level. Picnic tables and fire pits are on the sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$7
The roads are paved, and sites were well graveled. The road to the upper RV sites is not marked. There is a camp map at the entrance. Follow the road up the steep slope to get to the RV sites. The long pull-through sites and several other sites have the fire pit in the middle of the site pad. To not have the fire pit right next to your RV means parking your RV at one end or the other. Also, if you have a neighbor, their fire pit could be right next to your RV. This is a no-generator camp, yet we had generators running a number of times. One night at 8:30 PM we told the camp host that a generator was running. There are great views from camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$14
Rating is for what we expected. This is a gravel parking lot. You get an aluminum picnic table and a fire ring. The sites are large and pretty level. The surrounding desert scenery is beautiful. The night skies are amazing but is still just a parking lot. If you are expecting anything else you will be disappointed. Generators are allowed right now because many of the other campgrounds are closed. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Texas Spring
CGID323The Ranch at Furnace Creek Resort
Camp Information
Sites
16
Date of Stay
January 2012
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   7   7   6   8   8   9   2   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$32
This is a great place to stay. The resort is a spot of green with palm trees and even a golf course. The rentals were mostly motel style rooms. There are not many places to live in Death Valley so most of the employees live here and are mingled through out the resort. The roads are paved and employees use golf carts to get around. It was designed to encourage walking, and we felt very safe even at night. Within a short distance were a beautiful, hot spring fed swimming pool, the golf course, Borax museum, and outdoor display of old wagons and equipment, a saloon, store, and restaurants. We only stayed 2 nights but had to move to the park campground due to reservations. The place we moved to is less than a mile down the road and a huge flat graveled area just across the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$31
Stayed over Thanksgiving. We chose this park because it was the only one in Death Valley that would take reservations, and one of two that had full hookups. Wi-Fi is available but the cost is not included in the fee for the site. Cable TV is not normally available but we lucked out and got a site that was behind long term sites and we were able to hook in. Long run to the septic, so had to purchase an extension. Lots of open land right outside of grounds so great places to take the dogs. Great location within walking distance of all the amenities of Furnace Creek. Pool, golf course, horse back riding, museum. Great location to see Death Valley from. The site was pretty level: a basic graveled site. No picnic table or fire pit. If you want a full hookup, this is a great place to be. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$31
Very nice people, no Wi-Fi, full hookup, pool, laundry. We stayed one night and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for The Ranch at Furnace Creek Resort
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com