206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Santa Barbara, California (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
10.36 miles NW
15.51 miles NW
25.16 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
El Capitn Sb (42')
2.21 miles SE
Refugio Sb (30')
2.73 miles SW
Alisal Guest Ranch
7.51 miles NW
Santa Ynez Wineries
8.06 miles NW
Royal Scandia
8.57 miles NW
Mollerkroen
8.67 miles NW
Mustard Seed
9.30 miles NW
Cabernet Bistro
9.40 miles NW
Linton'S Restaurant & L
9.43 miles NW
San Marcos Hot Spring 110
9.71 miles NE
Las Cruces Hot Springs 99
10.26 miles NW
Costco 8056851719
10.28 miles SE
Andersen's
12.24 miles NW
Santa Barbara Municipal
12.43 miles SE
The Vintage Room
12.79 miles NW
Massimi'S Ristorante
12.87 miles NW
California
Santa Barbara
Most Recently Reviewed
Ocean Mesa Campground at El Capitan
Latest Review Submited On
2014-04-12 23:53:36
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Santa Barbara, California
Camp Information
Sites
435
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$47



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   5   8   8   8   8   6   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$47
This is the second time we camped here, last time was about three years ago. It's a great campground but there are a couple issues that came up this trip. First, the lake is down about 60 feet. I know this isn't the campgrounds fault, but it does make fishing a little challenging from the shore. You have to hike down a ways. Also, some of the fingers of the lake are now dried up. Really sad, actually. The second thing is they are removing all the nice cement fire rings, you have to bring your own now. Didn't make sense. Something about the big RV's running over them. With these two issues, I would expect the price to come down a little. $48 seems a little high. But if the rain comes and fills the lake up again, we will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$43
There was so much to do here that we didn't even take a planned side trip into Solvang. The drive up from Santa Barbara wasn't *that* bad if you're taking your time. Lots of trails, space, and shore to explore. Nice play structure for the kids. Saw a sign for a dog park, and there's a laundry facility on the campground map. Rented a boat and cruised the lake. Site was completely level. Minus one for general wear and tear, and minus one for fireproof firewood at the store. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$48
Lots of sites available with shade. $3/day/dog additional fee. Lake to look at, but do not touch. We were there only 1 night. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Cachuma Lake Recreation Area
Camp Information
Sites
17
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
This is an Elks member campground only. It is very clean, and Elks members are invited to use the clubhouse. Access to showers, gym, spa and laundry is available for an additional $10 per stay. Although there are no sewer hook-ups, there is a most inventive dump station. The club is in a beautiful neighborhood with flowers everywhere, and the commuter train goes through so fast you might think you imagined it. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
Elks Members Only. Nice Location; shopping is a 10 min walk; 60+ channel cable TV; Wi-Fi; Spots wide enough for slides on both sides. Sat TV is best on sites 1 to 6. Very friendly Lodge. Will take reservations. Sites assigned; dump on site. Close to Hwy 101. Will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$95



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   9   10   9   9   8   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$95
This is a lovely campground, close to Santa Barbara. It is overpriced for what they have to offer, but presumably that is due to the location. It is close to the freeway so somewhat noisy, and there are LOTS of kids on the weekends using the pool. They also allow tent camping, so there are a lot of young people who are loud and partying, and they do not monitor the noise. When we were there, we were unable to use the pool or the hot tub because there were several young men playing games in the pool. Several people complained but nothing was done. That being said, if you stay at a time off-season, perhaps it would be quieter. It is a pretty campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$67
The only reason this is rated at a 6 is because its outrageously expensive for a park that sits right on the freeway with all night traffic. If you are deaf, it's fine. The sites are wonderful cement level pads with a side pad for the truck. Easy hookup to w/e/s and cable TV. WIFI is fast. This is NOT in Santa Barbara or any city for that matter. A good 1/2 hour from SB. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$45
Couldn't come up with one bad thing about the park. Rack rate is steep, but you do get to see and smell the ocean. Restrooms and laundry spotless. Maybe the wash ($2.25) and ice ($2.97) could have been cheaper. Excellent heated pool and hot spa. Staff very nice. Our price ($45 a night, max 5 days) was the winter special, which we fully paid for last August. If money was not an issue, we would stay here again. Excellent place to start out full time life We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Ocean Mesa Campground at El Capitan
Camp Information
Sites
15
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
This National Forest Park is very old, and in need of repairs to the interior roads. Sites are mostly all shaded, nice, mature trees. Several old, dilapidated, junky sheds next to the camp host sites, with mounds of junk piled behind, next to, and around them. Host trailer appears to have been here for years (moss-covered, dirty), and their site is a mess. Looks a lot like Slab City. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
159
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$62



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   9   7   9   9   5   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2014
$62
There are a lot of great things about this RV park. It is quiet, the man at the gate was very nice. Our grand daughter took the horse back ride and loved it. The girl leading the horses was really great. The RV spots are large, but dirt, there was no privacy plants between the spots. There were bottle caps and garbage that wasn't cleaned up when we arrived at our spot. I never saw anyone cleaning up the RV spots. The pool area was clean and the pools were very nice. The last 1.3 miles was a one way road. There were 3 switch backs that you couldn't see around and they had mirrors that the driver coming down could see if there was someone coming, however the person coming up had no clue if there was someone in their path. We were towing a toad and it would have been hard for us to back up. Rancho Oso wants people leaving to use the road in the morning and the ones coming in to use it in the afternoon. That sorta of works but every time I used the road and met someone however not at the switch backs. I don't think my husband wants to drive that 1.3 miles again. As far as cell phone use you can go into the lodge, which is very nice and they have a booster and I was able to get an AT&T signal. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$1
We are TT members and the price reflects this. Yes, there is a 1 1/2 mile 2 lane road into the park but most people leave in the morning and arrive in the afternoon so we did not see a problem. I think there might be one in the summer when the place gets busier than in February. The campground is terraced and the sites are mostly level but on dirt and gravel. We had trouble finding a site with good electrical connections but finally did and settled in. There are nice trails around the park to take. The ranch house is historic and fun to visit. We enjoyed the sundaes (who wouldn't) and there were all sorts of other meals served. There was a small convenience store. We used this campground to explore the area of Solvang, Santa Barbara, Kanpp Castle, and the roads around the area. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$0
First time out to this campground, but for sure not the last time. The restrooms are the cleanest ones we have ever seen. Free pool table in very good condition. The pools are heated and warm enough (sure warmer would be better), but they are nice and deep (up to 8 1/2'). The sites are level and it is very peaceful. Internet seems to be limited on a daily usage, so in the morning it works good and in the afternoon it slows done to unusable. Great Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Rancho Oso
Camp Information
Sites
33
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$60



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   2   1   5   1   1   4   4   4   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  yes  yes  no  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2013
$60
Our stay was for one night and were we ever glad!! No one was in the office when we arrived on Sunday afternoon and their note said they would be back on Wednesday. Took a site that was on an envelope taped to the front door and then backed our rig in. We had 50 amp until we turned on one AC then we lost it. Went down to 30 amp until we turned the AC back on. Then we had NO electric all night.... just ran our inverter. The only time we reached someone was when I left a message stating we didn't know the rate and to please let us know, and we'd send them a check. The manager was at our site within 10 minutes. Dirty place and bathrooms were filthy. We would never stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2013
$66
I was hesitant to stay here because of the negative reviews but it's the only show in town. It was worse that I had anticipated. I almost had to detach my toad while pulling in, cleared the wall by an inch while cars where honking getting off the freeway. To get to our spot we had to drive thru the park, which is not easy, exit the park and then re enter thru another exit. You had better be an experienced driver to stay here. I watch a guy in a 36ft motorhome take about 30 min to jockey into his spot. Only a wall separates this park from the freeway. You will be within 10ft from the freeway in some spots. Noise is constant. There is no room to walk around for exercise and the neighborhood is a bit sketchy. All this for a mere $66 a night. We have been on the road for 7 months, staying at about 35 campgrounds, this is BY FAR the worst. I'm not telling you not to stay here, it is the only location in SB, but be prepared. The women who lives here running the park is very sweet. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2013
$50
Our least favorite RV park that we stayed in during our 20 days on the road. Crowded, muddy, poorly lit. No light in rest/shower rooms. Asked a very tall guest going by if he knew how to get some light and he showed me how to turn the lights on in one of the two bathrooms. To do this myself I would have to stand up on the toilet and reach high up. I am 5'10". Would not recommend this park to anyone. Not a very desirable part of town. Right beside freeway. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Sunrise RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com