223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Mosca, Colorado (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
12.81 miles NW
15.17 miles SW
17.87 miles SE
26.06 miles N
-Other Nearby Points-
Amoco Truck Stop
Hooper
11.91 miles NW
Great Sand Dunes Nation
11.99 miles NE
True Grits Steakhouse
14.86 miles SW
Super Wal-Mart
333 Clark St
15.27 miles SW
Adams State College
15.76 miles SW
Colorado
Mosca
Most Recently Reviewed
San Luis State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-29 01:55:05
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Mosca, Colorado
Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   5   8   8   9   4   9   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$37
Rate less 10% military discount. This campground has location, location, location. Nice store with gas and nice restaurant. By far it is the nearest full-service RV Park/Lodge to Great Sand Dunes National Park (GSDNP camp sites are too small and no RV hook-ups so not our choice). RV sites are up on a rise behind store, accessed by long well-maintained gravel road. Further up hill is tent area, lodge/motel, cabins. Spectacular views of sand dunes to right and San Luis Valley in front. Because RV sites are in a single row, everyone gets a wonderful view out the front. Twenty sites can accommodate any size rig, all pull-through (approach from next to hill), good 30 some 50 amp, sewer (also dump station), gravel with small trees between, level, picnic table, grill, fire ring, limited playground, clean showers and laundry. Sites are fairly close together but as much length as you need. Grills and fire rings are between sites and much too close to RVs. Saw flames 2’ high from a grill that made me shudder. Would move if someone used fire ring next us. Verizon 5-bar 4G data. Buildings are well-built but old with new roofs, reminds me of a summer camp environment, nothing fancy but good enough. Family owned for 30 years, pleasant staff. Especially enjoyed watching afternoon storms come across valley and dunes. Good hiking nearby. Elevation 8,000 ft. Would definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$43
Great Sand Dunes NP campgrounds were full so we had to stay at this way overpriced gravel lot. Rough washboard entrance, irregular gravel parking lot, on a hill with a good view, but windy and dusty. Well, the restrooms were clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$38
Basically a parking lot with a single row of full hookup sites, a few trees, playground area, and a nearby building with restrooms and laundry. It's the closest park to the Sand Dunes that has hookups (campgrounds inside the park do not have hookups, do not support rigs longer than 34 feet, and often fill up by mid-day). Sites are a bit close together but are level gravel and include fire ring, grill, and picnic table. Hookups are well-placed. Nice view of the mountains and dunes. Convenience store and restaurant within walking distance. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Great Sand Dunes Oasis RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
51
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   8   7   9   9   2   7   5   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  no  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  no  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2014
$27
We really enjoyed the seclusion and the exceptional view of the mountains and the sand dunes from our site. It was level, and the power worked great. We selected a site in loop C as the other loops were closed, and paid our 20 camp fee + 7 day use fee. I had gone on the website previously and learned that the lake was dry. But...we had been dry camping and looking forward to the advertised hot showers and laundry...it came as a real shock to find these locked up tight!! Very disappointed! If this is routinely done, it should be noted on the website, as the lake closure had been. Would have been rated a 9 otherwise....it is such a nice facility, but sits unused. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$27
Rate is $20 for campsite and $7 for daily use pass. The campground was being prepared to close for the season (on October 1). Only Loop C was open and all restrooms were closed and locked. We stayed on site #44. The 50 amp connection did not work properly. It was not grounded. Our Verizon cell phone and MiFi service worked well. The road to the campground is gravel; however, the campground road is paved. The sites are gravel, electric only, and include a covered picnic table. The nights are quiet, but there are many insects flying around. We enjoyed the sunsets during our two night stay. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$27
The views from this campground are exceptional! There were snow-capped mountains on three sides and the Great Sand Dunes in the distance. This is definitely desert camping and not for you if you need shade, programs, activities, and such. The quiet, however, is wonderful, and it is about 13 miles to the sand dunes for a day trip. The only restroom facility was quite a walk from some sites, and I would really recommend this place for campers with self-contained units who like peace and quiet. The lake that used to be here is dry, and there is not much in the way of hiking trails, but, again, you are very close to the sand dunes. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for San Luis State Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com