214868 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Mammoth Lakes, California (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
12.41 miles N
20.46 miles NE
20.46 miles NE
23.32 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Mammoth Mountain Ski Are
0.54 miles NE
Devils Postpile National
0.73 miles W
Mammoth Brewery Co And
1.08 miles SE
Tamarack Lodge Resort
1.55 miles SW
Fumaroles (Hot)
2.96 miles SW
Casa Diablo Hot Springs And Geyser 199
3.54 miles NE
Chance Spring 73
4.94 miles E
Reds Meadow Hot Springs 115
5.46 miles SW
Hot Creek
6.23 miles SE
Casa Diablo Hot Pool 165
6.50 miles E
Restaurant At Convict Lak
7.59 miles SE
Fish Creek Hot Springs 110
7.70 miles SW
Hot Creek Springs 171
7.95 miles E
Hot Creek Gorge Springs 199
8.39 miles NE
Little Hot Creek Spring 180
8.46 miles NE
Whitmore Hot Springs 95
9.27 miles E
Hot Springs 129
9.40 miles E
The Tub 167
9.77 miles NE
Hot Spring 68
10.24 miles NE
Dehy Hot Spring 134
10.61 miles NE
June Mountain Ski Area
10.91 miles NW
No Name 127
10.93 miles NE
June Lake Village
11.13 miles NW
No Name 97
13.92 miles N
California
Mammoth Lakes
Most Recently Reviewed
Mammoth Mountain RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-02 18:19:30
7 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Mammoth Lakes, California
Camp Information
Sites
74
Date of Stay
July 2011
Latest Rate
$10


Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$10
This campground is part of the Inyo National Forest and is reservable through Recreation.gov. There are no showers, but there are clean flush toilets and sinks with cold running water. There was also soft soap provided. The hosts are super friendly and very helpful. Very nice creek (Coldwater Creek) runs down both sides of campground where you can fish for rainbow and brook trout. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
48
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   9   7   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
We've been coming here for years. It's a beautiful lake right up against the Eastern Sierra where they offer boat rentals, or you can walk all the way around the lake. The sites were mostly barren in the upper loops, but in the lower loops there is more foliage. The sites are level for tenting or RVing. The bathrooms were clean and recently remodeled to be more modern. You can grab a shower at the Convict Lake Resort for a fee. The Resort has a well stocked store w/ meats, milk, wine, and necessities. You can buy a fishing license here, too. I saw some larger 5th wheels here, but the sites are too small for larger Class A's, etc. The resort has an award winning restaurant which is very close to the campground. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
Very clean campground with the stream right next to the campsites, and within walking distance to the lake. Extremely nice campground hosts. The only negative is that there isn't very much shade in the campsites. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
Nice campground but could use more trash cans. Fishing is very good in creek which runs behind some of the sites. Stayed in #57 this time at the end of the loop which puts you as far back into the campground as you can get. The hosts were very friendly and actually delivered firewood to your sites. Left earlier then planned due to the rain and snow coming a bit early. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Convict Lake Campground
Camp Information
Sites
179
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   8   6   8   10   9   4   2   4   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2014
$48
Very unimpressive park. The sewer, water, and electric hookups were almost impossible to get connected due to their locations. The restrooms are basic and the hot water in the showers is scalding and cannot be adjusted, plus you have to keep pressing the button every 30 seconds. Unhelpful office staff and not a user friendly camp. Will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$50
We camped in the full hookup area. Nice park, nestled in tall pine trees. Good amount of space between your neighbors. Great location to all Mammoth activities. We wanted to stay longer, but the park was booked. The office staff was trying to find us another site in the park, even called us back to let us know that they had not received a cancellation. We are looking forward to coming back in the fall. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$44
Let start from the beginning. Check-in was great. Site was really nice and shady. Fires allowed. Cable did not work but was told they had crappy cable at check in. Now to the bad. The showers were horrific. Push button shower that only gave 5 seconds of extremely hot water. Floors were very dirty and drains were slow. The only good thing about the bathrooms was there was a lock on the door that worked. Will never return . Price reflects a Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Mammoth Mountain RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$37
We stayed at this park for 6 nights and had a spot right on the stream. The spot was plenty large enough for our 3 slides and it had a fire pit. They have nice trout ponds you can fish in for a fee. They are pleasant to sit by, or walk around. We did not fish here as there is so much other good fishing in the area. The staff was very pleasant and willing to help, they even took us to our campsite and helped us back in as we had never been here before. They only take checks or cash, but when we checked the lady told us it was ok to set up our camp and go to the bank to get cash if we did not have that much with us, very trusting people. Will definitely return here as it is the best in the area and it is so quiet and friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
This is a popular fishing campground. Upon arrival, it was packed with a family reunion. Kids running around, a couple of loose dogs came to investigate without the owners bothering to call them back. We backed up to another RV who had 2 little yappy dogs in an x-pen growling and yapping at our dogs. Grrr, right back at you. Because of this "welcome," I had a slanted opinion of this park. Once the majority of the families left by the next day, it was a quiet park. Some sites are right on the babbling brook, which was really nice. When we checked in the manager was very welcoming and full of info of things to do in the area. Sites: Too close together for my taste. Gravel & wood chip sites. Picnic table & fire ring. Did not check the bathrooms. You are given a key for the bathroom/showers if you plan to use. No laundry. Pets are welcome. Very lax in their rules. A couple of loose dogs owned by residents in homes up the hill. Dogs were friendly and I didn't see waste around. So the dogs weren't really a problem. No WiFi. Verizon signal was Excellent. There was a small book exchange in the office. Activities: fishing, fishing, and more fishing. Fish cleaning station provided. Beautiful area. We missed Yosemite because it was too early for the road to be open (early May). But there are many lakes, hiking, skiing. Mammoth Lakes is a ski town, so there are plenty of restaurants and shopping. Resort prices though. Decent little campground, but crowded on the weekends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
94
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
This is a large, basic campground behind the Forest Service welcome center in Mammoth Lakes, California. There are no hook ups, although there is a dump station that you can use for an additional $7. The sites are large and mostly flat. They each have a fire pit and a picnic table. There are plenty of restrooms and garbage bins scattered throughout. The restrooms have running water, and while older, are extremely clean and well stocked with toilet paper. The park is "dog friendly" in that they allow dogs, and there seemed to be a lot of them. The park does not have available waste bags. We really enjoyed this park. Even though it's large and there were a lot of people, it was immaculately clean, both the sites and the bathrooms. The hosts were friendly and helpful. We were really impressed with the size of the sites as well. The only reason I gave a 9 instead of a 10 is that there aren't any showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
This is a great campground in a pine forest close to Mammoth Lakes. Roads are very narrow and winding and most sites take a bit of maneuvering to park. Wood available at host sites. No showers but you can go across the street to another campground. Weather is cool in the evenings here even in summer, bring blankets! Tons to do in town from biking, hiking and fishing to eating and bar hopping. Plenty of grocery stores and gas stations. Just under 2 hours to Yosemite Park. Lots of places to hike and dog walk adjacent to most campsites. Overall campground is quiet and shady. USE THE BEAR BOXES, THERE REALLY ARE BEARS HERE! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Very centrally located along main street: just behind the Visitor's Center. This was a friendly, and well maintained campground. Spaces were private and among pine trees. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for New Shady Rest
Camp Information
Sites
45
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
A very nice and wooded park. Depending on your slide out configuration, you may have a tough time but is usually manageable. Very close to the town of Mammoth with bike paths leading to a park. Camp host on site were very helpful. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
For dry camping in Mammoth Shady Rest is pretty nice. Good space between sites. We were there in early June and the place was virtually empty. It's a tight squeeze to back into most sites (we're 40 feet with trailer and Expedition) and you really have to watch out for the rocks and trees. There is a little road noise from main street, even in the back, but not too bad and you can walk to town easily. Easy access to all that Mammoth has to offer. We're hikers and we can do a 3 or 4 mile RT to different lakes every day. Awesome! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Beautiful and quiet wooded area. ATV trails right from the park. Hosts were very nice and knowledgeable about the area. Well paved road in campground, but narrow in some areas. Enjoyed site #18 & #19, as they were both 50 feet or more in length. Lots of bicycle trails just outside the campground entrance. Visitor Center just across the street. Only dislike was the $7.00 dump fee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
June 2010
Latest Rate
$20


Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
Expensive for what you get, although restrooms were immaculate. Very friendly camp host! Not appropriate for large rigs however. We loved the shady sites but will not be back for the size reason. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com