206609 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Cimarron, Colorado (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
19.50 miles SW
21.84 miles SE
22.50 miles SW
23.66 miles NE
28.36 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Gunnison Lakeside Resort
488 38.444120
7.76 miles NE
Curecanti National Recrea
12.92 miles NE
Colorado
Cimarron
Most Recently Reviewed
Black Canyon RV Park and Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2012-06-27 23:06:02
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Cimarron, Colorado
Camp Information
Sites
36
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
First, park is next to highway with a great deal of daytime traffic. It does decrease considerably at night. Having said that, this is a very nice campground with spaces large enough for slide outs on both sides with lots of room between. It is a bit of a tight entry access turn if you're coming from the east, but not too bad if you're expecting it. Small laundry, adequate showers & restrooms. Beautiful views. We stayed for 6 days and would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
All sites were grass. There were some remnants of very old gravel. I question the number of pull through sites they claim. I could not count them that way. Staff was friendly and helpful. Not really good for big rigs. They said they were mostly a hunting camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
Nice spacious sites with a grill and picnic table. The showers and bathrooms were nice and clean. The campground is at an elevation that provided great relief from the summer heat. The view to the south of the campground is spectacular. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
21
Date of Stay
July 2011
Latest Rate
$6



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$6
This public campground is part of Curecanti National Recreation Area: Blue Mesa. It is 20 miles east of Montrose. The sites for our 40' motorhome and Jeep were very narrow and short. We fit on #5 but it was tight. There aren't any pull-throughs but there are a few pull-along-side-of-the-road sites. The sites are paved and easy access just off Hwy 50. There is a dump station with water fill. The restroom had flush toilets but no showers. There are some trees. It was a scenic area and there's a very nice short hiking trail along the water at the nearby dam area but you have to drive to it. It was a good overnighter but with our long motorhome we'd probably stay at Elk campground next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$12
This is a rustic, small campground that is administered from the National Park Service and belongs to the Curecanti National Recreation Area. The campground is located in a narrow valley, surrounded from steep mountains. There is only one paved loop road. Some sites are paved, some are gravel. Only a few sites are barely long enough for a 40 ft motorhome. Our site was perfectly level. You can only dry camp here, but there is a dump station a few hundred yards away that belongs to the campground. There is no shower. During the day it is noisy from Hwy. 50, but during the night it was quiet. The distance to the neighbors is bigger than on most commercial campgrounds. The price drops to $6 per night if you have a golden access pass or if you are over 62 (Interactive Senior/Access Pass). Unfortunately the campground looks run down, otherwise I would have rated it one point higher. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
15
Date of Stay
July 2011
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
When we first arrived at the park there were only 3 sites taken. The voltage was low so we hooked up our power booster and that seemed to help. By the time Friday rolled around all the sites were full and after everyone started hooking up to the power our power protector kept going on and off. The voltage was below 102 volts too many times to count. Low power is a good way to kill your AC and refrigerator. We kept our refrigerator and water heater on propane the whole time we were there. We unplugged the power and didn’t turn it back on until later on in the evenings. The same thing happened again on Saturday and Sunday. The owner was aware of the problem. The water pressure was at 55 psi and we didn’t have any problems with the sewer. The site was almost level so there were no problems leveling her out. No Verizon cell or internet service. There is Wi-Fi in the store/cafe but it was slow. We were able to get our dome satellite in which was nice so we didn’t have to set up the portable dish. This is a very rustic campground with the Little Cimmaron River right behind the back in site. It’s a pretty park, with gravel sites among large cottonwood trees. The park is close to a VERY busy highway 50 so the only way you can get away from some of the noise is to sit right next to the river. As a day trip we drove up to Silver Jack Reservoir on a good, paved, (21 miles) hard packed dirt road. Wildflowers were beautiful along the road beyond the entrance to Silver Jack Campground (forest service). Just past the campground back on the main road is the Silver Jack Overlook. Picture postcard views of the reservoir along with the majestic mountains, well worth the drive and it was a nice place for a picnic while you’re there. Due to the power problems and road noise we wouldn’t stay here again. In fact we couldn’t wait to get out of there. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
We loved this campground! Beautiful setting with tall shade trees and campsites along the river. Some of my family has been camping here for years, and now I see why. The sites are gravel and pretty level, and each site has a picnic table and fire ring. The store has basic groceries and gas, along with some cook to order food and fresh pies, and the owners are great. It's a short walk to their pond with paddle boats. There is only one shower, but it was available the times I went to use it. Some of our group stayed in two of the cabins - clean and comfortable. It was a nice option for those without an RV. We had 5 campsites and 2 cabins to accommodate our group (18 in all), and we all would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$23
This is a very quiet, relaxed, small RV park/campground. There are few amenities, but it was a great place to just hang out and relax. Lots of trees, but you could put up a satellite. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Small store with gas and propane available. We will certainly return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
58
Date of Stay
July 2011
Latest Rate
$7


Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
question
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$7
One of our all time favorites. In the area of the Silver Jack reservoir. 20 miles of gravel/dirt road to get there, but campground is paved. Beautiful groves of Aspen. Water available at faucet, clean vault restrooms. Closest dump station is at Cimarron Visitor Center campground on highway 50, 20 miles away. Access to lots of back country hiking, Jeeping. Price reflects use of Senior Pass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com