218707 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Rifle, Colorado (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
12.90 miles SW
13.11 miles E
22.62 miles SW
32.65 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Rest Area On Co I-70 At Mile Marker 190 Unverified.
1.06 miles SE
Harvey Gap State Park
6.83 miles NE
Colorado
Rifle
Most Recently Reviewed
Rifle Gap State Park - Pinion Loop
Latest Review Submited On
2014-06-25 00:41:42
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Rifle, Colorado
Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   7   9   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$22
There are only 13 RV sites and 7 tent sites, so we felt the need to book online, which costs $10. Then you have to pay a $7 day use fee, which makes it a bit expensive at $39 altogether. The place is very attractive with grass and trees and the sites are very spacious, 8 pull through loops and four back ins. There is no TV (or internet, but didn't expect that) and the restrooms are just vault toilets. The trail to the waterfall continues on past a cave and up to the top of the falls, worth the walk. We also did the squirrel trail. It's a 12 mile drive after you turn off the I-70 but worth it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$16
This S.P. is immaculate! Grass was mowed and cared for better than most peoples lawns. Sites were level, tables good, electric was fine. This is NOT a party park so you will get a good nights' sleep. We will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$22
This is a beautiful state park, green lush vegetation. All of the utilities worked great. There are no showers here and you have to share the water faucet with your neighbor. There are a number of trails in the park with one going to the falls. The bathrooms (2) are heavily used due to the heavy stream of people coming in to the park to use their day facilities and trails, one being the trail (short) to the falls. The bathrooms are clean but really smell bad. Just up above the fish hatchery which is on hwy 325 the one you drove up on (the kids can feed the fish) is a beautiful 2 mile drive that goes through a slot type canyon with sheer walls with lots of vegetation with a creek that runs along the road. This drive is not to be missed, it’s gorgeous!! The town of Rifle owns the property and there are numerous picnic tables along the 2 miles. There is a fee to use the area if you park to picnic or use their trail to the Ice Cave. While on this drive you’ll see rock climbers along the way. The road is hard packed dirt and is in very good condition, you don’t need a 4x4. The dump station is located at Rifle Gap State Park and is easy to get in and out of. If it wasn’t for all the foot and car traffic we would come back, but we really enjoyed the drive above the hatchery and the falls. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Rifle Falls State Park
Camp Information
Sites
46
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   4   10   9   9   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$24
Beautiful park. Clean, neat, well cared for. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
Beautiful area, only about 5 or 6 miles from town. Campsites were large, not close together, many with beautiful views of the surrounding area or of the lake. Peaceful, relaxing area, clean, very well-kept. Restrooms were clean, well maintained; and showers are available with "quarters", but plenty of change machines available. Electric, sewer, and water hook ups all worked fine, but water wasn't very drinkable. We had plenty of bottled water, so it wasn't a problem. Also, note that we couldn't get any cell phone reception with AT&T, but we could drive 3 or so miles back into town and get reception just fine. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$21
This campground has wonderful flat, blacktop sites. We had full hookups. Very nice, seemingly new and clean restrooms. Only drawback is that there is no shade in this campground. The only shade available is in the tent only campground sites. We paid $21 with CO Aspen Leaf Pass (Senior). This would rate a 10 if there were shaded sites. Our site did have a shelter over the picnic table. If boating and fishing are what you are looking for, check this park out in the cooler months. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Rifle Gap State Park - Lakeview Loop
Camp Information
Sites
5
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$16
Rifle Gap State Park is built around the reservoir created behind the Rifle Gap Dam about six or seven miles outside of Rifle. It's main purpose seems to be to give the semi-local folks somewhere to take their motor boats. It's relatively small and since motor boats are allowed you will be able to hear them during the day. The noise was not obnoxious when we were there in early season but it probably gets more crowded in July and August and therefore louder. The boat ramp is set up to handle fairly sizeable boats and there were a number of fisherman out also in the early morning and evenings. It's a popular spot. If you want a little more quiet and some trees go up the road to Rifle Falls Campground but make reservations early for that one. It's small and fills up fast. Pinion Loop at Rifle Gap State Park is a small loop and allows only tents and small RVs. The loop is high on a hill overlooking the reservoir. There are two campsites (86 and 87) that directly face the view. I stayed in 87 and I recommend 86. This is also about the only loop in the park to offer any shade. I don't fish or water ski so a couple nights was all I needed to see it, get a few good pictures and make some nice memories of camping. The campfire in the evening overlooking the reservoir and the gap with many stars and a full moon was truly awesome. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Camp Information
Sites
89
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   7   9   8   9   8   7   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$23
Rifle Gap has multiple loops. We stayed in Sage, which is basic only with no hookups. The rate includes a $7 a day park fee. Full hookup sites are $8 more. We had Sage all to ourselves and just dumped and filled in the morning at the dump station. Very large, level, pull thru sites, with decent separation. We overnighted here and would repeat. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
Very nice campground. Only 11 sites in this loop and all have a view of the reservoir. The host and handicapped sites have sewer, the rest do not. The bathrooms were spotless and the water/elec worked great. The rate reflects the $7/day fee the State charges but we bought the yearly pass. The correct GPS coordinates to get here are: 39.633395,-107.743748. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$29
Cottonwood campground is one of five campgrounds in this state park. This loop only has eight sites, including the host. It is very quiet. We had 50A electric and water hookups. The toilet was very clean. This park is in a beautiful setting along a large reservoir. The best loops for our 40' motorhome would be Cottonwood, Lakeview and Cedar. Sage and Pinon are for tents and small RVs. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Rifle Gap State Park / Cottonwood Camp Ground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com