219848 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Goleta, California (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
10.36 miles NW
15.51 miles NW
25.16 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
El Capitn Sb (42')
2.21 miles SE
Refugio Sb (30')
2.73 miles SW
Alisal Guest Ranch
7.51 miles NW
Santa Ynez Wineries
8.06 miles NW
Royal Scandia
8.57 miles NW
Mollerkroen
8.67 miles NW
Mustard Seed
9.30 miles NW
Cabernet Bistro
9.40 miles NW
Linton'S Restaurant & L
9.43 miles NW
San Marcos Hot Spring 110
9.71 miles NE
Las Cruces Hot Springs 99
10.26 miles NW
Costco 8056851719
10.28 miles SE
Andersen's
12.24 miles NW
Santa Barbara Municipal
12.43 miles SE
The Vintage Room
12.79 miles NW
Massimi'S Ristorante
12.87 miles NW
California
Goleta
Most Recently Reviewed
Gaviota State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-27 15:49:41
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Goleta, California
Camp Information
Sites
130
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   4   6   6   3   6   8   7   8   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
This was our first visit in over 20 years. My wife's family loved camping here when she was growing up, so it was a nice return visit. The trees provided nice shade and privacy. However, since this is a state park, it's showing the effects of California's budget crisis. The facilities aren't in very good shape, and the restrooms aren't kept very clean. There was standing water in one of the men's shower stalls. But, it was still a great visit. We only heard the train 3 times in three days, and those were in the middle of the day, never at night. We enjoyed listening to the surf at night, and the beach made for some great surf-side running. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
We were very disappointed. We heard great things about this park so went out of our way to stay there. Our "pull-through" ocean view reservation was nothing more than a parking lot with about 8 sites marked on the asphalt. Yes, we had a beautiful ocean view until a rig pulled in the site in front of us. And $35 for No Hookups is ridiculous, not to mention a reservation fee too. Now to be fair, there are camping circles with wooded back-in sites, but still no hookups. Yet they were full. People we talked to said they love it there and make their reservations a year in advance. We wouldn't go back. The only advantage was it's relative proximity to Santa Barbara. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$43
El Capitan is an oceanfront State Park about 25 miles west of Santa Barbara. The best aspects to this park are its proximity to SB, as there aren't many campgrounds in the area, the ocean views and beach. It's right off of the 101 freeway, so it's very easy to access and can accommodate big rigs. The campground doesn't have any hookups or a dump station, so plan on dry camping. We paid $43, which included a $8 Reserve America fee, which seems high relative to the $35 price for the camping space and takes this from a reasonable price to a bit expensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for El Capitan State Beach
Camp Information
Sites
39
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$59



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2014
$59
This appears to be a day use area turned into a campground. Your site is actually a parking stall with another stall next to it for your tow vehicle or toad. There are two stalls immediately next to you. These stall are spread out in a circle around a dirt center island used by family tenters, which seems to dominate this park. It's overpriced and not really designed for RVs, especially anything over 25'. Would not go back at any price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
I stayed here overnight while traveling through. The campground is situated in a small bowl, surrounded on the sides by small hills. A sign on the kiosk warns you of potential high winds (and no refunds). When I was there, however, there was no wind. In fact, I was wishing for a small breeze, as it was quite warm. The hills seem to hold in the heat. The way to the beach is under the train trestle. This would by a nice place for families or groups to stay while you visit and do other activities in the area. The restrooms and showers were clean. The showers require quarters and have good, hot water. However, the fee is $45!! I just can not justify paying that price for a mostly basic campsite. While my stay there was adequate, I probably won't be back. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
Small, cozy campground close to the beach. The beach is a short walk under the railroad trestle and about 100 yards wide. Most of the sites are small. The campground was covered in a thin layer of dried mud, like it had been flooded recently. We had to kick someone out of our campsite when we arrived (this is happening all to frequently in CA state parks). The wind blew hard the whole time which is normal for this campground. There is even a sign at the front kiosk warning no refunds because of the wind. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
67
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$47



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   8   4   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2014
$47
We spent two nights here. Maybe because there are no hookups, I would estimate that this park was 90% tent campers. They did not appear to be enforcing the 8 campers per site rule when we were there. The beach is rocky and the water was a murky brown color. It was not inviting for a swim or even to sit and look at. Campfires and BBQs were going most of the time. Both AT&T & Verizon connections were spotty. We will not stay here again especially at the current state park rates. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$35
This is a beautiful park right on the ocean. It is also near the highway and the train tracks, so as others have stated it can be noisy. Premium sites (by the day use area and at the end of each row near the ocean) are $45/night. Some sites are tight, and others can fit two rigs easily in them. Generator run times are a little strange and for the most part they were observed by all (10am to 8pm only), but some had noisy generators start at off times and were not enforced by the hosts. Making changes to your site or days is a mess as they have no access to the ReserveAmerica site. They tell you to pay to cancel your reservation and book one day at a time (the reason I gave them an 8). Maybe it's just the state, but they seemed really inflexible especially at this time of year. Overall was a great stay, nice beach walking and bike ride to El Capitan (path is washed out 1/2 way, but you can go to the beach). We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
The campground is nice, but the rules aren't enforced. Dogs that barked all day long. Cars parked in places that they shouldn't, like on the grass at the bike and camp area. Showers were clean but no hot water. We will come back again because we enjoy camping here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Refugio State Beach
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com