206673 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Mosca, Colorado (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
12.81 miles NW
15.17 miles SW
17.87 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Amoco Truck Stop
Hooper
11.91 miles NW
Great Sand Dunes Nation
11.99 miles NE
True Grits Steakhouse
14.86 miles SW
Super Wal-Mart
333 Clark St
15.27 miles SW
Adams State College
15.76 miles SW
Colorado
Mosca
Most Recently Reviewed
San Luis State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2013-09-12 20:13:33
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Mosca, Colorado
Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   4   9   7   9   5   6   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$37
We really loved this campground as did the other four couples we have been traveling with. The campground, while gravel, is more than adequate with full services. In addition, the campground restaurant's meals are great, especially their homemade pies! There is also gas and propane available on-site. The staff is incredibly friendly. Three suggestions, however; the campground staff needs to police people renting the cabins and rooms at the lodge, from wandering through the RV sites. Parents must keep their children quiet during quiet hours (especially early in the morning). And the grade of the road leading from the registration area to the RV section needs regrading. Which, if corrected, would bring the park up to a 9+. Nevertheless, we would definitely stay here again. Located just four miles from the spectacular Great Sand Dunes National Park. The views of the Sand Dunes, Sangre de Cristo Mountains, and surrounding landscape are unbeatable! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
The park itself is no resort by any means. However the sites are level, the grounds clean, and the facilities are close to all sites. Gas, a small grocery store and restaurant on site. Good food and PIES. Wonderful pies. Veterans get a discount. Friendly staff throughout. Almost shouting distance to the Sand Dunes. Each site is roomy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$43
Fantastic views from camp sites. All gravel & mostly level sites. Perfect location to national park, handy store & restaurant on site. Friendly staff in store. No WiFi at our site, Verizon only had 3G. As noted in other reviews, the entrance road to the campground was a little rough but short and usable. Our 15 year old enjoyed sandboarding in the park (boards & sleds rented from store). Power Note: At the time, 6 of 20 spots were filled and I confirmed 118v at the wall socket after the AC started. But we only used the AC a limited amount of time since the weather was cooler at that elevation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Great Sand Dunes Oasis RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
51
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   2   7   5   3   8   4   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$27
The park is beautiful desert landscape with views of mountains and Great Sand Dunes. There were only five campsites filled when we were there. The $27 per day is a little high for no services. When we were there, the building with the showers and restrooms was locked, and we never saw any staff anywhere. The park brochure states there are showers and restrooms, but all there were was available was a small building with 2 pit toilets. We would go back because it is so beautiful and quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$27
Beautiful setting, quiet and peaceful. They had a water problem (contamination) while we were there, so we were glad we came with a full tank. Price is high for just electric, but CO residents can get and annual pass for the park fee ($7). We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
Price reflects daily camping fee of $20+$7 daily pass. I gave this a 9 because of the required daily pass, in addition to the campground fee. This park may not be for everyone, however this is the type of place we envisioned when we bought our motorhome. It is eerily quiet, isolated, with beautiful views of the Sangre de Cristo mountains, the 8 mile distant Great Sand Dunes National Park, and the high desert. There is NO shade, it is desert. There are wind/shade shelters at each site with picnic table and fire rings and both 30 and 50 amp electric. There is an easily accessible dump station and water spigots are placed throughout the park. In mid-September we were one of three campers in this place. I don't think anyone knows of this park or maybe it's the daily rate that turns people off, or no shade, but for us it was pure paradise. I think $27 IS a bit steep for a state park, but we were willing to pay it for the serenity and mountain vistas. We will DEFINITELY stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for San Luis State Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com