206922 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Howard, Colorado (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
4.36 miles SE
10.90 miles SE
13.74 miles NW
14.37 miles NW
18.22 miles SW
25.19 miles NW
30.72 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Swissvale Warm Springs 82
4.79 miles NW
Wellsville Warm Spring 91
5.80 miles NW
Rpi- Co Cutty'S Resort Hayden Creek 3428 Hayden Creek Rd Coaldale Fcfs
6.39 miles SE
Country Bounty
11.56 miles NW
Super Wal-Mart
7865 W Hwy 50
11.66 miles NW
City Park
Salida
11.71 miles NW
Colorado
Howard
Most Recently Reviewed
Pleasant Valley RV Park of Howard
Latest Review Submited On
2013-08-07 22:12:49
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Howard, Colorado
Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
This is a really cute park. It's got about 20 spots, all spread out, (#1-4 are by far the best, try for those), cabins, hotel, etc. Easy hookups, in the right place and more importantly out of the way when you are getting backed in. Not all spots are big rig capable, but certainly a good percentage of them are. (We camped here in a 45' motorhome.) It's on the river side of the highway, most spots are within 50' of the river and none are really further away than 150'. They have a cowboy singalong with BBQ on Saturday nights. (We did not attend, but they had a good turnout.) It's confusing as to which place it is when you initially pull in, but its becomes pretty obvious. Super nice people, very clean campground, restrooms were very clean, showers were decently clean. Great place to walk your dogs along the river on both sides. If you get up early in the morning and walk a bit, you can see the elk coming down to drink at the river. It needs a store. Doesn't have to be huge, but needs silly snacks, camping stuff, etc. I was told that they were leasing out a building to a restaurant operator in August and would have a restaurant operating soon. You should verify. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
We stayed here last August for a month and came back this year to spend the summer! Along the Arkansas river, in the country. Great hosts, very friendly. They put on a Cowboy dinner, complete with a wagon ride and cowboy singing and line dancing. Not fancy, but comfortable, quiet and relaxing. Also have motel rooms and 3 cabins. Close to Salida and many attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$14
The owners here are the best we have ever met. He bent over backwards to accommodate us for a pull through that they do not have, normally. Since they were not full, we actually took up 2 spaces. Sites 1-4 are along the river and it was a great night's stay. This RV Park is not the best but hookups were great and if you stay in 1-4, you will like it. We were here only 1 night. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Bandera's Bunkhouse
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
I did not see any tent sites, but they do have a hotel attached. It's not a very big park, maybe 20 to 30 RV spots, about half big rig capable. Tricky though, you had to work at some, but everyone got in. Most motorhomes had to disconnect their towed vehicle down below then drive it up. There were two 36 foot plus 5th wheels on site also, it is possible. Nice and well trimmed trees throughout so you can get some nice shade. Super super super nice manager, came by at least once a day, see if we needed anything, trying very hard. The website is AWFUL. Truly bad. The sewer and electric are where you expect, but the water hookups are at one end of each site. You need 50 to 75 feet of hose to get to it so be prepared. The site goes up a hill, so you get a view no matter what and are not just staring at your neighbor. However, it means you don't have lots of space side to side to put tables out. But they willingly brought picnic tables around to put in front/behind of your rig and you used the parking area as your flat spot. it worked fine. 50 amp service, Wi-Fi is hit or miss. It worked one night then didn't work the 2nd night after a teenager showed up next to us. The attached restaurant has a really good breakfast (huge portions, huge!) and a reasonable dinner. There is no store. There is a laundromat, and they own property on the river side, you just have to walk about 200 feet down and across the highway (not a big deal) to the river to fish. The public bathrooms were mostly clean, the showers were tiny and short and tiles were missing on the floor. Real nice new playground on very level ground. Plenty of room to park extra vehicles down below. Gravel roads, and I was really worried about mud, but it rained hard for over an hour one day and within 30 minutes the entire place was dry again. Lots of road base on the roads, no worry about mud. Some sites are more level than others, bring blocks. Fee reflects 10 percent discount for new customers. (plus you get 10 percent off your meals at the restaurant) and it's easily $10 to $15 cheaper than most in the area. Very quiet, especially as the traffic winds down on the highway at dusk. Lots of trails go up the hills you can go explore and let the dogs loose. I tried this campground because of the earlier review. I wanted to give a new business a chance. They just need better (more) management and attention to detail to finish the updating to improve their score We camped here in a 45 foot rig and would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
I think most folks will be surprised to see all the improvements that have been made in this park! It had not been kept up in years past, but, the new owners (transplanted Texans!)have managed to make it pleasant and affordable! Good spacing between sites with 50amp service (I'm camped here in a 26 ft travel trailer) and room for slide outs. While not on the river, they do have river access and a cabin for rent right on the river. They do offer a lot of discounts and are thinking for lowering their rates even further to help build the park back up! Pet friendly, kid friendly and very nice owners! I plan on staying all summer since they do not charge for electricity! Clean restrooms with showers and yummy home style cooking at the cafe with discounts for campers! Although I wouldn't call it a "resort" by RV standards, it is a darn good bargain for the area! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
55
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   9   8   10   7   9   10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
A new owner, but very friendly and helpful. A great park to sit/lay back and recharge your batteries. The Arkansas River flows by with deer almost every day in the area. They are working on cell phone service. Great spaces with grass to walk on and enjoy life. My 37.5 foot 5th wheel can fit in any space. The closest town is Salida, CO. and is about 12 miles to the west. I would tell everybody to stop by and enjoy the stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$29
We were welcomed by a very friendly staff/owner. Nice pull-through space, good Wi-Fi. Cell phone reception is spotty for Verizon but usable. Less expensive than staying in Salida and more trees. Lots of full-timers just leave their units here for the winter but there were plenty of transient spots available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
Pleasant Valley is a GREAT RV park. The only thing that keeps it from being a 10 is that there is no cable. The temp. is great with a nice afternoon cloud cover that really keeps it cool. The staff and RVers are friendly and always have something going on. Your just a few steps from the Arkansas River which is a real plus for the fishermen. I'm thinking about coming back next year and staying for a month or two. I would tell any and everybody that this is a great park with a great location. If ya have kids, you might wanna keep on traveling. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Pleasant Valley RV Park of Howard
Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
July 2010
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
question
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
This is a small, basic park located about 15 miles from Salida. There are about 12 sites for RVs and a separate area for tents. Roads and sites are packed dirt. Sites were fairly level. Maneuvering into the sites was a little tricky, but do-able. Bathrooms and showers were very clean. There are two washers and three dryers that were reasonably priced. Verizon aircard and cell phone do not work in this area but work in the city of Salida. The owners take pride in their small campground and you can see it in the flowers beds that separate some of the sites. Even though the park is located right off the highway, it was quiet at night. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
I can't believe no one's rated this place yet! I think I've found a hidden jewel and I'm not real sure I want the word to get out. How many places do you stay in that actually has a stream running right down the middle of it? The grounds are being constantly kept up. And the owner's wife can usually be found planting bulbs. If you want a peaceful, quiet, well kept campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com