206534 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Oceano, California (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
1.31 miles NW
2.99 miles NE
3.44 miles NW
8.57 miles NW
9.58 miles NW
11.15 miles NW
16.76 miles SE
19.03 miles NW
22.07 miles NE
23.70 miles NW
25.82 miles S
26.44 miles N
28.32 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Grover Beach
1.37 miles NW
Central Coast Custom Aut
1.48 miles NW
Pismo Sb (36')
1.62 miles SW
Wal-Mart
1168 W Branch St
1.93 miles NE
Rosa'S - Pismo Beach
3.04 miles NW
Oceano Dunes Svra (40')
4.16 miles S
Newsom Springs 99
4.19 miles NE
Aor Rod+ San Luis Obispo Ca - Avila Beach Ocr
7.61 miles NW
AOR0020
7.61 miles NW
Avila Beach
9.00 miles NW
Cafe Roma
12.27 miles NW
Izzy Ortega'S
13.12 miles N
Apple Farm
13.20 miles N
California Polytechnic S
13.63 miles N
San Luis Obispo County A
14.19 miles N
Santa Maria Inn - Sant
14.76 miles SE
Costco 8059229887
15.72 miles SE
Wal-Mart
2220 S Bradley
16.60 miles SE
California
Oceano
Most Recently Reviewed
Pacific Dunes Ranch and RV Resort
Latest Review Submited On
2014-04-15 16:22:48
7 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Oceano, California
Camp Information
Sites
232
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   1   2   5   6   3   3   4   5   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  no  no  no  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  no  no  no  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2013
$44
The other reviews of this park were spot on. I used the Good Sam s book to find a park in this area and I called about a completely different park that was $9 cheaper per day but the reservations were for this park which was nearly 40 additional miles away. When we arrived at the park that I had first called about it was after 5pm and of course there was no one to answer the phone, much less help to figure out that we had nearly forty more miles to drive after dark. When we did arrive at this park we found it to be very poorly lite and not well marked plus the roads are very narrow without many markings which let us get headed into our area going the wrong way. While getting turned around we managed to damage our motorhome due to the tight turns and dark and narrow streets. We would not stay at this park again. I will pull into camp wally world before driving in the dark to a campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2011
$44
The campground is between a railroad and a busy highway. The site we were in was about 25-30 feet from the road. The road noise woke us up a few times when the big trucks went by. The site grass was mostly dry and there are a lot of low spots and bare dirt. The site was not long enough to accommodate a 33-ft 5th wheel and the truck. We had to park across the small road. The staff was friendly taking the reservation. They charged a $8 reservation fee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$47
This park is located between railroad tracks and busy street. The sites are small, no fire rings or picnic tables. The cost was $47.00/night PLUS $3.50 per dog. We have 2 dogs, so that was an extra $7.00 per night which would be $98.00 extra. We purchased a year pass for $70.00, but it is a calendar year so is mostly over. There is no Wi-Fi. On the weekends, the park is overrun by large groups tenting. We are frequent guests in this area, but will not be staying here unless we are desperate. Also noted: tent camping is normally $24.00/night but on the weekends a taped up sign says it is $47.00/night?? We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Coastal Dunes RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
ELKS ONLY. Walk to the beach. Verizon reception was strong. Lodge for WiFi. Grass back-in sites with a 5 day limit. Sites can be close when Elk Rallies are in the park. Very friendly and a First Class lodge. Dump site on premises. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
I Love this Elks Lodge. Great people here! Dump station walk to the beach, restaurants close by, food good here too. Nice place to get away from the heat!! Must be Elks member to stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
22
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   1   8   4   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$35
We spent a week here in our 36' 5th wheel. Roads and sites are paved, each site has a picnic table and fire pit. We had site #12 and it was very difficult to maneuver our rig into the site due to railroad ties and short posts marking each site. Once settled, we had decent site separation and "privacy" due to the angle of the sites. There is a wooden bridge just outside the campground that sounds like 2 seconds of thunder every time someone drives over it. The airstrip next door is not very busy, just a few small planes on the weekend. The public showers are locked each night at 6pm. We did see a few people using the showers during the day from outside the park. Even though we stayed over a holiday weekend this park was never more than half full. It seems to be relatively unknown. Very quiet at night, just the sound of the ocean. Two block walk to the beach. We had reasonable 4G Verizon signal, a little slow at times. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
Good location, quite park, clean restrooms, walked the dogs to the beach. My friend with his 40' fit nicely in the space next to me. Coming back in Sept. or Oct. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
Would not recommend this campground. The restrooms are used by the areas homeless population on a daily basis. Plus the showers are pay showers so people that are camping in the sand dunes on the beach come in to use the showers all day long. High amount of foot traffic in and around the entire campground. Never felt comfortable. My kids were bullied by older kids when they tried to play on the playground. There is a bridge next to the campground that had it's daily bridge residents talking to themselves. Police activity is constant in and around the campground. Would never return to this area again. Very disappointed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Oceano Campground
Camp Information
Sites
1000
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   5   6   6   7   5   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  no  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$10
We love camping at Oceano Dunes with our family and friends. We love to ride ATVs and the ocean. Two great things rolled into one. Having a huge bonfire at night and looking up into the sky and actually seeing stars and listening to the ocean waves roll in and out. Noisy during the day and we usually try to camp during the week in the summer, because of the crowds. Spring and Fall are also wonderful times to camp...and less busy. Just check out wind conditions before you go. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$10
This is a great beach experience. I searched extensively for a place where I could pitch my tent right on the beach. The entire Pacific Coastline there were only two campgrounds where this was possible. Oceana Dunes, California and Coos Bay in Oregon. It is now on our bucket list to return with our RV. Pros: You are right on the beach If this is the experience you are looking for, it is the best!! Rigs of all sizes camp along this beautiful stretch of beach You drive along the beach at low tide to find your spot. People willing to help if you get stuck. You can ATV here. Cons: No running water, only chemical toilets (but kept clean). Lots of traffic between beach and water. You can get stuck. It was really windy and we had no shelter. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$10
Very basic, you are just parked anywhere you want on the sand. Beware of the tides, so you don't get stuck in the sand. Not many bathrooms around (but we didn't use them- so I don't know what the condition was). There was a truck that comes around selling ice and firewood, which was nice. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Display older reviews for Oceano Dunes State Vehicular Recreational Area
Camp Information
Sites
229
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   7   9   8   9   7   7   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$18
This park is on the edge of the sand dunes in Pismo beach when we looked at the web site it made it look like the beach was within walking distance. The dunes are a good 1/2 mile of huge rolling sand hills so do not plan on walking to the beach. You can rent horses and ride to the beach. It was $50 an hour. This park also does not have many amenities; it’s a bare bones park but it was pretty clean. 2 complaints, the people here drive through the park very fast. They have a speed limit of 10 but it's not enforced. Also even though there are dog baggies right before you enter the sand dunes most people either bag it and leave the bags out in the sand or they don’t bother to bag it at all. But all in all it’s a clean park and in a nice quiet location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$48
We like so many things about this park - nice staff, friendly campers, long term sites are clean/neat, great views, near to beaches/dunes, restaurants, etc. etc. etc. We just wish they would apply some basic TLC. You know - paint bath/laundry rooms, ensure washer/dryers work properly, install solid doors for shower enclosures, etc. We will probably continue to go but it would be great to see some improvements. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$1
So we "won" a week in this campground....so I shouldn't really complain but if I had been paying full price, I'd not stay here. The use of "Resort" in the name is a stretch! Your on/near the Dunes but the CG has No pool or spa. The bathrooms/showers could use some updating, cable provides about 20 channels, if you want Internet access its via Tengo-net for 17.00 a week, the sites are extremely close together although we were fortunate to get an end site(#34) which provided a little breathing room. The CG has a number of full time occupied sites. The access to Pismo eateries/shop's was pretty good, only a few miles down the road. All the utilities were good, Verizon cell excellent and AT&T WEB access was good too, no worry about good Sat signals...no tree's to be found. We stayed a week. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Pacific Dunes Ranch and RV Resort
Camp Information
Sites
133
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   10   10   6   9   9   9   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$50
Pismo sands RV resort is my go to destination when I'm RVing! The management is respectful and courteous to each of their guest. My family has always been greeted with a smile and pleasant attitude upon arriving at this park. They have always accommodated my requests, and if they were not able to, I have always been given a friendly explanation as to why they couldn't. (Usually because I'm a procrastinator and always do things last minute). I am very aware that some requests cannot be met, but these managers will go above and beyond expectations to give their guests a fantastic vacation. I highly recommend Pismo Sands RV park to everyone looking for a RV vacation spot. They are very Family friendly, honest, respectful and hold the highest level of integrity of any managers not just in the RVing business, but of any business I have visited. Highly Recommend! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$45
Tidy, compact. We had a grassy back-in for our trailer, but the big rigs were very close together on asphalt. No beach access as beach not nearby. Mgmt provides fire "rings" at no charge. Great firewood available from an independent seller located just a few blocks south on Cienaga. Park is code-controlled gated; surrounding residential neighborhood is rundown. $45/night rate reflects GS discount. No extra 11% tax charged here, unlike the bigger RV resort in Pismo Beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$49
This is our second stay at PS RV Park, check in was a breeze, we requested a spot near the pool, which we got. Site was clean and well maintained. If there was a drawback I would have to say they maybe need to adjust the lawn sprinkers, when we woke up one morning our windows were wet. Normally I wouldn't complain, but I spent the better part of an hour cleaning the outside windows the day before! We enjoyed our stay and will definitely come back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Pismo Sands RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   5   10   9   9   6   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  no  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  no  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$38
Approaching from north go on past first Pismo Beach campground unless you need to dump. The Oceano campground doesn't have a dump station. Arrive at Oceano (go past 2 county parks) with empty holding tanks and be ready for a real treat! Beautiful and a short walk to the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
Great state campground. The sites have water and electric but no sewer. The restrooms and showers were very clean despite a full campground. The beach is one block (or a 5 minute slow walk) down city streets. Autos are allowed on the beach> Your auto gets a permit with camping at this state park. It is not a beach for hanging out but more for four wheel drive vehicles. The park rangers are great and very protective of the wildlife in the park. The only pitfall is the site we had was under an eucalyptus tree and dropped sap and other things all over our trailer. We would definitely camp here again if in the greater San Luis Obispo area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$50
We were disappointed in this campground. I had chosen it based on reviews, but did not realize that North Beach and Oceano Beach were two different components of Pismo State Beach. We had to go to North Beach to dump as there is no dump station at Oceano, and I agree that it looks nicer. Oceano had okay washrooms and decent showers with lots of hot water (minimum 50 cents - bring quarters). The beach is about one bloc, away down the street...but this section is a Vehicular Recreation Area, which means trucks and ATVs churning up the sand. You can feel it as you walk up to the beach, and you really could not spend time there. Water electric is $50 and unserviced is $35. Expensive for what you get. We left early and went to a resort a few miles away. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Display older reviews for Pismo State Beach - Oceano Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com