221717 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Yosemite National Park, California (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
7.17 miles SE
11.64 miles NW
14.29 miles SW
15.11 miles SW
15.80 miles W
16.94 miles S
19.53 miles SE
23.18 miles SE
25.57 miles SE
25.83 miles S
26.32 miles SW
California
Yosemite National Park
Most Recently Reviewed
Hodgdon Meadow (NPS Campground)
Latest Review Submited On
2014-05-27 05:20:10
8 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Yosemite National Park, California
Camp Information
Sites
166
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   5   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
OK campground. No hookups or dump station. Need to go into the valley to dump (45 min drive). Very unlevel. 3 tires off the ground and still not completely level. Had a difficult time getting into the space as did most folks. Good location for seeing the Northern sections of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
The main benefits of this site were being in the park and the beautiful surroundings. You are about 15 miles from the main Yosemite Valley. It is not really set up for a large 31ft RV. The pitches are nowhere near level although the access was OK. We had a firepit, bear locker and picnic table which were great. The bathroom wasn't that clean by the end of the day and there were no lights at night! However, we enjoyed the peace of the site after being in the Valley all day. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
This is a wilderness type campground in a beautiful, quiet area of Yosemite. 50% of the sites are reservable, the rest first come/first serve. We enjoyed camping here even with the primitive nature of the campground. There is water available in the park, just not at every campsite. There is a waste water disposal drain next to the restrooms for Grey water. There are adequate numbers of restroom facilities with flush toilets. I don't think the toilets are cleaned very often which is kind of unfortunate given the heavy use that the campground has in the summer months. Showers available 17 miles away in Yosemite Valley. Food storage restrictions enforced because of bears. We did actually see a bear, too. We would return to this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   1   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$10
Even though we weren't in the valley, we enjoyed our stay at Hodgdon Meadow. There are about 4 sites that can take a larger trailer/motorhome, the rest are tent or small trailer sites. It is a 45 minute drive to the valley, but there are also some nice areas to visit nearby--Hetch Hetchy, Merced Grove and Tioga Road. The 2013 Rim fire burned all around this campground, but the immediate area is still beautiful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
Please beware that it is next to impossible to tow a trailer up Tioga Pass: we only made it to 9000 ft. It was a very intimidating tow, and physically impossible for our Expedition to tow our 18 ft trailer up the Mountain Pass. We tried to phone and cancel, but there are no phone signals in the area, plus they give you a run-around on the phones. They do not return phone calls, and don't expect to get any refunds. Also, we received an email about a burn off. We tried to call, left messages, with no replies. Frustrating to try and get information, and cancel with no response. Yet, we were charged for being a no show. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
Managed to reserve a tent site here for 2 nights on recreation.gov about a week ahead of time. Clean restrooms with cold water only and no showers. Close to the entrance to Yosemite, about a 40 minute drive to Yosemite Valley. Lots of big big trees and not too dusty. Only complaint is nearest store is a 20-minute drive to Crane Flat. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent.
Display older reviews for Hodgdon Meadow (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$17
Loved the campground, Host, and was very clean! Can't wait to return for another visit. We stayed for 7 days and so much to see and do. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
This was a beautiful camp site with many hiking trails within close vicinity. It has trails for all levels of hikers and ages. I will definitely be going back. The park rangers are all very friendly and willing to share any information that you might need. My wife loved this camp site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
The best way to Yosemite is to stay in the park. Lower Pines is one of the smaller campgrounds in the park, as much of it was flooded and destroyed in 1997. It also has the amphitheater and the ranger presentations at night. Otherwise they are all about the same in the valley. Yosemite is always beautiful, especially in the spring. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Lower Pines (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
81
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   10   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  yes  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$10
We were fortunate to get a site for our 30' fifth wheel in Yosemite Valley, there are very few sites that can accommodate us. North Pines is smaller and a little more private than the other two valley campgrounds and is very conveniently located to bike paths, mirror lake and happy isles. There are a few sites along the river, which are very nice. Wi-Fi is available at Camp Curry guest lounge. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
We liked camping here and enjoyed all the sights. You can ride shuttle buses everywhere. We were in the first row (100s) which is right next to the stables, with a corresponding odor. Don't book in the 200s unless you have a very small rig and can make the hairpin turn. The new generator hours are 7-9 AM, 12-2 PM, 5-7 PM. It was the first week in June but the temp hit 95 on the day we left. Next time we'll try May. Bring mosquito repellent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
This was a very nice campground in Yosemite park. All of the sites have a picnic bench, fire ring and a large bear box. It is close to everything and the park shuttle stops nearby. Spotty cell phone service within the campground, but nearby Camp Curry has a lounge available for all guests with both wireless internet and cell phone service. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for North Pines Campground (NPS Campgroiund)
Camp Information
Sites
304
Date of Stay
September 2011
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$10
Only half of the sites are reserved so there is a good chance you can get in at last minute. Sites are well spaced and clean. As with any park setting, many sites are not that level. Whether good or bad, cell phone service is available here. Not many services here, but just being here is special. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
Access roads were in pretty rough condition for my 34’ motorhome. Camp sites are not well marked and sometimes difficult to define. Campground is very rustic. Be ready to implement more than normal setup for larger rigs. Noted smaller motorhomes were very popular and moved around easier. 80% of motorhomes in parks are rentals this time of year. Be prepared for inexperienced and sometimes aggressive motorhome operators. Campground definitely not large motorhome friendly. While campground environment was average, the Yosemite National Park's awesomeness is truly beyond belief. I will return but possibly staying in a RV facility on edge of park and day tripping into Yosemite. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
Beautiful place to camp. We drove our toad to curry village and the kids went swimming all day. The camp ground was a little rustic but it was what we expected from a national park. We should have entered the park from the rear entrance, the drive from the front was too long. I would return again but maybe next time in a camp site in the valley. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Tuolumne Meadows Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
240
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   10   9   10   7   7   9   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$10
Campsites are close together in Upper Pines area with no amenities. My site required minimal leveling, was near the bathroom, and had sufficient parking for RV and tow. Large rigs my have problems getting into spaces so pay close attention to site description. Reservations are a must. There is a daily waiting list but during summer months that would really be taking a chance. Reservations are taken 6 months prior to arrival date and sites book up very fast. Sites were sold out in 15 minutes for the date I wanted to arrive. The park is amazing. I was there for 7 nights (the maximum allowed in summer) and could have enjoyed another 7 nights. Middle of May and upper elevations received enough snow that 2 of the roads were closed. Plenty of hiking trails, waterfalls, wildlife, and meadows to enjoy. Bears in the campgrounds have been an issue and they emphasize food storage. I didn't see a bear but heard some commotion one night. I did see a gray wolf in the campground. I'm sure a rare sighting. Bicycles are very popular mode of transportation and you can rent one for 31.50 a day. Free shuttle bus throughout the Valley. Convenient to use and saves frustration of looking for a parking spot. Definitely a Park to visit. Lower Pines campground has larger sites but is extremely hard to get reservation there. Will definitely go back. Rate reflects Senior Pass discount. Park entrance fee is additional $20 a car. Worth every dollar. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
Very good location in the valley. You can bicycle from here to just about everything in the valley. No power or water at the sites. There is a dump station at the entrance to the campground where you can dump and get water. The sites are small and stacked right on top of one another. The staff were not friendly nor helpful, maybe this was because it was near the end of the season. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$10
Rate reflects senior access discount. Bring your bike! Once in Yosemite valley, leave the car behind with all the parking headaches and get around with a bike. No showers, but you have to check out the kitchen washing station! I watched people using it, took pictures, and even had to use it too... Looks like a giant toilet. For millions of people who love Yosemite to death, this campground is very clean but certainly not private. The Village Store at the Village is a large, complete grocery. The Village Garage can fix your vehicle but you can't get gas anywhere in the valley so be aware. You can get a shower at the Housekeeping complex, but it'll cost $5. The laundromat is a better deal. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Upper Pines Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
93
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   10   8   9   9   8   4   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  no  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$10
We stayed in Yosemite for 4 weeks, 2 weeks at Wawona. We really liked the campground and the area. We had a site along the river and our 30' 5th wheel fit easily, though the site was seriously unlevel. The sites varied a lot, some were very large and private, others less so, but overall the campground had a great feel and was way less busy and noisy than the valley campgrounds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
This campground is located in the southern end of the park and it requires a 30-45 minute drive to reach the valley. I carefully researched the site's sizes since we have a 30' toy hauler travel trailer and I wanted to make sure we got a site large enough. The site we selected, #72 was for up to a 35' trailer. When we arrived, we discovered the site was basically a wider spot in the road where we had to parallel park our trailer. Because of the placement of a tree on the opposite side of the road and the fact the trailer in front of us was 1' into our space, we could not fit. After numerous attempts, I decided to go the wrong way on the access road and got us into the spot. The site was 13" off level side to side and we could not deploy our slide since the site was only 110" wide. The next day we found an empty site to move into that worked much better for us. I was disappointed in the campground since it was tight with no privacy between sites. Since this was our first national park experience, I have no point of comparison. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$10
Rate reflects senior access pass discount. Loop A is a grassy circle next to the roadway with group and single camp sites. Not as nice as Loop C, but smaller number of sites mean less people around. Great place to get to the Mariposa grove and Glacier Point areas. No showers, but the restrooms were clean and had kitchen washing stations. The local Pine Tree Market in Wawona has most basic groceries including fruits and veggies. No AT&T cell coverage. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Wawona Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
74
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$14


Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
question
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$14
On higher grounds, a super spot for hikes and a day rest on a long tip. If you want to get away from all the tourists in the park, (like ourselves), this is the place. All spots are under high pine trees, friendly people, good explanation of the hikes, beautiful lake nearby (4.6 miles roundtrip). We enjoyed being in the nature. We camped here in a Motorhome.
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com