215029 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Paicines, California (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
23.82 miles SW
25.62 miles SW
28.07 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Pinnacles National Monume
12.35 miles SW
Mercey Hot Springs 119
13.46 miles NE
Iridat Spring 73
16.23 miles NE
California
Paicines
Most Recently Reviewed
Pinnacles Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-05-24 04:14:47
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Paicines, California
Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   6   8   8   3   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$18
This is a park for school groups. There were at least 3 large groups during the time I was there. They were staying in a group campsite so the traffic within the RV camping area was minimal. There are plenty of hiking trails from easy/moderate to strenuous. There is nothing around the park . Nearest town would be Hollister. I did drive over to the coast traveling from Monterey to Big Sur. A very nice drive along the coast with visits in Monterey and Carmel-by-the-sea. It was a long dayt rip but well worth it. The park has basic amenities - electric at site, water fill up available and dump station as well. No phone, internet or TV reception. Sites were spaced nicely but no privacy between sites. I was in site 96 which had shade available part of the day from nice tree. I would stay again when in the area. Rate reflects Senior Pass discount. There is a park fee as well that was covered by the pass. I think it's $5 general fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$18
The rate reflects a 50% senior pass discount. This is a former KOA campground in the newly minted Pinnacles National Park (from a National Monument). The new designation is increasing visitation, so reservations are recommended. This is in an isolated area, so no cell (Verizon) or Verizon data. Most sites will get satellite. The roads to the park are slow and windy, so be prepared to go slowly. Some of the sites have 30 amp and some 50 amp. We were lucky and got a nice 50 amp (good and strong) service. The campground is laid out very strangely, sort of like done by someone that has had too much to drink, but it works OK. There is not a lot of privacy, but it was quite and dark at night. The park is definitely a hiking park. If you are not a hiker, there is not a lot to see. If you are a hiker it is great. We enjoyed our visit, but probably will not return as we have “done” the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Overall, Pinnacles campground is good. Realize it is 30miles away from any major city (Hollister or King City) and there are no other camping parks in the area. There are quite a few tent campgrounds which looked nice but the hike to the showers/restroom is long. We stayed in the RV park section in a travel trailer which was pretty much dirt spaces and faded caulk lines. There is very little shade in the campgrounds and from walking the RV site area, sites # 91 and 95 are probably the best. The RV sites do have 30amp hook-ups, but that is it. For water, you need to fill your tanks at one of 5 areas. There is a dumping station on site which is nice. There is a nicely stocked general store and a good size pool in walking distance from all campgrounds. This is the 1st national park we have stayed at with a pool. The story goes it actually used to be a KOA property and now managed by someone else. I believe the campground is run separately from the Pinnacles Park itself. If you are a hiker, you need to drive from the campground over to parking areas to hit the trails. The trails are well maintained, but the caves might not all be open; check with the general store prior to hiking. Also, if you like camp fires at night, call in advance as extreme fire conditions did not allow us to burn anything i.e no wood fires or BBQ with briquettes. Gas stoves were OK. This place gets real hot, so bring plenty of water and coverings for shade. Finally, there are lots of critters as mentioned in other posts, so lock your food items up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Pinnacles Campground
Camp Information
Sites
510
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   4   7   6   6   6   1   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$1
Very remote and quiet. Wide paved main roads in the park and secondary roads are gravel. Most sites are level gravel, full hookup, 30 or 50 amp. The first 50 amp site we picked the circuit breaker prematurely tripped so we moved to Site 322 which is one of the newly wired 50 amp sites. That site had a constant 120 volts even with both A/C running; however, we have an auto transformer in use. Our Verizon was three bars & 4G. Satellite signal was easy-to-get. It's a long drive for anything, but we look forward to returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$1
When we arrived we tried to find an electrical receptacle that we could use and it was a bit of a trial. Too many are out of commission and we finally ended up in their 50-amp section just because we didn't want to futz around. This is a good base to explore the area. We went to Monterey, Santa Cruz, and over to Pinnacles NP (what a special place.) This campground needs a lot of work to make it look nice. We did see a crew cleaning up the leaves and fallen branches one of the days we were there. Keep up the good work. On the other hand, the trees were huge, the spaces are large, and there was a neat trail to walk outside the camping area itself. We would definitely camp there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
This is an RV Resort past its prime. Many advertised sites are closed or no longer have the advertised utilities. The facilities are old and worn. Campsites are very littered with everything from clothing to discarded utensils to used condoms. Full time or part time residents have erected various structures on sites creating the look of a hobo jungle in areas. I wouldn't bring young children here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Thousand Trails - San Benito Preserve
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com