221725 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Canon City, Colorado (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
17.60 miles SE
17.60 miles NE
22.05 miles SW
28.65 miles NE
30.05 miles SW
30.68 miles NE
30.96 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Rpi- Co Fort Gorge Rv Park & Cg 45044 Hwy 50 W Canon City
3.03 miles SW
Royal Gorge Scenic Rail
4.36 miles SW
Royal Gorge Bridge & P
5.33 miles SW
Royal Gorge Suspension
7.24 miles SE
Canon City Hot Springs 104
7.67 miles SE
Royal Gorge Route
7.76 miles SE
Buckskin Joe Theme Park
8.87 miles SE
Merlino'S Belvedere
9.08 miles SE
Colorado
Canon City
Most Recently Reviewed
Royal Gorge / Canon City KOA
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-28 14:49:51
8 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Canon City, Colorado
Camp Information
Sites
28
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   5   1   1   4   1   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$27
We stayed at this park last year and it was in terrible shape. It is now under new management and has been cleaned up a ton. The camp host are very friendly. As an example, we were in a new 5th wheel. I had just picked it up that day. I did not have a 50 to 30 amp adapter and he loaned me one of his own. This is a nice area with a lot to see and the campground is a good place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$27
This was a park just bought out and upgraded. Previously, it had been rundown. Now it's a great park. It was a very pleasant experience. The new owners were always onsite, friendly, helpful...Everything was very neat and clean. Nice little touches in the women's restroom, too. Sites were level and clean. Camp is right in town, so very convenient. I would return to this park without hesitation. They continue to upgrade...and are helpful with information or questions about the area. There's also convenient shopping across the street. We had trailers for our old cars which they let us park without extra charge. The owners were so personable that we felt very welcome and like we knew them. We stayed there 6 nights. I highly recommend this RVPark to travelers. PS: There's a beautiful buck that comes around every evening to feed in the grass at the back of the park! Quite a sight...at least 8 points....we enjoyed that. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$27
New management has cleaned up the park. It is still rather Plain Jane, but tidy and clean. A rather large fee is charged for the dump station. About a block from a WalMart, easy walk. The Wi-Fi worked fairly well. Nice owners, easily reached by phone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Canon City RV Campground
Camp Information
Sites
129
Date of Stay
July 2010
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   4   7   6   9   6   7   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
I will start with the positives first. The hosts are very nice people, you can see some of the Royal Gorge bridge, not far from Royal Gorge Park and Buckskin Joe, and there is some space between the sites. Negatives: The dog leash rule is not enforced by the hosts. While here a group of people camping never had their dogs on leashes. The owners saw this and at one point the smaller dog wandered up to hosts home and hosts brought the dog back asking if dog belonged to them. When told yes, NOTHING was said to them about keeping dogs on leash! Not safe for other people or dogs no matter how friendly the dogs are. WiFi was close to non-existent. Never got above low or no connection even going to pavillion close to dish. The bar across the street has a live band on the weekend and music goes until midnight. Across the street is the helipad for the helicoptor tours. On good days it doesn't stop. Unless you have your own satelittle you will not get TV reception. The sites are decent size but not level so bring blocks and it is dirt with some gravel. If you are close to the road you will definitely have road noise. The campground is for sale so I would not expect improvements. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
You can see the Royal Gorge bride from the camp. Park has a nice hostess and host. Does have WiFi, but it's a bit weak when more than 300 feet from office. Sites are decently level, but relatively close together. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
Very rustic. Sites were not level. Owner was very friendly and accommodating. Would stay there again as the other camp grounds were closed or very over priced. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Fort Gorge RV Park & Campground
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   10   5   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$14
Price is based on the full-hookup monthly rate. If you are looking for continual activities, water park, playgrounds, and miniature golf, this may not be the campground for you. If you are into quiet laid-back mountain views with plenty of trails to stroll among Rocky Mountain junipers and pinion pines, this unique family-run campground on a working ranch might well be just what you are looking for. The local birds include several varieties of hummingbirds, scrub jays, mountain chickadees, canyon and spotted towhees, and pink sided and red backed juncos. Nearby fields are alive with prairie dogs, mountain bluebirds, and the occasional road runner. The campground is well laid out with small trees near most campsites. The bathroom/shower area is clean and inviting as is the pool that is heated by a solar array. Well-behaved, non-aggressive dogs are welcome. Satellite television works well, the Verizon hotspot has no signal, but the camp Wifi is sufficient for browsing and emails. Phone signals are iffy but our Wilson signal booster gives a reasonable signal on AT&T phones. This is the high desert on a working cattle ranch so there may be some dust at times and a few cattle might wander through the campground. They are gentle beasts that add to the ambiance of the place without paying much attention to the campers. The a mile long dirt road once you turn into the ranch gate is a bit bumpy but easily managed by any size rig. We’ve camped throughout the United States and this particular campsite in this campground ranks among the top 3 campsites that we’ve occupied in our travels. We would definitely come back if we are in this area again. We are camping here in a travel trailer. Our original intent was stay here for the month of April, however, we’ve liked it so well we have extended our stay through the month of May. Still here enjoying springtime in the Rockies! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$29
Advertised as having Wi-Fi but it was not available and this was one of our reasons for choosing this park. The staff was friendly and helpful, but since Wi-Fi was a requirement for us (cell phones did not work either), we chose not to stay the full month as we intended. While this park was pet friendly it was almost too friendly. Dogs were off leash and were not picked up after which spoiled the surroundings. It is remote and quiet and has a beautiful pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
If you camp in the high desert you should expect a bit of dust. If that bothers you then you should stick to the parking lot type campgrounds with their nice level cement pads. If, however, you like to get away from places like that and would like a place with the nicest people, cleanest shower/rest rooms, sparkling crystal clear cool pool, beautiful scenery and clean air then Indian Springs should be on your list of places to stay if you in this part of the country. We were there as a group of Marine Viet Nam veterans for a reunion, and the people could not have treated us better. We were there for several days and did not have the time to see and explore all there was to see and do right from the camp. It was unique and one of the most pleasant experiences we've had in a long time. Semper Fi We camped here in a Tent.
Display older reviews for Indian Springs Ranch & Campground
Camp Information
Sites
45
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$46



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   9   9   9   10   10   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$46
Clean well maintained RV park with good sized sites and great views. Many sites have concrete patios. Good ATT coverage and good free Wifi. Only complaint is with the satellite TV. We paid for a converter box but it never worked. Always complained of no satellite signal. Make sure it works in your site before you pay: no refunds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$25
Rate reflects a Passport America discount, which the owners did not really want to honor. They do not like Passport America. Nice clean park, all pull thrus. Our site did not have cable or sewer since we were PA. Other sites were premium with full hookups for which you paid a premium price. Good place to stay while touring the area. Very clean well maintained park. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$42
We stayed here in a 40 foot motor home so didn't use the restrooms or showers. They were very friendly and took us to our site and helped us get pulled in so our steps led us right out onto a concrete covered patio. This appears to be a fairly new campground close to the Royal Gorge Bridge and about 7 miles out of town. The campground is all stone, looks like crushed granite, so there is no dust. The cable is DirecTV only, however they have a very comfortable nice seating area in the office with a TV that you can watch when they are open. They are working hard to landscape and make more improvements to this park. You can't wash vehicles there but they did allow me to wash off the bugs and mud that was all over both the RV and car. We found this a good place to day trip to the Royal gorge and to the town of Cripple Creek returning to the campground via Phantom Canyon, not a road for the faint of heart. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Mountain View RV Resort
Camp Information
Sites
137
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   7   1   1   8   9   2   8   5   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  no  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  no  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
Our group spent the weekend here, sight unseen. I'm told the immediately prior owners failed within a year. Also told that it was a great Jellystone park at one time. The pool water, while cold, looked clean. Granddaughter said there were lots of critters, but it is miller season. The jump bladder was wonderful for kids. The meeting room was small but pleasant. I feel justified in saying that the new owners are overwhelmed. They don't understand rigs need to be parked so their hookup points are on the side where the power, water, etc., are. The grounds are in need of extensive grooming beyond just cutting the weeds. The sites were level. Dogs were leashed, save for the owners' which walked about. Folks with cutesy dogs were upset by the burrs, and one of our guys, used to both mountains and desert terrain, got a bad cactus sting. The water system failed for about 18 hours. Prior owners have completely failed to maintain the property, but the current ones have a potential winner. But I would have felt more positive about their chances had I seen a half dozen or more workers performing meaningful maintenance and rehab while we were there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
Prospectors is one of the coolest parks we've been to. Stayed here a couple months. My son loved the jump pillow, pool, spa and the playground. The park was very clean, big, and spacious. The only issues we had was the Wi-Fi was terrible and there were spiky cactus plants getting everywhere in the RV sticking in our feet, ouch. Still worth it, ha ha. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2013
$42
This park is a disgrace....weeds higher than the barbeques...in the driveways, and our "assigned" site had no sewer. There was no one around to help. Our site and brochure were taped to the office door. Women's restroom was locked. I spent at least a 1/2 hour looking for someone to help. A man staying in a van said no one was there today nor yesterday. He tried to call them, no answer. There were only a few people staying in the park. It was a fire hazard, to say the least. So much so, that we and another rig traveling with us decided to leave and find another RV park, even though we'd paid for the first night. It was not worth the risk of a fire from a spark under a rig or anything. Weeds were tall, dry, and it was totally unsightly. The pool had a layer of leaves and tree droppings. No help available. The brochure shows a beautiful park. It was not. I emailed them when we got home asking for a refund of our deposit but have received no word or refund. I'm shocked the county allows them to remain open in that condition. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Prospectors RV Resort
Camp Information
Sites
142
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   9   7   5   4   2   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$36
Very nice KOA. Friendly people. Clean and maintained sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$41?
This was pretty much just a place to park the RV. Nothing special, nothing to make it stand out. Restrooms were clean, laundry area was good, staff very friendly. Sites are extremely close together. wouldn't stay there again. The only reason we chose this park in the first place is because of the creepy place we initially were registered at across the street. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$52
Read reviews and had concerns, but purchased a double site and thoroughly enjoyed the campground. Staff was courteous and very helpful. Kids loved the pool and slide. Would recommend Royal Gorge KOA consider an all inclusive price for the amusements. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Royal Gorge / Canon City KOA
Camp Information
Sites
48
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   4   10   6   1   8   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
Owner/operator is very nice and tries to be helpful and accommodating. Overall the place is really clean and well maintained and even though somewhat close to a major hwy, there was really no noticeable noise. The spots are hard packed gravel and very level with easy in and out. I noticed a very nice and private tenting area that you can also tell is well maintained and noticeably separate from the RV area. The only negatives, but only for some, water pressure is very low (but still usable), no cell service (unless you have a monster booster), and camp internet is limited (but usable for email and such). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
This was our first visit and enjoyed our stay here. Roads and sites are gravel but well maintained and not dusty. We had a premium site which was a bit larger then the regular sites and worked for us. Not a lot of shade but that was not a concern as at that altitude it wasn't too hot and it made it easy to aim our satellite dish. The campground was kept clean and was well maintained. The staff and especially the owner treated us well. Our daughter visited one day with her daughter and dog and the owner explained the dog rules quickly and showed her the walking paths and exercise yard. We did pay the extra fee for extra guests but when my daughter decided to stay overnight in a tent the owner deducted that from the tent fee. Quoted price was with Good Sam discount. We will return here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
Staff (charged my cell phone) and owner (helped hook up my hitch) very helpful. Nice shade trees, clean heated pool, nice enclosed dog area with green groundcover, roads and sites crushed red gravel - very clean with no dust. No Verizon cell phone coverage. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Royal View Camp Resort
Camp Information
Sites
52
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   10   9   9   6   9   1   10   1   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2014
$14
As I entered the junk yard of old trailers for sale, on a dirt road, I realized that I was not staying in this rundown desert junk yard , I was trying to turn around to leave and a very nasty rude woman on a Segway ordered me out I explained that I was just trying to leave and she followed me out inches from my bumper, I stayed at the K O A up the street very nice, and I made it out of the starlight zone with no flat tires, LUCKY ME. I looked at reviews and they are very misleading , I think the trailer park/junk yard had their friends family review them,,, check it out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$18
We've stayed here before and chose to return because of the people here. Friendly, helpful & courteous. Everything here is CLEAN. Good Wi-Fi. Only TV is satellite. The view is amazing. Park is outside of town but close enough to access most needs. After multiple positive experiences here, I will return to this park. Price noted is with a Passport America discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$38
We stayed at the Starlite Classic Campground in July for one night. The site was shaded, spacious and level. The bathrooms were clean. The owners are great people and work hard to provide a fun unique experience. Although we did not use the pool, it looked clean and inviting. They gave us a couple of great suggestions for outdoor activities. We would stay here again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Starlite Classic Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com