206886 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Poncha Springs, Colorado (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
3.05 miles NE
13.32 miles NW
14.37 miles SE
18.37 miles S
18.66 miles SE
25.27 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Poncha Hot Springs 160
1.15 miles S
Country Bounty
3.69 miles NE
City Park
Salida
4.27 miles NE
Super Wal-Mart
7865 W Hwy 50
4.32 miles NE
Browns Grotto Warm Spring 73
8.26 miles N
Wellsville Warm Spring 91
9.10 miles SE
Browns Canyon Warm Spring 77
9.62 miles N
Swissvale Warm Springs 82
10.20 miles SE
Colorado
Poncha Springs
Most Recently Reviewed
Monarch Spur RV Park & Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2013-09-10 21:23:35
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Poncha Springs, Colorado
Camp Information
Sites
19
Date of Stay
August 2011
Latest Rate
$15


Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$15
This is a very private and peaceful National Forest Service campground close to Salida and Poncha Springs. It is 4 miles off US on a well maintained FR. It is poorly marked. You can't see the sign for the campground until you turn off US50 so most people don't even know it is there. It is mostly used by tenters but RV's under 30 ft should have no problems provided they are good at backing and don 't mind a little leveling. The 4 pull through sites are really just wide spots in the road. Since they are on the creek they generally are chosen first. Roads in the camp ground are dirt. All sites have fire rings and picnic tables and some have tent pads. There are no hookups. Water has to be hand pumped so fill up before you get there or bring suitable containers and strong, willing arms. Dumping and showers are available at Heart of the Rockies RV Park. The main attractions at Angel are the Colorado Trail which runs right by the CG, fishing, and relaxing. Most of the sites have shade. Mountain goats often visit the park. There are no reservations but the park hardly ever fills up. The host is very nice and the vault toilets are spotless. I have camped here twice once in a tent and again in a trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   9   5   4   7   9   5   8   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$15
We stayed here 6 weeks. The setting in the Rockies is beautiful. Few trees, but we prefer sun and views. There is good fishing 10 minutes drive away. There is a nearby county road that provides good, lightly trafficked walking or biking. Sites are reasonably spaced. Management is friendly and helpful. There is a pleasant community room. The park is 12 minutes drive to WalMart and 16 minutes from downtown Salida. We plan to return in a month for another few weeks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
The website definitely oversold this park. There were no prices listed online and the pictures indicated an A++ park. What we found was basically graveled sites situated on the side of a hill in a park that has seen better days. But we were tired of looking for a park, so we took it. The manager was nice enough, nothing special, as was the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
We stayed one night without a reservation, but it was a weekday. Seemed to be a popular place to stop, and reservations are recommended normally. It really is in the heart of the rockies, with beautiful scenery all directions. Good showers, and Wi-Fi would work at the closer full-hookup sites, but we stayed further back in a W/E only site, so Wi-Fi did not reach. However, they have a lounge room with couches, TV, books, games, etc where we used the free W-iFi. Would come back again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Heart Of The Rockies Campground
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   4   6   5   8   9   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
We have thoroughly enjoyed our stays here. The hummingbirds and chipmunks are wonderful entertainment. We spotted a dusty grouse on one of our hikes. The scenery is magnificent. The river is beautiful and relaxing. The history of the area is interesting, and there are lots of areas to explore, on and off the property. The sites are a bit tight (designed before larger RVs with slides), but plenty long enough and manageable. The sites aren't perfectly level, but it's easy to make any minor adjustments. We couldn't get a cell signal, but the owners were kind enough to allow the use of their office phone when necessary, and it was a short drive to find a cell signal. The WiFi is sometimes slow and unreliable, but we suspect some of the campers may be streaming videos. Keep in mind that this is not a "resort" campground, but a "Mom and Pop" operation, and the owners are terrific. The utilities are reliable, the restrooms and laundry room were clean and well maintained. We stayed here a week and never ran out of stuff to do. We stored our RV for several weeks (very reasonable rates) and then returned for a couple more days. We will definitely camp here again whenever we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
Sites and interior roads are gravel. Sites are very, very tight and extremely unlevel. We camped here in a 40 foot motorhome with four slides. It was very difficult to manuver in and out. We ended up with scratches down the side of our rig. Sites have no area around your coach to sit outside to enjoy the beautiful scenery. Each site does have a firering and we just prayed no one would start a fire as the ring was located right next to our coach. No cell service. WiFi was okay. Owner and workers are very nice. The surrounding scenery is beautiful. You are within walking distance to a pond which is regularly stocked with trout. We would not stay here again unless we had a much smaller rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
VERY TIGHT GETTING IN AND OUT OF SPACES. We were going to use the community room & found a tenter asleep on the couch. Lots of tenters in the back across stream, we were afraid to leave our stuff out. Pool is closed. Wi-Fi is so so. This is really just a stopping place when you have no where else to stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Monarch Spur RV Park & Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com