223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Shaver Lake, California (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
14.71 miles NW
17.39 miles NW
18.81 miles S
20.44 miles NW
25.29 miles NW
27.16 miles SE
27.57 miles SW
30.20 miles SE
30.38 miles NW
32.48 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Sierra Summit Ski Area
10.68 miles NE
California
Shaver Lake
Most Recently Reviewed
Ponderosa Trailer Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-01-12 18:11:36
5 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Shaver Lake, California
Camp Information
Sites
252
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   8   9   9   8   10   10   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
Stayed mid-week late September - very quiet - lake level low able to walk around the lake on the shore - fishing not great - lots of trails saw many deer We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
Highway 168 is a steep ascent and descent to reach the park. During recent 100+ degree weather, several cars overheated on the way up and brakes smoked on the way down. The lake was at 66%, but still reachable by most vehicles for recreation. On Saturday night, two local groups off Road 2 who had been partying all day were intoxicated and rude, making this uncomfortable for family outing. The rest of the time and locations were family friendly. Very sandy beaches. Our site had the picnic table and bbq up on a hill above the trailer, which was cumbersome. Traffic and noise on the campsite road right behind our site was annoying, and 15 mph speed limit was not enforced. Water was pleasant, clean and refreshing. Overall an adequate campground, with friendly staff and good shade. Seems like a lot of people were in and out of campsites in this mountain setting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$42
We camp here every year and have been happy. There are some pull though sites too. They also have a museum on the way in. Interesting facts and other things about Shaver Lake. If you want to make summer reservations, make sure you do them asap when they open up in Dec. They book up fast, so you have to make them 6 months in advance if you are camping with a group of people. If you bring a computer, you can get an hour free internet everyday, or pay for more use. They also have cable TV. Clean campground too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Camp Edison
Camp Information
Sites
128
Date of Stay
July 2010
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This is a beautiful campground in the Sierra Mountains with abundant pine trees and beautiful large camp sites. It is about a 20 minute drive to Shaver Lake, where we usually spend a day or two each year. There is a great creek for swimming (it is cold) and fishing. The fish and game service stocks the creek with trout regularly during the summer months. We have camped here for many years, typically for a week near the beginning of August, and will continue to visit on a regular basis. In the past couple of years, the restrooms have been redone, and now nearly all in the area have flush toilets and faucets. Showers are available at the Dinkey Creek Store for a nominal fee. The store also has some supplies and ice. The downside, no hookups and water has to be hauled to your site. There are not enough water faucets in each loop and you may have to hall your water 100 or so feet as the only faucets are near the restrooms. I carry a 5 gallon water jug and a small collapsible dolly for this purpose. There is also no cell service in Dinkey, but pay phones are available at the store. There is cell service in Shaver Lake as well as restaurants and grocery stores. Overall, if you don't mind dry camping and you love the serenity of the mountains you can’t beat Dinkey Creek. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$10
Beautiful park with large campsites with lots of mature trees in a mountainous area that may put a strain on some motorhomes. Nice creek for wading or fishing or near by Shaver Lake for all water sports.gets crowded on weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
This is a great place if your okay with dry camping. Sites are very spacious and setting is gorgeous. The only reason it didn't get 10 stars was that the closest dump station is 15 miles away at Edison Campground. The river is wonderful for fishing and play. Very clean campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
68
Date of Stay
September 2008
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$18
This was a beautiful park close to Shaver Lake. Most sites do not have a view of the lake but the lake was very close to all spots and the boat ramp was very close as well. It was off-season so the park was almost empty but the sites were well spread-out. Beautiful hikes all around. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$17
Decent campground located on Shaver Lake. This lake is a haven for water sport enthusiasts so the campground is filled with a very energetic crowd. In fact they had so much energy that it was impossible to sleep some nights because of the late night parties. But this park is a very short walk to very nice beaches located in a cove of the lake. That proved to make up for the constant chaos that the campground was filled with. The lake itself is wonderful and I am sure that when it's not the peak of summer, the campground is much quieter too. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
Limited
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
The Park is nice and shaded. I felt like we were staying in the forest. I love the town and the staff was great. This is a great place to escape the city and enjoy the mountains. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$43
This was a convenient park to stay in while exploring the Shaver Lake area. The sites are all dirt so you need to watch the dust and bring mats. You can walk into town or to the shore of Shaver Lake. No amenities (cable or Wi-Fi) since it is mostly long term residents or folks who leave their RVs and come up on weekends. We got cell but no Wi-Fi. Nice friendly managers. It's impossible to get into Camp Edison as they book a year out. This worked well for short notice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
125
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   6   9   7   9   9   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
We loved Wishon Village! The owners were fabulous and all of the folks that spend the summer up on the mountain hiding from the heat in the valley were wonderful, too. It's the perfect place to have that true camping experience. Whether tent or RV, each site has plenty of space. Our site was big enough for several RVs and cars/boats. Most sites are 40' wide and 60' deep. Nice fire rings are in each site as well as a picnic table. The camp store is great, well stocked. It's nice to know that I don't have to drive 2 hours into the valley to get something. The activities are fun and family friendly. Everyone is welcome to every activity. The park is kid friendly and pet friendly. They have a really nice dog park and I think they were building a second one this summer. The area is amazing for photography, long quiet rides, and beautiful hikes. I highly recommend this park! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
I loved this park. Large wide spaces and it feels and looks like a park and not a RV park. They are terraced so you have a lot of privacy. All of the sites had been raked and have clean fire pits. It's quite a drive but worth the beauty of the area. Close to two lakes. Courtwright reservoir is about 30 minutes and is breathtaking with granite all around it. No cell phone or cable but you can use a satellite dish in most sites. Great trout fishing in both Wishon and Courtwright. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$44
Very interesting drive to reach this campground from the Fresno area because of the elevation (6800') and the serpentine roads on the last 60 miles, but particularly the last 17 miles. Driving slowly and defensively a must but worth the rewards of the area. Hiking, fishing and exploring are readily available. Could be very crowded in the Summer. Sites are generous and gravel covered. A more rustic feel to this campground. No cell or Wi-Fi. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Wishon Village RV Resort
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com