206577 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Tulelake, California (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
7.26 miles NW
25.09 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Oregon Hot Springs (Big Hot Spring) 142
14.92 miles NE
Lorella
16.52 miles NE
Crystal Spring 78
16.61 miles NW
California
Tulelake
Most Recently Reviewed
Tulelake - Butte Valley Fairgrounds
Latest Review Submited On
2013-09-14 21:18:57
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Tulelake, California
Camp Information
Sites
43
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$10
Nice rugged campground in Lava Beds NM. Dry camping. They don’t take reservations, but I was told on the phone that the campground was not busy, except for holidays - when we arrived in the late afternoon, on a Tuesday, we were lucky to find a spot for our RV! The campground was already ¾ full, and more people were arriving. Most sites are geared towards tents, but many people had trailers, pop-ups, and few other motorhomes, too. The south entrance road to the park is in poor condition, but passable. The lava caves are fun to explore, and the park people were very helpful. If you don’t have flashlights, the park service will lend them to you. Some of the caves are quite cold inside. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$5
This campground is located in the Lava Beds National Monument. The campground is old and small, but located in a beautiful and unique area that features fascinating geological formations and interesting human history. The sites are quite small and it's difficult to tell where one begins and another ends, but everyone seemed pretty casual about just fitting their rig in however they could without blocking the access roads. The campground is situated in a hilly location and many of the sites would present leveling difficulties for an RV, but would not be a problem for tents. We were able to get a pull through site that was fairly level. Since the sites are small and the roads twisty and narrow I wouldn't recommend this campground to anyone with a big rig. There are no hook-ups, but there is water available and flush toilets. If you enjoy "roughing it" in beautiful natural surroundings, you'll like this campground. A feature of the park that many come for is the abundance of lava tubes and caves open for exploring. We would like to return to this campground and see more of the monument some day. The rate we paid was half-off the normal rate of $10 a night because we have a Golden Age pass. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$10
Indian Wells campground is located within the monument. The sites are geared for tenters, but there are sites that rv's can pull adjacent to. The restrooms are simple, and there is piped water. The highlight of this location is the monument itself. A number of lava tubes (caves) to explore. The lava tubes also provide great relief from the high summer temps. Would visit and stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
August 2010
Latest Rate
$7


Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$7
If you are visiting nearby Lava Beds National Monument this is the place for you. This area is a hidden gem. Medicine Lake is a beautiful alpine lake in the caldera of a huge shield volcano at 6,700 feet. There is first come, first serve lakeside camping in four national forest campgrounds with no hookups, showers or frills. What you do get is lakeside camping, utter quiet, great fishing, a nice swimming beach and lots of hiking right from your spot. There are four campgrounds along the lake: Hemlock, some nice sights, but better for tents than RV's. A.H. Houge, great lakeside spots with plenty of good RV spots. This is where we stayed. Medicine, similar and next door to A.H. Hogue Headquarters, smaller CG and at end of lake away from swimming. The drive to Lava Beds is 15 miles on a good National Forest road. The first part is paved one lane with turnouts and is very good, then you will hit an unpaved section for several miles, but it is in great shape, then the last few miles are paved but you do have to play dodge-em-pothole. Lava Beds is worth it. It is home to 21 easily accessible lava tube caves and some great Modoc War history. Combine some fabulous alpine camping in an amazing spot with some exploration of this unappreciated area. If you are heading from Lassen NP to Crater Lake and Bend this is a great place to stay. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   6   8   7   8   8   7   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  question  question  question  yes  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  question  question  question  yes  no  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$18
We had the campground entirely to ourselves and it was so-o-o quiet. We are behind the fairground buildings in a very grassy site and the utilities work very well. It's only problem is the bath/shower rooms which haven't recovered from the recent county fair and are not very clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$18
The sites aren't really pull through, unless you drive on the grass behind them. This park is behind a fair grounds. It had good power, water and sewer and was a quiet place to spend a night. It is not far from Lava Beds National Monument. There was a good Verizon 4G signal. The sites are on grass and are not very level. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$18
This is strictly a no frills park pretty much in the middle of nowhere. It appears about 90% of stores downtown are boarded up and out of business. The park itself is on the fairgrounds. Sites are grass, mostly level. Some can be used as pull through, the rest back ins. Sites relatively close together. Full hookups (30 amp) for $18, with no cable (picked up a number of channels through antenna), no Wi-Fi (my sprint hotspot had zero bars). Bathrooms were fairly new but poorly maintained. No staff was seen during the one night stay. Self service check in at kiosk. Calls to published number went unanswered before arrival. Very quiet and peaceful for a good nights rest. If you are going this way and need an inexpensive, quiet place to spend a night and do not need any amenities this isn't a bad spot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Tulelake - Butte Valley Fairgrounds
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com