218901 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby North Shore, California (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
10.08 miles NW
10.08 miles NW
10.81 miles NW
18.69 miles NW
20.14 miles NW
25.65 miles NW
28.24 miles SW
28.24 miles SW
28.90 miles SE
33.35 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Am/Pm Truck Stop
Mecca
6.20 miles NW
Rest Area On Ca I-10 At Mile Marker 164 Verified On 01/04
8.73 miles N
Dos Palmas Spring 84
9.57 miles SE
Fish Springs 90
10.55 miles SW
Sun Bird Rv
11.68 miles SW
Benlo Rv Service Center
11.83 miles SW
Augustine 84001 Ave. 54 Coachella Ca 92236 760-391-9500 (Located To Zip)
13.80 miles NW
Rest Area On Ca I-10 At Mile Marker 144 Unverified.
14.48 miles NW
Love'S Truck Stop
Indio
15.53 miles NW
Coachella
15.80 miles NW
Trump 29 46-200 Harrison Pl. Coachella Ca 92236 760-775-5566 (Located To Street)
16.20 miles NW
California
North Shore
Most Recently Reviewed
Salton Sea SRA / Headquarters Camp
Latest Review Submited On
2014-03-31 21:57:05
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
North Shore, California
Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   8   4   6   7   8   7   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
The camping area is at the edge of a large parking lot. Each site has a square of ground with a tree, picnic table, and the hookups. Showers are in a separate nearby camping area. There is a lot of noise from Route 111. Trains pass by frequently, both day and night, blowing their whistles. Sleeping is a challenge. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$36
The Salton Sea SRA has a few campgrounds but this one has full hookups and takes reservations. The Visitor Center was closed to save money but you can walk around outside and read some of the signs and exhibits. The sea was there and a number of people were fishing. The sites have a tree, grill and picnic table but you hookup on the left but your picnic table is next to the site on the right. All the sites in this campground are in a line facing the parking lot and sea. Late afternoon, there were only two RV’s but at the check in booth two others had reservations and were expected to come in. No ranger on duty. It was a self check in. Can’t complain but considering what they charge for an out of state reservation, I would have thought someone should be there. We paid a $30 fee and an $8 transaction fee but then were given a $2 senior discount. The total price was $36. We really enjoyed driving through the canyon road through the Orocopia Mtns (beautiful) and then through the miles and miles of fields growing grapefruit, oranges, grapes, corn, palm trees, peppers and other things driving into Mecca and then down route 111 to the Salton Sea. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2012
$30
First of all there is no more Wi-Fi in this park! This is the second worse campground we ever stayed at. Close to the sites is a very busy highway with lots of trucks passing even during the night time. And a train is running at least every hour. At 4:30 in the morning we left. The serviced sites are in the back of the main parking lot, paved but narrow and sloped. The hookups are good. No privacy between the sites. The views are nice, the low tide did not smell to much. We will not return to this campground or one in the vicinity because of the noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Salton Sea SRA / Headquarters Camp
Camp Information
Sites
48
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$30
I drove past this park the week before and loved the view and location away from everything, so I made reservations for this week. I did not notice the hoards of flies commented on by others. This campground is a bit strange because the RV sites are in a large parking lot. There are only four full hookup sites, but they are facing the lake, and there seems to be room to park sideways so your patio faces the best view. You will need a long electrical cord and water hose, however, if you want to do that. I did not bother to use the sewer hookup, figuring it was just easier to drive down to the visitor center (which is open and staffed) and use the one there. There is a busy train track across the highway, but trains do not bother me. This place obviously gets VERY hot during the summer, but is very pleasant in winter. I will definitely come back here sometime. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2012
$30
This campground has only four sites that have full hookups. Most sites are parking on pavement. A few tent sites are on sand and have ramadas. My site was big enough that I parked sideways to enjoy the great view of the beach from my dinette. All utilities worked fine. No Wi-Fi or Cable TV. Plenty of TV channels off the antenna. There had been a fish die off earlier, but no big smell. The trains did go by fairly regularly, but I tuned them out after awhile. A walking trail heads north to the visitor center at the Headquarters Campground. Friendly and informative staff there. I would return just to see the birds and the sunsets. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2011
$30
Mecca Beach is 2 miles further on 111 than the Headquarters campground. Super place for birds. Sadly, this whole park is due to close after the 2012 season. Budget cuts. The sunsets here are amazing. Solar showers are available. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com