206616 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Sequoia National Park, California (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
10.65 miles SW
13.67 miles NW
17.57 miles NW
17.97 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Sequoia National Park
5.71 miles E
California
Sequoia National Park
Most Recently Reviewed
Lodgepole Campground (NPS Campground)
Latest Review Submited On
2013-06-08 19:06:56
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Sequoia National Park, California
Camp Information
Sites
218
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   9   10   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  question  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
Spacious sites and very quiet. Rangers are strict about making sure food is placed in bear boxes. The bear boxes are large. Restrooms were clean and it was about a 15 drive into Lodgepole for showers and laundry. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
Love this camp ground and the trails are nice. Best part is the bears you might see on the trails. Lots of things to do and see. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
Ideal for those who want to get into the heart of the NP, and close to all the trails, without the crowds. It DOES have a free shuttle service to Lodgepole, despite what the NP website says. Beautiful setting; a black bear strolled past in a nearby meadow whilst there. Fire pits made for a perfect evening beer setting. For those staying for the nature - stay here instead of Lodgepole. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Dorst Creek Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
214
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   9   9   10   8   7   7   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$18
The park is great with lots of great hikes. The campground has large boulders lining the narrow roads and sites. We have a 26' trailer and were not able to make the turn into our site row. By backing down another road we were able to make the attempt into the site. It took quite a bit of jockeying to get in to the site. The campground was designed in the days of 16' trailers pulled by cars. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$18
We arrived in early April to the whole area covered in snow, so none of the sites had been cleared, we had to park our RV in the car park, but as we were the only ones there we could get close to the restrooms as we wanted. The restrooms in the evening weren't very clean, but by the morning they had been cleaned. A very scenic area, I would think even more beautiful in the summer. The staff in the shop were very friendly, not much food, but plenty of snacks (biscuits, crisps and sweets). I would avoid taking an RV up, we were in a 25", too big. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
Beautiful scenic park in our National Parks System. Lot's of hiking trails with a few paved. Great shuttle system to Moro Rock, Crystal Meadow, Sherman Tree (including handicap access), Museum, Dorst and Wusachi. They run about every 15 minutes and offer easy transit around. Market, laundry, visitor center and showers (10 minutes for $3. Not used by me, but by friends who reported it nice and clean) all within easy walk or bike ride. Many easy hikes right from campground, but lot's of snow on ground still (and 2" more when we left on June 6th!) making hiking boots a good measure, necessity depending on trail. Sites are nice and fairly level, although do follow site length restrictions as some are very short. There only seemed to be one camp host and generator run times were not followed by all (the reason I gave it a 9), but since the park was only 50% full at the most it was a moot point. Lot's of wildlife (even in the camp) and an overall amazing place to visit. There is also absolutely no cell reception within 20 miles of the camp too. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Lodgepole Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
42
Date of Stay
September 2011
Latest Rate
$9



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   4   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$9
This is a beautiful campground set amid oaks, California buckeyes, manzanitas and other lovely trees and shrubs. Our site, #22, was a back-in site which was large, spacious, fairly level and nestled in its own little grove of oaks. There are flush toilets and running water in the campground, but no showers. The dump station is across the road where there is also a potable water source for filling your fresh water tanks. Use of the bear storage boxes is strictly enforced. This campground makes a great base for exploring Sequoia National Park. Our fee reflects the fact that we have a Golden Age Pass. The regular nightly fee is $18. I would not recommend this campground to anyone with a big rig due to the narrow winding roads both in the campground itself and into the park from Three Rivers, but for anyone in a smaller rig or tent camping, it's a gem! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2008
$18
This is the type of camp ground you would expect for a national park. Potwisha is the only campground RV accessible on the south end of the park. Reservations are not available and this camp ground is quite popular in the summer. In the winter you get your pick of the sites and it makes a good place to setup camp out of the snow if you want to visit the Wolverton snow play area which is about 30-45 minutes up the mountain from here. There are 2 dump and fill stations directly across the highway from this camp ground. There are 8 pull through sites available at this location however leveling is a challenge. There is a river within walking distance that’s nice for a swim in the hot summer months. Also a few hiking trails to a swinging bridge (haven’t been there) and hospital rock (high altitude long hike). There is an amphitheater with ranger programs during peak season. This is also an active bear area bear boxes at every camp site and in a previous tent camping experience here I did have to run a bear away from our car. The national park service does employee a bear patrol who has tagged the bears with locations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2007
$9
We had site #24, a paved back-in with no utilities but more level than many in the CG, we had shade on the rear of the RV but didn't need it because it was cold and rainy our entire stay. Noisy on the weekend. We only have a 30 ft class A but we were the largest thing in the CG and it really is not designed or maintained for full-size motorhomes. The roads were narrow and we encountered many low hanging tree branches and encroaching bushes. This was an active bear area while we were there and several vehicles were damaged by bears looking for food. Our tow car window was broken even though we had no food, toiletries or trash in the car. Bummer for us but most likely much worse for the bear in the long run. Easy drive to the Giant Forest from this campground and we got through to the Grant Grove area one day when chains were not required. Nightly rate reflects the Interagency Senior Pass discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Potwisha (NPS Campground)
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com