206873 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Death Valley National Park, California (Air Miles)
-Other Nearby Points-
Death Valley National P
14.35 miles SE
California
Death Valley National Park
Most Recently Reviewed
Stovepipe Wells--No Hookups (NPS Campground)
Latest Review Submited On
2014-04-11 19:00:17
9 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Death Valley National Park, California
Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$18
Having read all the other reviews for Furnace Creek Ranch, it appears that no one has reviewed the "no hookup" area which seems to be pretty new. It is located behind the gas station, between the golf course and the park visitors center. It is a large parking lot (where else does one ever camp in Death Valley?) in a rough triangle shape with campsites marked off all along the perimeter with the large center area clear except for a fire pit. I agree with the other reviewers that the other RV area is the pits--crowded and messy, but we loved the new dry camping area a lot. The price was great, the sites were a breeze to back into and very long, the internet was fast and reliable (better than 90% of RV parks we've visited; amazing for Death Valley!), there is shade (also absent everywhere else in DV that I have seen) if you get one of the sites along the West line of trees, you have use of the pool, showers, shuffleboard, etc. if you want. All-in-all it is a great bargain if you can do without hookups. It was never full the four days we camped here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
136
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   9   8   5   8   6   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  no  yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  no  no  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$18
Dry camped. Spacious back in spot, paved. Table and fire ring. Very busy in March, recommend reservations. Roomy dump station close to sites. Will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$18
Rate is for a dry camp site, paved, back in. Reservation fee comes on top. This campground is pretty busy, compared to others in Death Valley. No privacy or shade. Be aware of sudden windstorms. We experienced one while staying and saw several awnings being ripped off the rig. Best thing about the campground is its central location in Death Valley. Potable water at the washrooms. We saw some people using their phone, but had no reception on our Verizon MiFi. There is pay as you use WiFi at the general store, but we did not try. When coming back to DV we would rather try the dry camp across the street or go to Stovepipe Wells instead. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$9
This is our second time at this campground. Last year there was no power, but this year there was. No more generator! Huge space, at least 30-40 ft. wide, and reasonably level. Water pressure was adequate. My only complaint would be about the number of fires. You can't leave any windows open or the rig stinks of campfire smoke. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Furnace Creek (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   4   1   2   4   8   6   7   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  no  question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2014
$37
We agree with the other reviews sadly this campsite is terrible. Our site was so small and not long or wide enough for our truck and trailer and have space to sit out. We could not put out the awning because the area has not been maintained and dead trees were in the way. Because of fencing at the back of the site to try to give some privacy this meant that our sewerage connection was 3 feet into our neighbor's site. Our 23 ft sewer pipe would not reach until we had backed just an inch from the fencing, our electric connection is at the back so this had a knock on effect of having to connect the electric before we had fully parked and unhitched. The reception staff had a take it or leave it attitude as they are always full at this of year as there is nowhere else to stay unless you dry camp or drive in from outside of the park. The whole RV park area is very run down and unkempt. The prices in the general store as said by other reviewers are horrendous and gas/diesel is over $5 a gallon, which ok is slightly cheaper than at Panamint Springs. We cannot recommend this campsite at all. We have awarded it 2 solely because the internet/wifi was excellent, but we came here to have a nice experience camping while seeing the stunning sights of Death Valley. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2014
$37
I agree with most of what the previous reviewer had to say. The place has a generally trashy look. There's pet feces everywhere. The RV sites must have been an afterthought. Some of them are just in a row on a strip of asphalt. Some are crammed in between what used to be trees. We got the later. They're all different widths and ours was so narrow our slides were into the bushes on both sides. We went back and requested a different site as many were vacant. The staff refused to even try to accommodate us. What you get is what you get! We spent 8 days without being able to open basement doors. The streets and turns are very tight, but we did manage with our 40 footer; the wife had to "spot" even on the turns. Xanterra really is gouging you on prices. There should be some kind of NPS oversight on these people. An avocado was $4. I saw unleaded gas from $5.42 to $5.98. I had to purchase this outrageous gas twice. Death Valley is a huge park and there's lots of driving to see everything. When the wind blows really hard (only 1 night for us) the power goes on and off repeatedly. We called the office and were told, yeah the wind's blowing and it does that. We finally shut the breaker off and went to bed. We were NOT charged an extra fee for use of the pool and the WiFi. We used both and paid nothing additional. I would not come back here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2014
$37
Disappointments abound I am reluctant to criticize a Nation Park facility but, I think this place is so wrong that I have to say something. Furnace Creek was taken over by Xanterra when this company was given the rights to run all concessions on our national parks. At first I was reluctant to pass judgement even though I had prior experience with Xanterra run facilities. This place pretty much is a clone of other Xanterra resorts we've stayed in; over-priced, poorly staffed and unkempt. Here in lies the problems. Extreme gouging on prices and services. I don't mean a buck or two here and there but, expect to pay almost double; bread $5 bucks a loaf, one tomato for $3 bucks, etc. I don't know if Xanterra runs the Chevron but, we saw gas and diesel for $5.42/gal. General appearance of the whole place is trashy and junky. The RV park has all the appearances of a dump. They have dumpsters spread out through the park without thought to where they have them. Many are located next to parking sites. Coyotes roam the park in broad daylight and at night due to the dumpsters and food garbage for them. I saw several dumpsters that were dirty and smelly which adds to animals in the park. I dare say a confrontation between a guest and animal is very possible. The park workers have taken probably two thirds of the camp sites and they have added to the unkempt and junky image. Many have setup house and have an abundance of personal items and cars that liter their personal areas. The lots are unkempt and not level at all. I saw many people that have to come up with creative ways to level their coaches and trailers. The hookups are poorly located on the lots, and in our case, my sewer hose ran uphill slightly. Everybody parks on basically dirt and gravel while the streets are crumbled asphalt. Hidden fees. The daily rate we were quoted was $37.00/day but they forgot to mention the hidden fee of $12.00/day for WiFi, water, electric and pool usage fee. Outdoor bar-b-Que $27/person for cafeteria style food. A buffet and cafe that charges way too much. No designated parking places when you pull in for disconnecting the tow vehicle or parking to leave the coach while you go inside to check in. Real problems with narrow streets and over abundance of unkempt and untrimmed trees. Narrow streets with tight corners and turns. If we had it to do again, I think we would have gone to the state park right next door. The park looks very well maintained and they do have lots that have full hookups. They do not have a swimming pool but, as it was, the overcrowding in the pool area meant we could not use the swimming pool anyway the 7 days we were here. the other saving grace for this place is the fact that the park has so much to do and places to go that we did not spend a lot of time in our coaches. Allow for the lack of gas at affordable prices and no grocery or mini marts in a 60 mile radius. I would suggest stocking up in Pahrup before driving into Death Valley. Also, top off you fuel as the gas in Pahrup was $2.00/gal cheaper then here. Pahrup also has a Walmart and a Smith's grocery store. Prices are more in line with elsewhere. In closing - if you come here, realize you will be poorly served and gauging is everywhere and for everything. The park is beautiful and offers a lot of outdoor activities for the whole family.Good luck! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Furnace Creek Resort RV Park (Privately Owned)
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$12
Second time I've camped here. It's the best NPS campground in the park. Much prettier and quieter than those in Furnace Creek, also much cooler at 2000' higher. Close to many sights to see on the north end of DVNP, including Scottys Castle, Ubehebe Crater, The Racetrack, DV-Big Pine Road. Only tent camped here but would have been able to get my 30' fifth wheel into at least half of the spots and saw many trailers and motorhomes here. Bathrooms and dump station are nice, but beware- no cellphone reception, no gas within 50 miles, you need a credit card to pay for campsite, and no real tire service for 88 miles (Tonopah) in case you get a bad flat, like we did on Racetrack Road. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$6
The rate reflects a 50% discount with a Senior Pass. This is definitely our favorite Death Valley Campground. It is the quietest and farthest away from the most visited places in the park. However, it is close to Scotty’s Castle. It is a campground for tenting and smaller RV’s. We have a 27 foot motorhome, and there are probably a dozen or so sites in the campground that will accommodate us; however, many of them are very sloped and require a bit of leveling. And yes, we did get the side of our motorhome scraped by some thorns, but it was worth it. This campground is open year round and does not take reservations. It can get full for larger rigs, so plan to arrive a bit early in the day. There is a dump station and fresh water. There is also a restroom with flush toilet, but no showers. Satellite is not a problem. Neither our Verizon phone nor our data card picked up a signal. Stock up before you go, since it will be a long way to any supplies. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$12
We stayed at Furnace Creek and Panamint Springs but we did drive in to see this campground. It's a great place to dry camp in Death Valley, especially with all the great places to visit in the north end of the park. It is pretty limited for access, but I think with proper precautions, we could squeeze our 36 ft fifth wheel into a nice spot. The entry has overhanging trees that 'could' scratch your rig if you aren't careful. What a great place to enjoy the less crowded (and quiet) end of the park! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Mesquite Spring (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   10   5   7   2   1   7   2   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  question  question  no  question  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  question  question  no  question  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
We were prepared for basic but not as basic as we got. Overpriced for a very rough and rocky roads and site. Not big rig friendly, restrooms and showers desperately in need of refurbishment as with all of campsite in desperate need of maintenance. Try to ensure you have as much gas or diesel as possible as the prices are outrageous as is ice and the few other items in the general store. Cannot recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2013
$15
Ok you're 49 miles from Big Pine and 27 miles from Stove Pipe Wells. There is nothing but desert, steep roads, and great vistas. The only reason Panamint Springs Resort is here is that it has year around water available. They have full water and sewer hook ups with 50 amp service available. We were the only ones hooked up to the power and our surge protector kept kicking in. Their power comes from a generator at 128v and tends to spike. The water they have is not all that tasty but is safe. The roads and sites are dirt and rocks you have to watch overhanging branches and maneuver with care. The sites are reasonably level. Your cell phone will not work there. You can drive 8 miles one way and 12 miles the other and maybe get them to work. This is a good place to come with full batteries, fuel and water tanks and empty waste water tanks. The shower was clean and the water was warm to hotish. Fuel($6+/gal) and some limited supplies are available in the store. They also have a restaurant but we didn't eat there. Full hook ups are $30/night. I'd stay there again but I wouldn't make a habit of it. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$7.5
Anywhere else I would probably rate this place a little lower, but this is Death Valley. Where else in this park can you get a nice campsite with water and a hot shower for $7.50? It's got a nice view, good restaurant, gasoline (almost $6 per gallon) and mini mart. You'd be a fool not to stop here and recharge before hitting the wide open spaces. The staff is friendly; they let us choose between several spots...and it was busy, veterans day weekend. I walked the entire campground. Although we were in a tent I would have easily fit my 30' fifth wheel in a lot of sites. There was a good vibe there among campers; very few partiers. Mostly serious Death Valley hikers and explorers ready to hit the road/trail/etc. We camped here in a Tent.
Display older reviews for Panamint Springs Resort (Privately Owned)
Camp Information
Sites
14
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   6   8   8   9   7   7   6   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$16
I know it would have been helpful for me to understand the situation at Stovepipe Wells before I got there, so I will start with that. There is a motel/cabins with bar, restaurant, gift shop and pool on the south side of Highway 190. On the other side is a general store and gas station, NPS campground (which is a big parking lot with marked spaces and curbs surrounded by desert and fabulous views of the mountains). Between the store and the NPS parking lot is a smaller parking lot with 14 long pull-through spaces side-by-side close together. All this is in the middle of Death Valley with the nearest outpost about 25 miles away at Furnace Creek. We really liked staying here and think it is one of the bargains of Death Valley. For $16 (using the US senior discount card) you get full hookups, access to the very nice pool, and fabulous views front and back. In the NPS campground, you get basically the same views, probably more space (it was never more than 40% full the whole week we were there), generator noise, no pool (unless you pay for a pass) and no hook ups for a bit less cost. Staying in this area is much quieter and darker than at Furnace Creek and closer to some very nice and less-visited sites (sand dunes, Mosaic Canyon, Aguerreberry Point, the Eureka mine, Titus Canyon, Marble Canyon and others. We stayed at both places and each has its merits, but if you want to experience more of the quiet and solitude of Death Valley, Stovepipe Wells is a great place to do it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$37
Good place for what it is. Gravel parking lot with hookups in the middle of Death Valley NP. Store, restaurant, and gas available (no diesel). They say they have WiFi available at the lounge (not at sites), but you cannot connect even after midnight. No cell service either. People are friendly and it is a good place to stay to explore Death Valley. Just be aware that you are pretty isolated. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$16
Rate reflects Senior Discount available with National Parks Senior Pass. While we made reservations on-line as per the web-site, there were plenty of pull through sites available. We spent three nights here while exploring Death Valley. Rest rooms available at the General Store, a short walk and showers available at the hotel pool across the street. We did not use either but observed the showers were in dire need of cleaning. No Wi-Fi or TV at the sites. Wi-Fi available at the hotel, but very weak and slow. No cellular phone service at all. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Stovepipe Wells Village RV Park (Privately Owned)
Camp Information
Sites
190
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$6



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   8   7   8   8   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  question  no  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$6
Used the senior rate to get half price at this campsite. Just wanted to correct another posting that the sites were very wide and would accommodate our awning and slides without getting into our neighbor's spot. There were parking stripes to show how wide your spot was and I think the previous writer must have misunderstood or not seen the markings. This was a quiet campground, basically a parking lot as stated before. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$12
A large gravel parking lot, that is Stovepipe Wells NPS campground. We liked it here for the very quietness at night and the wonderful views. Also a good place to go on excursions exploring Death Valley. Sites are spacious but offer no shade nor privacy. But since only a few campers were here that was not a problem. The private park with hookups is on the same lot and RVs there were packed like sardines. Fire pits and picnic tables only on the tent sites. Some leveling equipment is needed. Dump is on the way out. Potable water at the washrooms or the dump. Cannot comment on the washrooms, we did not use them. Surprisingly low prices in the store (except for gas) where you can buy some basic groceries. Across the street is a hotel which offers free WiFi. You can sit on the porch. Slow but reliable and good enough for checking emails or browsing a few websites. No Verizon reception here. We also spent a few nights in Furnace Creek, but would choose Stovepipe Wells over FC when we come back. The quietness, some basic free WiFi and a lower price trumps the more central location of FC for us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$6
A nice central, cheap place to dry camp and see Death Valley and nearby Rhyolite and Beatty, Nevada. For $4 you can swim and take a hot bath across the road at the motel. It's worth the drive (30 miles) to Beatty for gas/fuel. If you go to Beatty have breakfast at Mel's Diner: cheap and great food, really great food and more than I could eat for $7.95. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Display older reviews for Stovepipe Wells--No Hookups (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
270
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$6



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   6   8   9   7   6   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  no  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$6
The rate reflects a 50% discount with a Senior Pass. This campground is basically a large parking lot in the desert. The only reason that it gets a high rating is because it is in beautiful Death Valley National Park. It is just across the street from Furnace Creek campground, which is a little nicer with some trees and picnic tables at each site. Sunset does not take reservations. There is a dump station and fresh drinking water. There is also a restroom with flush toilets, but there are no showers. The campground is open from October through April. Satellite is not a problem since there are no trees. We were surprised that our Verizon phone worked; there is a cell tower at Furnace Creek. However, our Verizon data card did not work. The Visitor Center is a short walk away, and there are restaurants and a small (very expensive) store. There is also a gas station with very expensive gasoline and propane. Since we love Death Valley, we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$6
Camping at Sunset is essentially boondocking, but with lots of neighbors and nearby amenities: a water source, clean and tidy restrooms with flush toilets, and one dump station. With no hookups, you depend on your rig's "consumables:" water, battery power, propane, and waste storage. But you can lug water a couple hundred yards in jerry cans, you can run your generator to recharge the batteries, and use the restrooms to minimize the impact on your black tank. We stayed here 4 days without having to move the rig to the dump station--primarily by dumping dishwater down the toilet: grey water storage turned out to be the limiting factor. Easy walking distance to the services at Furnace Creek, and impressive views of the mountains add to the appeal of Sunset Campground. The lack of hookups gets you closer to "camping" after all. Great experience. (The "no" answer about clean showers indicates there are no showers--not that they're unclean.) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$12
Basically a very large gravel parking lot. There is a dump station with potable water available. There are flush toilets, but no showers. They also have dishwashing stations available. The sites are dusty, but this is the desert. No trees, no fire pits, and no picnic tables. Generator hours are from 7 am to 9 pm. This campground is across the street from the Furnace creek gas station (VERY EXPENSIVE) and general store (2 minute walk from campground) and restaurant. If you park in the SW corner of the campground you may be able to pick up a public Wi-Fi signal ($10.95 per day). There are showers across the street for $5. Propane is also available across the street. Most sites look level but are not. It may be difficult to level your rig as most sites will result in the rear tires off the ground to achieve optimal lighting orientation. There are 3 pay stations which are easy to use. Road noise was not an issue for us. Trailers running their generators from 7 am to 9 pm did bother us, but was better than the noisy tenters and fire pits in the Texas Spring Campground. We were able to receive more privacy in the Sunset campground versus the Texas Spring Campground. The Texas Spring Campground is a nicer location with regards to scenery. All three campgrounds, Sunset, Texas Spring, and Furnace Creek are within 1 mile of each other. Sunset is the least expensive and allows generator use, but no reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Sunset (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
92
Date of Stay
December 2011
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$14
The campground is located in beautiful topography. There are lots of hills that can be hiked from the campground with great views. No generators are allowed. Minimal garbage / recycling available (one location only). This is more of a tenters campground. No showers. Dump station is located half way up the hill to the campground. It is not conveniently located for a longer stay, but good for when one leaves. The weather is cold at night and not having the option of using our generator for heat and all the loud, fire burning tenters drove us to leave this campground and return to another park. That park provided more privacy as most people had big rigs versus the small RVs or tents that were common in Texas Spring. Campground is gravel and dusty. The upper loop is for RVers and tenters. The lower loop is only for tenters. There are a few large sites, but they were difficult for us to level or 34 ft rig on (back tires on the ground). Smaller RVs will find it easier to level. Picnic tables and fire pits are on the sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$7
The roads are paved, and sites were well graveled. The road to the upper RV sites is not marked. There is a camp map at the entrance. Follow the road up the steep slope to get to the RV sites. The long pull-through sites and several other sites have the fire pit in the middle of the site pad. To not have the fire pit right next to your RV means parking your RV at one end or the other. Also, if you have a neighbor, their fire pit could be right next to your RV. This is a no-generator camp, yet we had generators running a number of times. One night at 8:30 PM we told the camp host that a generator was running. There are great views from camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$14
Rating is for what we expected. This is a gravel parking lot. You get an aluminum picnic table and a fire ring. The sites are large and pretty level. The surrounding desert scenery is beautiful. The night skies are amazing but is still just a parking lot. If you are expecting anything else you will be disappointed. Generators are allowed right now because many of the other campgrounds are closed. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Texas Spring (NPS Campground)
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com