206886 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Lone Pine, California (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
16.90 miles NW
19.52 miles NW
19.52 miles NW
23.60 miles S
-Other Nearby Points-
Springs 86
11.11 miles SE
Little Hunter Canyon Springs 81
13.82 miles NE
California
Lone Pine
Most Recently Reviewed
Boulder Creek RV Resort
Latest Review Submited On
2014-03-22 19:20:55
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Lone Pine, California
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$1


Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$1
We almost missed this jewel because the map here is wrong. Turn off of 395 due west onto Whitney Portal Road and head up the hill, into the Alabama Hills Recreational area. You will start to see the Alabama Hills, wondrous piles of rock, on either side. You will see a paved road off to your right in between the rocks called "Movie Flats". There's a big white stone there with a plaque containing information about the history of Alabama Hills. Turn right there and you can park anywhere 1.5 miles from where you first turned in throughout the park. It's all boondocking, no cell service and no Wi-Fi - but it is not to be missed and it's free. It is a magical, beautiful place, camping in among the rocks with the breathtaking view of the Sierra Nevada and Mt. Whitney. Big rigs or tent camping. Totally peaceful. Fantastic hiking or discovering by auto. The night/star photography was amazing. Would stay here forever if I could! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$1
Note, this is dispersion camping and there is no charge. Located about 2 miles west of Lone Pine off Whitney Portal Road - on both sides of the road. One of the prettiest places we have ever camped at in our travel trailer. Scenes from over 400 movies have been shot here, so you most likely have seen it. I would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
111
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   10   9   8   10   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$36
What a nice park and what gorgeous views. The only real complaint we have is the road noise from Hwy 395 which runs right along the park. Weekend was OK, but during the week no night sleep without earplugs. The posted rate is after a 10% discount (Good Sam, AAA) for a full hookup pull thru site. We feel the price to be a little steep, but you pay for amenities whether you use them or not. Some trees between the sites which were in full bloom, but provided no privacy. The site is fine gravel and we needed two boards to level. Hookups in excellent order. We did not use the WiFi. Our Verizon Hotspot worked very well instead. We cannot comment on the restrooms or showers but we bet they are in tip top shape as the whole park is. The staff is super friendly and accommodating. We were waiting for a package to arrive via USPS. They picked it up, making an extra drive to the post office just to get our package, and then delivered it to our site. Customer service at its very best. We look forward to staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$45
Great park! Sites are level, with trees for shade. Free muffins and coffee every morning at the clubhouse. Nice play area for kids. Lots of room for walking dogs in the pet area. This is my third stay at the park, it's a great place to stop on the way from LA to Reno. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$36
First off you are in an area with very limited water due to the water grab L.A. made the early part of the 20th century and 1970 and the fact that it is in the rain shadow of the Sierras. With that in mind do not expect lush vegetation or manicured lawns. The camp ground has water enough for shade trees, a pool, a hot tub, full hook ups, and a nice shower. They have cable with limited channels and WIFI. Verizion also works fine here as does the MiFi. The roads are gravel as are the sites and they are level. The views are fantastic. The staff friendly and helpful and coffee and homemade muffins in the morning are great. They have a nice club house available complete with an industrial size kitchen. The rate reflects a GS discount. If I'm back in the area again I will be happy to stay here again. The only reason I gave it a 9 and not a 10 was that a lot of RV'rs have some unrealistic expectations about having lawns in an rv park in the desert and I did not want them getting their hopes up. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Boulder Creek RV Resort
Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   5   3   4   6   9   8   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  no  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
We opted for Diaz Lake because of the federal shutdown in mid Oct 2013. Lone Pine NFS was out first choice. Mid week was fine, free style camping. Just find a spot and go for it. Weekend got busy and it got a little crowded but still OK. Could not imagine what it would have been like in summer. Probably not pleasant. Water spigots around the lake but nothing else. Sites were not level but we just picked a spot that worked out for us. No camphost or anybody else to complain to after hours but we were lucky and our neighbors were OK. Convenient to town and quiet. Lake is very small but some clown in a motorboat had to race back and forth Sunday morning for a couple hours. Chased the kayakers away. We would not have a problem staying here again but there are much better campgrounds in the area that would probably be our first choice. We camped in a trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$10
The lake is located approximately 6 miles south of the town of Lone Pine on highway 395. Quiet flat spots with no hook-ups. Dry camping only. Very quiet and all sites overlook the lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
The price for this county park is too high. There are no services, the bathrooms are padlocked, although porta-potties are available. Roads are rough and dusty. Sure, it's on a small lake, so a rate of $15 would be more reasonable. Alright for one night if you have your rig loaded with water, propane and good batteries. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Diaz Lake Campground
Camp Information
Sites
42
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
This is a basic, Forest Service campground. Each site has a relatively flat, paved parking pad, a well kept picnic table, a bear box for food storage, a fire pit, and a BBQ. There is relatively little shade. (This wasn't a problem in early June, but it could be in July or August.) The sites were very spacious and well set up. Dogs are welcome, but be aware that there are rattlesnakes in the area. There are a number of bear proof garbage containers in the campground, and a recycling center for glass, plastic, and cans near the entrance. The best part of this campground is the excellent view of Mt. Whitney and the High Sierras. There is also a trail leading from the campground to Whitney Portal. We were absolutely enchanted by this little gem. We hope to be able to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
10
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Didn`t notice many amenities. Lots of permanent live ins. Only a few sites available. We have a small rig so parking was not a problem. Easy to find off the hwy. A little over priced for what was offered. WI-FI worked well. Not recommended for more than 1 night. Staff was remote but friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2009
$31
This is a old residential park with only ten back-in spots. It needs work and a good cleaning. We stayed here for two nights and would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
83
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$5



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   8   8   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$5
This is an outstanding BLM campground with water and a dump ($5 fee), both of which were closed as of Nov. 5th. Being older, our Senior Pass reduced the campground fee to $2.50, no discount on dump. I almost felt guilty. The scenery is spectacular! The campground is at the base of the Sierras to the west (by base, I mean within spitting distance.) Owen Lake shimmers off to the east. Our Verizon MiFi receives a strong signal and even our TMo cell phone has service. Lots of tent and car campers this week, but the spaces are dispersed enough to avoid crowding. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$5
If you read what this campground is before coming up here, then you have to rate it a 10. No amenities, but they do have water at a central location and a dump station at the entrance. The views are spectacular, sites level enough and large enough for any MH. We have a 30' Class A but saw a number of 38' up here. No problem. We unhooked the Jeep before coming up the smooth dirt road but you don't need to. They even have 3-4 pull throughs. We were apprehensive, never been here before. But this is great and this place is able to accommodate MH's to about 38' or so. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$10
This is a Bureau of Land Management Campground. There is no potable water. Lone Pine, the closest town, is approximately 5 ½ miles away. There were clean vault toilets through out the camp ground loops. Each site had well defined dirt parking pad, a picnic table and a fire pit. We camped in a 30 foot travel trailer. I stayed in site 72. The dirt parking area was about 60 feet long and about 14 feet wide. I need four boards to raise the down hill wheels of my trailer, six inches, so I could level my 30 foot travel trailer. Tuttle Creek was about 15 yards behind my site. There were cattle that came into the campground. The access off Horse Shoe Meadow Road is a narrow windy asphalt road with 4 speed bumps. You have to look ahead since the road is so narrow, two RV’s would be unable to pass unless one of them uses one of the pull offs along the road. The campground roads are dirt and you have to pick spots to let on coming traffic pass. The dirt roads were so soft I had to use 4X4 to stop spinning my tires when I started towing my trailer from a dead stop. The views from this park are phenomenal. The stars at night were unbelievably clear. This is great camp ground to use as a base to see other attractions in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Tuttle Creek Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com