206515 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Bellvue, Colorado (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
8.89 miles E
13.67 miles S
15.60 miles SE
17.51 miles NE
18.12 miles NW
19.93 miles SW
20.73 miles SE
24.06 miles SW
29.02 miles S
31.30 miles SW
Colorado
Bellvue
Most Recently Reviewed
Ansel Watrous Campground, Roosevelt NF
Latest Review Submited On
2013-09-25 16:29:39
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Bellvue, Colorado
Camp Information
Sites
17
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$10
Ansel Watrous is the first in a series of NF campgrounds located along Colorado Hwy 14 as you drive up the Poudre River canyon from "Ted's Place". We stayed in the "upper loop" as it is more RV friendly. (The "lower loop" has a hairpin curve at the entrance that restricts access to shorter rigs.) The lower loop had 7 RV sites and 3 tent sites, and each of the sites back to the Cache la Poudre River. The lower loop was long and narrow and sandwiched between Hwy 14 and the river. Fortunately the noise of the river masked the highway noise. We were disappointed that the Young Gulch trail, located just across the road was still closed due to the 2012 forest fires, but the friendly hosts directed us to the very pleasant Hewlett Gulch and Greyrock Mountain trails located down the road. Also located nearby is Mishawaka, where we had a very pleasant meal on their deck over the river. It is also a popular venue for concerts. The campsites were level and spacious. The hosts kept everything neat and tidy. Rafters use the river, and fishing is very popular. Our rate reflects the golden access discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Camp Information
Sites
23
Date of Stay
August 2009
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
question
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
Campground consists of 16 cabins, 4 tent sites and 3 pull-through RV sites. Considering the price per night, the campground was not well cared for. Restrooms and showers were not clean, hot tub was dirty. Although there were lots of rules upon check-in, no rules were enforced. Pets are an additional $10 per pet per site. Good scenery! Lots of trees! Tent sites are along the river and very scenic! No cell phone service available in the area and only one pay phone in the campground. Very buggy. Other campgrounds in the area appeared better than this one. We will be back to the area, but probably not to this campground. We camped here in a Tent.
Camp Information
Sites
55
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
This campground offers the ultimate in outdoor experiences plus it has electric hook ups, paved roads, pay showers and plenty of activities including horseshoes, volley ball and a playground. There is wonderful hiking, birdwatching, animal viewing and fishing. We saw 5 moose. The Visitor Center 3 miles west the campground will help you plan your activities. The hosts also are very helpful and keep the place neat. There is no cell service, WiFi or dump. If they are important to you then you might not be happy campers. These things are not important to me. MT Park is about enjoying the outdoors. If this is what you are looking for don't miss this place. Electric sites are on the reservation system. Dry camp sites are first come. This is a very busy place all summer. Make reservations for electric sites or for dry sites arrive Sunday-Thursday. Golden Pass holders get $10 off the base rate of $20. Electric is $5 for all. So I got this little piece of heaven for $15 a night. You betcha I'll be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$23
Thanks to the review on this great USFS cg, we decided to try it out and lucked into an E site for 2 nights. You really do need to make reservations if you want the few hookups. The regular rate for E sites is $23, dry camp $18. Wonderful place up the canyon, friendly hosts. Showers were quick 25c and hot. But cell, broadband and TV won't work. Worth it to be here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$18
This was my best all time camping experience. This place is beautiful. There are many campsites on the river, however the electric sites are not. All thirty-three of the electric sites are reserve-able. The campground fills every weekend and some week days. There is fishing and hiking in the area and rafting a bit further downstream. You can also just go and listen to the river. There is minor traffic sounds mostly drowned out by the river. The hosts are great and the campground spotless. The only down side is the last 7 miles up to the campground. They are white knuckles. I camped in a tent but plan to bring my travel trailer next time. We camped here in a Tent.
Display older reviews for Mountain Park Campground-Roosevelt Nat'l. Forest
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com