224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Kings Canyon National Park, California (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
4.34 miles NE
8.63 miles W
10.43 miles SW
19.95 miles SE
21.62 miles SW
23.18 miles NW
24.41 miles S
31.56 miles NW
31.56 miles NW
34.97 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Kings Canyon Mh
(559)338-2350
11.78 miles NW
Sequoia National Park
14.53 miles SE
California
Kings Canyon National Park
Most Recently Reviewed
Crystal Springs Campground (NPS Campground)
Latest Review Submited On
2013-11-23 12:43:32
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Kings Canyon National Park, California
Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   10   8   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$18
We camped here over the 4th of July weekend in a tent. The campground is about 35 miles away from General Sherman Tree and the rest of the main attractions of Sequoia NP and about the same distance to Kings Canyon attractions. It's about an hour to drive those 30ish miles. General Grant Tree and trails are in the immediate vicinity. Pay showers ($1.00 for 3 minutes) are a couple minutes away at Grant Grove. The showers ran out of hot water quickly. The bathrooms at Azalea have no hot water or hand soap and while they were cleaned there was always toilet paper all over the floors, but it was a very busy weekend. We were in site 58 which is wonderful! It's very large, towards the back of the campground (which means very far from the bathroom which is a downside). It's shaded and quiet. Every site has a large bear proof storage box, a picnic table and a fire ring. All sites cost $18 per night and can be paid by cash, check or credit card by completing an envelope and dropping it in the drop box. The rangers seemed very lax, people were leaving food and all kinds of stuff out and nothing was done. It actually made us feel paranoid for faithfully locking everything up in the bear boxes. When we left our site for the day the only thing in sight was the tent, but we felt like we were the only ones following the bear safety rules. We will stay here again without a doubt. Except for on the holiday, it was pretty quiet with lots of sites available. Love not having to fight the crowds like at Yosemite. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$18
We camped several nights here while seeing Sequoia and Kings Canyon NP. We wanted to be on the North side of the two parks and were very happy here. Downsides were limited selection of sites for our 40' fifth wheel and most sites are not level in either direction. That being said, we loved being in the park and were happy to dry camp in order to do so. This was the only one of three NPS campgrounds that were open when we were there since it was early season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$18
Tent camped here for 1 night. Beautiful campground with easy 5 minute walk to the market, restaurant, etc., at Grant Grove Village and 15 minute walk down to the Grant Grove of sequoia. Clean restrooms with cold water only and no showers. I think showers are available at the village but we did not investigate. Near the Big Stump entrance to Kings Canyon NP. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Tent.
Display older reviews for Azalea Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
36
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
Used to really love this place, until they took the dump station out. Now its kind of a drag to RV. Other than that it is o.k. Here for more than a weekend, We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$17
Was a little dusty in the group area. Most sites were not too level. Over all it was a good stay because of the holiday weekend. First come first served. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
May 2011
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$18
Right by the river. Very shady and quiet. Terrific place to relax. Well located for hiking in the canyon. Now for the minor downsides: there is a meadow in the middle -- probably buggy in summer, but not in early spring or autumn. Long drive on a twisty highway to get down to campground from San Joaquin Valley, but road is not too steep or too narrow. Campground is not big-rig friendly. Interior roads are very bumpy and narrow. Pads are not level. A few low-hanging branches here and there. Bathrooms are clean but very basic -- no showers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
157
Date of Stay
September 2008
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$18
I stayed on labor day and got the last large site. I showed up 2 days early (first come first serve). The big sites are up front, and there aren't many of them. I made the mistake of following the signs to drive all the way around in a circle to get to them. The road gets tight for a large R. I was stressing a little because some of the trees are very close to the road. I'd just back right into one of the sites up front if you have a big trailer and you're staying here. Don't drive the circle; you wont fit in any of the more scenic sights. Beware of huge falling pine cones; a neighbor got a dent in his truck. As with all the other grounds in this park there are no hook ups, but some sites have water spigots. Bring a long hose if you're staying a few days and make friends with your neighbors if you need to use their spigot. The rangers are very friendly, and the sites up front are walking distance to the amphitheater which had a program every night. The next camp is Azalea and you can actually walk over to it. They have quite a few more large sites for larger RV's. There is no dump site near these ground; we hauled ours home. The restrooms were what you would expect from a state park, not exactly clean, and there are no showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
Nice campground. Very close to many trail heads and the amphitheater, which holds nightly lectures during the summer. Short walk to the visitor center, gift shop and market. The park was on a high bear alert but we didn't see any. There is a lot of other wildlife to see though. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com