218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Tulelake, California (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
7.26 miles NW
25.09 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Oregon Hot Springs (Big Hot Spring) 142
14.92 miles NE
Lorella
16.52 miles NE
Crystal Spring 78
16.61 miles NW
California
Tulelake
Most Recently Reviewed
Lava Beds National Monument - Indian Wells Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-29 21:29:21
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Tulelake, California
Camp Information
Sites
43
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$10
Stayed here a few weeks ago. if you are spending a few days in the park, it's the place to camp (Tule lake is a good 30 minute drive away). As another reviewer pointed out, the sites are a little awkward but everyone makes it work without hassle. We stayed in kind of a curbside spot which was fine for our trailer and we could still pull our vehicle up to the side. There were also back in and pull through sites - several sites for sure were really only suitable for tent camping. Restrooms were really clean. There were lots of flies, so beware. The rating takes into account the location - the caves are really neat to check out, you can access several without being in super great shape (we did it with our kids). We also hiked the cinder cone with the fire lookout tower - the ranger up there was really nice! If you have kids, be sure to do junior ranger program! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$10
Nice rugged campground in Lava Beds NM. Dry camping. They don’t take reservations, but I was told on the phone that the campground was not busy, except for holidays - when we arrived in the late afternoon, on a Tuesday, we were lucky to find a spot for our RV! The campground was already ¾ full, and more people were arriving. Most sites are geared towards tents, but many people had trailers, pop-ups, and few other motorhomes, too. The south entrance road to the park is in poor condition, but passable. The lava caves are fun to explore, and the park people were very helpful. If you don’t have flashlights, the park service will lend them to you. Some of the caves are quite cold inside. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$5
This campground is located in the Lava Beds National Monument. The campground is old and small, but located in a beautiful and unique area that features fascinating geological formations and interesting human history. The sites are quite small and it's difficult to tell where one begins and another ends, but everyone seemed pretty casual about just fitting their rig in however they could without blocking the access roads. The campground is situated in a hilly location and many of the sites would present leveling difficulties for an RV, but would not be a problem for tents. We were able to get a pull through site that was fairly level. Since the sites are small and the roads twisty and narrow I wouldn't recommend this campground to anyone with a big rig. There are no hook-ups, but there is water available and flush toilets. If you enjoy "roughing it" in beautiful natural surroundings, you'll like this campground. A feature of the park that many come for is the abundance of lava tubes and caves open for exploring. We would like to return to this campground and see more of the monument some day. The rate we paid was half-off the normal rate of $10 a night because we have a Golden Age pass. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Lava Beds National Monument - Indian Wells Campground
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
August 2010
Latest Rate
$7


Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$7
If you are visiting nearby Lava Beds National Monument this is the place for you. This area is a hidden gem. Medicine Lake is a beautiful alpine lake in the caldera of a huge shield volcano at 6,700 feet. There is first come, first serve lakeside camping in four national forest campgrounds with no hookups, showers or frills. What you do get is lakeside camping, utter quiet, great fishing, a nice swimming beach and lots of hiking right from your spot. There are four campgrounds along the lake: Hemlock, some nice sights, but better for tents than RV's. A.H. Houge, great lakeside spots with plenty of good RV spots. This is where we stayed. Medicine, similar and next door to A.H. Hogue Headquarters, smaller CG and at end of lake away from swimming. The drive to Lava Beds is 15 miles on a good National Forest road. The first part is paved one lane with turnouts and is very good, then you will hit an unpaved section for several miles, but it is in great shape, then the last few miles are paved but you do have to play dodge-em-pothole. Lava Beds is worth it. It is home to 21 easily accessible lava tube caves and some great Modoc War history. Combine some fabulous alpine camping in an amazing spot with some exploration of this unappreciated area. If you are heading from Lassen NP to Crater Lake and Bend this is a great place to stay. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   5   6   8   7   8   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  no  question  question  question  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  no  question  question  question  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$18
This is a pretty campground that meets our needs for an overnight stay. Two issues drop the rating from an 8 to 7. Also, as I write more reviews, I find that I'm more discriminating between overnight campgrounds vs destination campgrounds. I tend to be more forgiving of 1-night stands. The grass sites are reasonably level and easy to access. There are about 24 full hookup sites and dozens more can be accommodated in various electric/water/dry combinations during major events. We were the only ones there during our one-night stay. The electric/water/sewer connections are new and in good condition. I liked that they are all set into concrete foundations and not just sprouting out of the grass like some weeds. The bathrooms were very clean but had no hot water. The regular rate is listed on Passport America as $30-$36 but the price posted on the "Iron Ranger" was $18 for both PA and the regular rate. We didn't bother to ask about it since we were only staying 1 night. Customer service is lacking and indifferent. They weren't rude, just didn't care. When asked about the hot water, the man replied he had used it last week and it was fine. I'm a stickler for customer service so that dropped their rating by a full point. The ranger and the intern at the Tule Lake WWII Japanese Internment Camp Memorial were both very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$18
We had the campground entirely to ourselves and it was so-o-o quiet. We are behind the fairground buildings in a very grassy site and the utilities work very well. It's only problem is the bath/shower rooms which haven't recovered from the recent county fair and are not very clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$18
The sites aren't really pull through, unless you drive on the grass behind them. This park is behind a fair grounds. It had good power, water and sewer and was a quiet place to spend a night. It is not far from Lava Beds National Monument. There was a good Verizon 4G signal. The sites are on grass and are not very level. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Tulelake - Butte Valley Fairgrounds
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com