223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Mountain Center, California (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
12.88 miles NE
15.91 miles NE
15.91 miles NE
16.13 miles NE
17.44 miles NE
18.33 miles NE
18.79 miles SE
18.79 miles SE
21.13 miles N
21.58 miles NW
22.74 miles SW
24.72 miles NW
25.02 miles SW
28.86 miles NW
30.74 miles SW
34.10 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Palm Springs Desert Muse
6.58 miles SE
Palm Drive Rv & Auto C
7.76 miles NE
Palm Springs Air Museum
8.19 miles SE
Lake Cahuilla County Park
(800)234-7235
11.70 miles NE
Tpc At Pga West Stadiu
12.05 miles NE
La Quinta Hotel Golf An
13.34 miles NE
Living Desert
13.59 miles NE
Le Paon
13.88 miles N
Le Donne Cucina Italian
14.06 miles N
Mille Fleurs
14.07 miles N
Cuistot
14.07 miles N
Palomino - Palm Desert
14.16 miles N
Ristorante Mamma Gina
14.17 miles NE
Jillian's
14.30 miles NE
Lg'S Prime Steakhouse
14.38 miles NE
Kaiser Grille
14.40 miles NE
The Springs At Borrego (Approx) 25% Discount
14.59 miles SE
Hamilton'S - Palm Desert
15.13 miles NE
La Quinta Cliffhouse
15.39 miles NE
Super Wal-Mart
78-295 Hwy 111
15.47 miles NE
Indian Waters Rv Resort-47-202 Jackson St
17.56 miles NE
Whr Aor Sb Rod+ Rpip C2C Indio Ca - Indian Waters 10/1-4/30
17.65 miles NE
AOR0015
17.65 miles NE
Rpi- Ca Indian Waters Rv Resort 47-202 Jackson St Indio
17.70 miles NE
California
Mountain Center
Most Recently Reviewed
Lake Hemet Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2012-09-10 12:28:58
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Mountain Center, California
Camp Information
Sites
130
Date of Stay
May 2010
Latest Rate
$21



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$21
Just returned from a long Memorial Day weekend at Hurkey Creek, our first visit. This is a Riverside County Park: all dry camping. It is at 4,000 feet altitude in the big pine trees surrounded by mountains. Within a 15 minute drive of Idyllwild, 30 minutes to Palm Springs. Overall, it was a beautiful weekend. The positives: Beautiful scenery, relatively cool weather, great hiking and mountain bike trails, friendly staff (and they did a good job of enforcing the quiet time, even on the crazy holiday weekend). The park was clean, you can book reservations on a very good web site with up-to-date pictures of each site. The negatives: No cell coverage (no one in our group had cell coverage, regardless of carrier: you have to drive up the mountain toward Idyllwild to get a connection). The showers/restrooms were older, dark and dingy. 50 cents for the shower. The roads are all paved, but the sites are dirt (DG). We lucked into one that was fairly level, but a LOT of the sites are uneven and sloping. The web site has pictures of each site: pay attention! I mentioned earlier that there are no hookups, no dump station either. All in all, it was a good weekend, but this is iffy, for us, for a return trip. It is very difficult for me to be completely out of contact (job). Also, unless you're REALLY paying attention when you book reservations, it would be pretty easy to end up in a terrible site. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$21
This was the first time we camped here: we loved it. We felt like we were a million miles away but it's only 1 hour from Temecula. Mountain feel, lots of pine trees, camp clean and quiet. Would highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
Great county campground! We live 30 minutes away and stay several times a year. There are no pull through spaces and sites are limited in size. The Riverside County Parks website is current with pictures and references for each site. We typically stay in the high 90s sites near the loop and camp host. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Hurkey Creek
Camp Information
Sites
not sure,
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   8   7   4   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$36
Large family-friendly park. A mixed-use park for sure. There were many permanent mobile homes, as well as long-stay trailers. There was a RV camp and a tent camp on opposite sides of the lake inlet. Camp 2 is where we stayed. We were originally given a spot in between two permanent homes, but we asked for a different spot in a more open area. We were reluctantly given the spot by a very unhelpful front-gate. The front-gate people were unfamiliar with the occupancy of their park and gave incorrect directions to our spot. The lake is fun, you can rent boats and fishing gear. The park is very peaceful at night. The roads are tight for a rig over 30ft. Will stay here again now that we know what lots to avoid. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
Lake Hemet is a picturesque campground, but with a few problems: 1) Has very narrow camp access roads made backing into the site difficult. This was compounded by large boulders placed in front of each site. 2) Has lots of full time campers with semi-permanent set-ups, including storage sheds, porches, etc. This is not my cup of tea as it looked kind of shanty-town like. 3) It was surprisingly buggy, mostly at dusk. If you like fishing, folks were reporting good luck fishing the lake. Boat rentals are available. If you're into high tech, you'll be disappointed by the lack of cell coverage and Wi-Fi. If you can live without communications to the real world, and have a maneuverable rig, you may enjoy this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
This is local retreat for our family. Always nice to visit when we want to get away for a weekend retreat. Campground has just introduced online registrations. We were here in the Group Camping area: dry camping with some great shade trees. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Lake Hemet Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com