218901 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Durango, Colorado (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
13.74 miles E
13.74 miles E
18.60 miles SE
26.93 miles SE
28.67 miles SE
28.67 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Fort Lewis College
0.59 miles SW
Lori'S Family Dining
1.71 miles W
Carver Brewing Co
2.19 miles SW
Red Snapper
2.26 miles SW
Durango & Silverton Narrow
2.39 miles SW
Ariano'S Italian Restau
2.41 miles SW
Franciso's
2.41 miles SW
Durango Area Chamber Res
3.34 miles SW
Santa Rita Park
Durango
3.46 miles SW
Super Wal-Mart
1155 S Camino Del Rio
3.83 miles SW
Tarpley RV
4.15 miles SW
Trimble Hot Spr, Stratten Warm Spr 97
7.01 miles N
La Plata County Airport
7.49 miles SE
Tripp Hot Springs 111
7.63 miles N
Bar D Chuckwagon Suppers
7.74 miles NE
Pinkerton Hot Springs 90
11.52 miles NE
Tamarron Resort
14.43 miles N
Sky Ute Casino & Lodge
15.99 miles SE
Sky Ute 14826 Hwy. 172 No. Ignacio Co 81137 970-563-3000 (Located To Zip)
17.43 miles SE
Colorado
Durango
Most Recently Reviewed
Haviland Lake, San Juan National Forest
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-22 20:39:14
10 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Durango, Colorado
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   8   5   10   1   9   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$38
This is our second visit and it is a beautiful park. If they aren't full you can choose a sunny site in the front or shaded in the trees. They have a two acre dog park so your dogs can get good exercise. All the buildings are in beautiful shape and spotless. We will certainly stay here whenever we pass through Durango. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$38
5th time and will be back next year. Everything worked great: hookups, fast Wi-Fi. Restrooms,showers were spotless. Breakfast $7.00 is all you can eat and the French toast is a must. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$53
This is a beautiful park. Large pull-through spaces and plenty of room to maneuver. The older area has smaller spaces but is absolutely gorgeous with huge shade trees. The restrooms and showers were immaculate. The all you can eat breakfast was great. The location is perfect for enjoying Durango as it is far enough out of town to avoid the traffic and close enough to be very convenient. This is the most customer service oriented RV park we have stayed at. Every contact with the employees was very pleasant and they were very helpful. There is a huge fenced off-lease dog park. They even have an on site RV repairman. We look forward to our next stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Alpen Rose RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
57
Date of Stay
July 2009
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
question
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$39
This is a bare bones campground. We arrived in Durango with no reservations. Called a couple of campgrounds and they were all full. We were told by one of the campgrounds that Cottonwood did have sites available. We called: and the they did. We arrived to be greeted by a very nice lady and her husband. They let us have our pick of the sites. The park is old, and dusty, but quiet. The only problem that I had was the price: extremely over priced. But beggars can't be choosers. We would probably not stay here again: only because of the price. it would be a nice stopping place at about $20 per night. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   10   10   6   6   10   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$50
We stayed three nights to tour Durango/Silverton and Mesa Verde NP. Sites are level, but close together. The sites are gravel/dirt so there was some dust; it didn't rain, which could have been a problem. The camp is close to the highway, but traffic noise was minimal. Pizza and breakfast are offered at a reasonable price. Facilities were excellent. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$38
Very nice campground with full hookups and good wide spaces with grass between sites. Staff/owners were very friendly and very helpful. Although it is close to the road, noise was very low. At dusk we saw some deer in the field next to the RV park. Nice pool, miniature golf, and facilities. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$39
We rarely stay at a KOA due to cost and our disinterest in most amenities, but this one looked like one of the cheapest RV parks in the Durango area. It's about 7 miles south of town, up a long grade, going by all the big box stores. The host was ready for us when we arrived and his partner drove us to our site, which was a nice back in with full hookups including cable. We ended up using our over-the-air antenna for the limited channels of interest to us. A person on neighboring property with a dirt motorcycle was a little worrisome but was not a problem. We stayed here to ride the Durango-Silverton train. We didn't try the internet as we had our Verizon card. The rate shown includes sales tax and is the single night rate. We stayed two days and would stay here again were we in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Durango KOA
Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$47



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   10   8   8   9   6   8   8   6   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$47
The park was clean and the staff very friendly. The spaces are very close together but there is lots of shade. The observation deck on the river is nice to sit and watch and listen to the river flow by. I thought it was a bit expensive. I did not visit the ice cream shop or the pool. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$54
We really enjoyed our stay at this park. The park is all gravel and minor leveling was necessary on our riverfront site. The view of mountains and water was amazing, and the river was up due to the recent rains. The gravel roads held up very well considering the amount of rain received. The bathrooms were very clean. Staff was friendly, helpful and responsive. The park is very quiet at night and well off the highway. We had strong Verizon signal and had no problem with satellite TV reception. The park also has cable TV with many channels and a great picture. Although we did not use the heated pool, it is beautifully landscaped and maintained. Park is convenient to visit Silverton and Ouray as well as Durango. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
Staying here on the river. Not very level and had to use several blocks just to get level. In fact, quite a few rigs here have had to get their front ends off the ground to get level. Staff friendly, gravel sites with good electricity. Free WiFi but gets slow in evening as everybody is on it. Our site was only 40 feet long by 12 feet wide. Won't stay here again when passing thru. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Durango Riverside Resort & RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
36
Date of Stay
November 2012
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   9   4   3   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2012
$1
Pulled in on Thanksgiving Day; no one was around. Phone didn't even work; tried to call and got disconnected. The other reviewers are right, it's pretty much of a dump with long-termers that looked like oil field workers. As it's the only park in town open during the winter, I went on to the next town. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
We have stayed at Durango RV park for four different summer vacations from 2001 to 2010, and it's always good to return to a safe familiar place. It's like our home away from home. We tow our Jeep and take full advantage of the trails and views within our daily range. We have enjoyed the scenery on US-550 dozens of times to Silverton and Ouray and if you're really brave, don't miss the Alpine loop. If you're really really brave, test your Jeep's endurance and driving skills from Telluride over Imogene Pass to Ouray. Enjoy the scenic trails in LaPlata Canyon. Visit the Telluride hydro plant and the Ames or Ouray hydro plants. At the end of the day, have dinner at the Silverton Brown Bear or the dozens of restaurants in Durango. Durango RV Park has lots with trees and shade and a mountain view where you can see the weather conditions all the way to Engineer Mountain. Your camp site is a private and quiet place where you can enjoy your lawn chairs with no bugs and no smoke from campfires. Enjoy the hummingbirds, flowers, farm, mining and industrial antiques at an old-iron lover's paradise. Easy access to shopping at Aztec, Farmington, Cortez, Durango, Bayfield or Ignatio. It's in the middle of it all with low monthly rates, friendly hosts, an easy path to DirecTV or Dish Network, DSL phone connections, laundry and mail. If you are into skiing or other winter fun, they are open all year. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2009
$28
This is more of workers park with many permanent type trailers. Folks where friendly and no bathrooms at the time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Durango Year Round RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
43
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   9   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$15
Come with water in your tank. Water restrictions in effect. They asked us not to fill our tank. Stop at hosts' sites and register before entering campground. Easy access, all sites wind around on hillside. Mostly level. A few lake sites. Roads in bad shape, drive slow. Vault toilets in good shape, clean, little or no smell. Beautiful lake. Nice to have electric in NF. Would stay again. We were in a small rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$19
If you are looking for a cushy park with lots of amenities, this is not the place for you. We didn't have reservations, but the park holds a few sites for first come first serve. We found a spot that our RV would fit in although there were no utilities. You can run a generator between 8am and 10pm. The weather is nice and cool and the park is so quiet. We slept with the windows open and the weather was perfect for it. Would definitely stay here again. If you want a spot on the lake, with power, be sure to go to the website and reserve it well in advance because they stay pretty booked up in the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Very nice dry camping campground. NO WATER connections for any type of hose, so no re-filling or topping off RV water tanks. Very clean and very well maintained. Only downside is if you are not comfortable with narrow roads, as they are indeed narrow if your are in a large motorhome as we were. We stayed one night while passing through and would stay again if needed place to stop and were prepared to dry camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Haviland Lake, San Juan National Forest
Camp Information
Sites
44
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$15
Beautiful campground in the Ponderosa of the San Juan National Forest about 6 miles from Durango (1.5 miles of gravel road). 31 sites can be reserved; 14 with electricity. Friendly camp hosts keep the modern vault toilets very clean. Basic rate is $19/night (half off with Senior, Access pass) plus $5 for electricity (no discount on that). Great hiking from the campground, including the southern terminus of the Colorado Trail. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
This is one of the nicest Forest Service campgrounds we've ever stayed in. The volunteers are wonderful. It's nice and quiet, and we were blessed with sightings of deer and brown bear from our breakfast room table on more than on occasion. Can't recommend this campground highly enough. Will always choose this campground over the more expensive and less camper friendly places in Durango. (Been stopping in the Durango area for the past 35 years) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$18
A nice NF CG just a few miles west of Durango. If you don't like dirt roads or some washboard then stay away. But if you can get past that and like a quiet spot in the woods but close to town this is a great hidden gem. It is about 5 miles outside of town and the pavement ends about 2 miles before the CG. They are supposed to scrape the road twice a year but the hosts said that they hadn't done it this year as of June... (no surprise as the washboard was pretty bad in spots) There is one loop with electric sites. Most are heavy treed but you can still get satellite from some. The vault toilets were spotless and the host were very engaged and super friendly. They stopped by each night to check up on us and inform us as to the fire restrictions. I thought my wife was not going to like it due to the dirt roads but it turned out to be one of her favorites and we wound up staying a week making day trips to Mesa Verde, Telluride and Silverton. I give it a 10 for location. I took away points due to the dirt roads. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   1   8   8   10   9   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$36
This was a relatively quiet stay of 5 nights away from the highway. The facility was nearly full always. The sites are rather close together, many not level and some maneuvering was tight. The staff was very friendly, escorted us to the site and assisted with backing in. Some sites, like ours, were water and electric only. So the use of the dump station is necessary. This is my biggest criticism: when your are positioned to use the dump station, the access to a significant portion of the west end sites is blocked and your rig is parked on a slope. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$39
We enjoyed this park very much even though cell phone coverage (AT&T) was pretty sparse in the park. WiFi was och at the office but poor inside the park. Restrooms and showers were pretty much spotless, and the campsites were kept neat and clean. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2014
$55
No wifi as listed on this site. No cable. Located far from Durango about a 15 minute drive not 5 miles as stated. Cancelled on arrival after learning of these issues, they charged an extra $5.00 to cancel because I booked online. AVOID! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Lightner Creek Campground
Camp Information
Sites
103
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   9   10   10   8   9   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
Great park on the river with some view sites. The steam train passes through the park six times a day to great fanfare. If you miss the turn, go around the block to avoid a tight u turn. There is very little dog walking in the area. The free shuttle goes to town three times per hour. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$39
This is a great campground to stay at if you like trains, as the Durango-Silverton steam train passes right through the middle of the campground several times a day. If you like sleeping in past 8:00, however, this is not the park for you, as you will be woken up when the train comes through. Wifi works well (I measured the speed at 8 megabits at one point), as long as you are located near the laundry room where their one hotspot is located. If internet access is important to you, ask for a site in that area. There are reports that sometimes speeds will get bogged down at peak times. The map distributed at check-in says the pool is open until 9 pm, and I was disappointed to learn that that is only true during peak season (starting around July 4th). During my stay, it closed at 8 pm. They need to do a better job communicating this fact to campers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
This park is right on the Durango-Silverton Railroad with the train passing right through the camp. The restrooms are clean and the camp is well maintained. There is a small pool and the owners are friendly. Overall it is a nice place. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for United Campground of Durango
Camp Information
Sites
26
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   2   6   2   6   7   5   4   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  no  no  no  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  no  no  no  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
This is a lovely, quiet, smaller RV park. The mgr, Bob, was very nice and helpful. The spaces are nice and wide for full slide and awning extension, level, with gravel pads and grass between each site. There is a nice laundry room. Half the sites are OK for satellite reception. There are no shower facilities, but if you are fully self contained, this is a nice place. WiFi worked great. Hot springs across the street at half price. Grocery store, small strip center five minute walk. Camped here in a 42ft Country Coach with jeep. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2013
$38
Wow! What a rip-off! My experience here was so disappointing, I joined the forum. The spaces are SUPER close. They didn't plow the snow in the park, thus the snow was packed into ice. There are no showers or bathrooms. If I didn't need the electric heat, I would have boondocked. The couple good things about Westerly is that it's open in the winter, and the wifi is pretty good. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2012
$41
We pulled into Durango in late November and this park was pretty much the only game in town, as the rest of the parks had closed their doors for the season. Weather was gorgeous so they all shut slightly early if you ask me. In any event, this is really a no-frills park. It did have Wi-Fi which worked well. Park, at this time of the year, was filled with mostly longer-term folks with ample spots for people staying short time. Site was level and long enough for our 40' coach and tow car. Mineral spa across the street which you get a 50% coupon for being a guest at Westerly. We did use it, which was nice. Close to road and train so a bit of road noise but not bad at night. Friendly park host. Neighbors were a bit noisy late at night as well. Market and hardware store right across street (within walking distance), and close to golf course. This is okay for an overnight stay, but we felt the price was too steep for what was received, which was basically a parking slab with a Wi-Fi signal. Charged $1 for the dog as well - and I'm sure he didn't use any of their non-existent amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Westerly RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com