206922 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Dolores, Colorado (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
8.46 miles SW
10.96 miles SE
22.01 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Anasazi Heritage Center
2.51 miles NW
City Park
Cortez
7.36 miles SW
La Mesa Rv
970) 565-3610
7.47 miles SW
Super Wal-Mart
1835 E Main
7.66 miles SW
Homesteaders
8.27 miles SW
Cortez - Montezuma County
12.92 miles SW
Colorado
Dolores
Most Recently Reviewed
McPhee Reservoir/ Complex
Latest Review Submited On
2013-10-18 02:00:13
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Dolores, Colorado
Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   10   7   8   8   10   10   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
What a beautiful campground. On Dolores River with a pond, very clean and well kept. Very nice friendly owners. Wi-Fi worked perfect. Absolutely plan to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$36
Great place, great owners! The park was neat as a pin, clean as a whistle. Cable TV worked great, WiFi was outstanding. Free coffee and conversation in the office every morning. Very convenient to Telluride, 4 Corners, etc. Very dog friendly! Thank you for a wonderful stay, we will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
A great place to stay. We were only able to stay here one night, but we'll definitely plan a longer stay next time. The new owners are friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Dolores River Campground
Camp Information
Sites
15
Date of Stay
May 2011
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$15
This is a forest service campground. The road to this campground is paved and in good condition. Quite a few of the campsites are along the Dolores River and some of them are big enough for large motor homes. Some of the sites could accommodate 40' motorhomes. The sites have a picnic table and a fire ring. There are 5 electric (30Amp) sites. 15-E is a first come electric site. There are other first come non-electric sites available too. The sound of the river can be heard throughout this pretty campground. Sites appeared to be fairly level, water faucets located around campground loop and trash pickup is provided. TV satellite reception (dome) might come in at some sites, but probably better with a portable dish. This appeared to be a nice quiet little campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   6   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$14
The price was right with a senior pass and the location good for visiting Anasazi Heritage Center, Hovenweep National Monument and Canyon of the Ancients. Sites widely spaced with electric, picnic table. Negatives were that since season was about to end in late September, no reservations could be made, the showers were not available and the Pinon Loop was closed off. All sites we tried were very difficult to level. We picked up TV channels via antenna and AT&T cellular. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
The pull-through sites are narrow and very close to the loop road. We had to put an orange cone out as our slide was right on the edge. No water hookups and all the water spigots in the park, including at the dump station, are plain ends - no threads for attaching hose to fill water tanks! Very inconvenient! Park Hosts were very nice and sympathetic regarding water connectors, but could only offer access to their spigot at the host site. Other than these two items, the park is nice and was a good stopover point for visits to Mesa Verde and other tourist sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$10
West of Dolores about 8 miles where the campground is on a hilltop with a nearby overlook grand view of surrounding mountains and lake reservoir. Campground has paved sites and roads. There are several toilet houses without showers and several non-threaded water faucets scattered about campground. Dump near entrance. Fee $10 with Golden Passport. We saw several deer and jackrabbits. Nearby, toward Dolores, is the Anasazi heritage museum-center which is a 10+ excellent exceptional museum beautifully setup. Should be a AAA GEM. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for McPhee Reservoir/ Complex
Camp Information
Sites
76
Date of Stay
July 2010
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
BE AWARE: There are some discrepancies on the prices as far as what the website says, what ReserveAmerica says, and what you find out when you get here. There are only 4 sites with full hook-ups and you have to pay $25/night for these. There are also about 16 electric only sites. When you make a reservation through ReserveAmerica, they only collect the basic fee; be prepared to pay for other services when you get here. This is a very nice, quiet park in beautiful SW Colorado. Even on a summer weekend the park was almost empty. The host was very helpful and sells firewood and ice. A short drive down the hill is the reservoir. About 6 miles away is a convenience store where you can pick up bait and a fishing license (It's the Phillips gas station). Dolores is small and Cortez is about 12 miles away, do try to come with all you need. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$15
This is the new McPhee Recreation Complex, run by the USDA Forest Service (not the old House Creek campground which is on the other side of the reservoir). The sites vary in size, but some are large enough for 40' MH. Boat ramp is a short drive from the campground. Campground has nice trails with incredible views over the reservoir (500 feet below) and some Colorado peaks. Only four full hookups, 16 with electric and some with water. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
This is a wonderful campground in the San Juan Forest near Delores and is very convenient to Mesa Verde National Park. There are only two sites with full hook ups. These rent for $25 a night. Eighteen sites have electrical hook ups and cost $20. Sites with no hook ups are $15. Golden Passport holders get $7.50 off. Reservations can be made and are recommended for the full hookups and for people who just have to have electricity. The park rarely fills so you stand a good chance of getting a site without reservations. There are flush toilets and pay showers. Each of the two loops have hosts who are very friendly and helpful. I loved this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
97
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   9   10   10   9   10   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
Priest Gulch is one of the nicest parks I have ever stayed in. We were there for 2 weeks, on the Dolores River and it was GREAT. Nice and quite and all the Priest Gulch personnel were very helpful. Due to fire restrictions, there were no camp fires in the park. Great place to explore southwest Colorado. I would tell ALL of my friends that it is the best park around. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
We love, love, love this park! We've stayed here several times (maybe 7 or so) for a week or two at a time. The grounds are beautifully kept. The spaces are level and shady. The staff is super nice. However, some upgrade on the Wi-Fi is required. We are NOT "unplugged" kind of people. And with more and more guests using the Wi-Fi in the park these days, the Wi-Fi is becoming unbearable. Wouldn't stop us from staying here again and again, it's just the only thing needing improvement. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$38
We really love this park. Beautiful location, great staff. On the river, wide spaces, some with grass. Tables, fire ring, free firewood. Neat custom of having guests paint rocks (paint in the office) and leave them in the rock garden. Only complaint was the Wi-Fi. Weak, and often down. It was a problem throughout the park, no matter what device you were using or location in the park. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Priest Gulch Campground & RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
18
Date of Stay
June 2011
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$15
Located up forest route 535 on a paved road this pretty campground has some sites with 30 amp power. Some sites are more out in the open and others are along side of the West Dolores River. We stayed in site #1 (non-electric) which was along the river and very private. It was a huge site with a picnic table and fire ring/grill. We loved this site and it was on the reservation system. The site faces south and we were able to get our dome satellite in. Didn’t see any mosquito's, just lots of butterflies and hummingbirds. The camp hosts, were friendly and very knowledgeable of the area. The bathrooms are located at the far end of the campground. Water is available with a threaded faucet and there is trash service. The closest dump station is Dolores River RV Park in the town of Dolores or Priest Gulch RV Park which is just off of hwy. 145, 35 miles north of Dolores. No cell service here. Great campground!! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com