217870 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Grand Lake, Colorado (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
9.36 miles SW
17.42 miles E
17.55 miles E
17.63 miles NE
21.59 miles SE
25.77 miles SE
26.66 miles NE
32.93 miles SE
33.91 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Caroline'S Cuisine
1.72 miles SW
E G'S Garden Grill
3.27 miles NE
Longbranch & Schatzi'S P
9.86 miles SW
Silver Creek Ski Area
11.65 miles SW
Colorado
Grand Lake
Most Recently Reviewed
Elk Creek Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-16 15:39:34
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Grand Lake, Colorado
Camp Information
Sites
72
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   8   9   9   10   8   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$36
Stayed here for 12 days in mid August. A camper in this area needs to understand the choices. For a Big Rig and large 5th Wheel rigs there are two commercial campgrounds. For smaller rigs there are multiple campgrounds commercial and NP operated. This campground serves all types, tents, small and big rigs including cabins to rent. That said, the rate is based on 1 week + 5 days at daily rate. Taxes are high for visitors. This campground is built on a hill, with hard pan packed dirt interior roads that the wet weather is starting to create ruts in. The sites (all back-in) with fine dirt/gravel base are terraced into the hill in a long oval loop with a semi circle at the top. Because of the incline on which the park is built, there is side to side level issues that need to be considered. Almost everyone has blocks under the wheels, but no one has wheels off the ground. There is heavy vegetation, willow bushes, pine trees and tall grasses, that separate the sites so there is a real feel of privacy. Many sites are booked well in advance because of the proximity to the NP so you are not going to just "drop in" for a stay of any length. There are guests who come for the season and the 20 FHU sites are taken up quickly. The rest of the 34 sites are W/E only. They have 4 overflow electric only sites on the flat in the front of the park for short term. For every 5 days they have a very efficient free Honey Wagon service, otherwise it is $15 per dump and a signup is needed. Having said that, I called 3 weeks in advance and the owner worked very hard to get my 40 foot rig into the same site for the whole time. I asked for 14 days, and she worked out 12. The site (RV 20)is adequate, but narrow once my slides are extended. There really wasn't any room for spending time outdoors once we moved to the uphill side to obtain a level surface. Other sites (FHU) we have seen are configured a little differently and seemed to have more "patio" area so there was more room to extend and awning and put out chairs. The restrooms are very clean, the showers are a single long hall with a floor to ceiling door to close for privacy and immaculate, but there is no place to sit. There are 3 washers and 3 dryers for 50 sites plus cabins plus tent sites. They have a completely separate area for tents and the cabins, which we found satisfying. This location is has (moose) wildlife that frequent the grounds and it is well to consider that when coming. We travel as full timers completely self contained so Wi-Fi is not required from the parks we stay in, neither is TV, so I can't comment on those services. What we look for is satellite access for these services from the roof of our rig. So few/no trees to the southeast are more important to us. This park has that. I can tell you it is a magnificent outdoor natural environment which if all the sites had full hookups, probably would get a higher rating from me. The owners work hard and will accommodate any reasonable request. The town of Grand Lake is very close as is the entrance to the Rocky Mountain National Park. This is why we chose it. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$42
Excellent base camp to visit the great views in Rocky Mountain National Park. Our 45' rig had no problems in and out of Site 19. Wi-Fi was very good, using a Super 3 Antenna Booster. AT&T phone worked great. Owners were very friendly and willing to help in any way. The place to stay in Grand Lake, CO. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
Very friendly and helpful owners. Very rustic campground, but well maintained. Resident wildlife. Water was turned off due to freezing, but they let us fill up from the garden hose. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Elk Creek Campground
Camp Information
Sites
129
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$11



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   9   8   7   10   8   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$11
The rate reflects a 50% senior discount for a non-hookup site. This is National Forest Service Campground manged by a concessionaire. Based on what we had read and imagined, we thought that Lake Granby would be this quite, remote Forest Service lake. It is not; the lake and the area are heavily developed, so don't expect a wilderness experience. That being said, the area is still very nice with beautiful views. This campground is pretty much devoid of trees, but that does make for some good views. The sites have some separation but, because of the lack of vegetation, there is no privacy. There is also some road noise from the adjacent highway. This is the one campground on the lake with a dump station. There is also fresh water at the dump station, but, for some unknown reason you have to attach your hose to a tap that is about 7 feet up. Perhaps this is a temporary issue. Our Verizon phone and data were very strong. We had no problem with satellite since there are almost no trees. We did not stay at this campground our allotted time of 8 nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
The rate is $25 for an electrical site, plus the $7 NFS day use fee. This is our second time here, the first being a few years ago before it was clear cut due to the pine bark beetle infestation. While I do wish the trees were still there, the 360 degree view of the mountain ranges with the lake in the foreground is in a word - spectacular. It is a few miles from Grand Lake and the west park entrance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$22
Gorgeous views of Lake Granby and the Rockies from almost every site in this National Forest campground. Verizon signal was usable. It's about ten minutes drive to the town of Grand Lake, otherwise there's not much in the immediate area. There was no potable water at the dump station when we visited, but some sites in the middle (toward the peak of the hill) have water and electric. Widely spaced sites and most are level. Overall, very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Stillwater Campground
Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   7   8   7   6   9   9   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$48
The back pull-through spots are very quiet. However, they are not level. There were potholes and ditch marks in sites 119-129. I saw one big rig with its front wheels off the ground. Our site was 4" off level sideways. Otherwise this was a nice park. The view of the Indian Peaks Wilderness is spectacular. All the pine trees in the area are dead, so the scenery isn't that great. You cross the bridge and you are in the Rocky Mountain National Park. The restrooms are dated but clean. Moose and elk right near the RV park. They had a road grader smooth out the interior roads, I don't know why they didn't work on the pull through spots. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
This park is wonderful! It is very large and scenic. All people that work here are very friendly and helpful. Plenty of activities and fantastic access to Rocky Mountain National Park. Easy access and roads. Will definitely stay here again and recommend it as often as we can! I am not sure of the rate we paid, but it was totally worth whatever it was!!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$41
This campground is sort of a cross between a dude ranch and an RV park. There are lots of great activities for families: horseback riding, chuck wagon dinners and breakfasts, petting farm, fishing, etc. The park caters to horse owners and there are many sites with corrals for campers who bring their horses and ride the many trails. The park is bounded by the North Fork of the Colorado River and Rocky Mtn Natl Park. You can rent ATV's, go hiking into the Park, see moose: all without leaving the park. Sites with sewer are limited to about 5 or 6 near the front of the park and 30 or so in the back of the park in a meadow. The meadow sites were not attractive to us and we were lucky enough to stay up front. There's no mowing of grass so the sites tend to be overgrown. They were also uneven and tough to get level in our big rig. The roads are dirt and not well maintained; lots of pot holes and rough spots. Nevertheless, Winding River is well-managed, full of friendly staff and located in a beautiful spot. We stayed here in our big rig and would stay again. One note: If you forward mail to this resort, you must use General Delivery in Grand Lake as the Postmaster there will return mail addressed to individuals at Winding River Resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Winding River RV Resort
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com