218572 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
3.15 miles SW
9.32 miles NE
10.25 miles S
10.86 miles S
15.31 miles SE
17.69 miles NW
18.78 miles S
20.76 miles SW
21.17 miles NE
21.66 miles E
24.35 miles SE
27.31 miles SE
27.52 miles NE
27.85 miles S
28.92 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Mama Rose'S
0.84 miles N
Estes Park Chamber Reso
0.88 miles N
Black Canyon Inn
1.29 miles NW
Rocky Mountain National
3.72 miles NW
Nicky's
7.08 miles NW
Fawn Brook Inn
7.97 miles S
La Chaumiere - Lyons
10.56 miles SE
Colorado
Rocky Mountain National Park
Most Recently Reviewed
Moraine Campground (NPS Campground)
Latest Review Submited On
2014-06-16 00:26:21
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado
Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   3   6   7   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  question  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$10
The rate reflects a 50% senior discount. The first important thing to note about this NPS campground is that Loop C is a no-generator zone. I thought I had checked this out but ended up with reservations in Loop C for three nights. We could have survived but preferred a site where we could use a generator. The generator hours are very specific but not a problem. The rangers in charge of the campground were wonderful in helping us find a site were we could use our generator. Our site was in Loop D, which is the most open of the loops. We were directly on the road and had to park our tow vehicle at overflow, but we had wonderful views of the mountains. Of course there are no hookups, but there is fresh water fill and a dump station. This campground is closest to Bear Lake and some great high-country hiking. It is not the best laid-out, nor the most beautiful campground, but it is quite pleasant. As noted, all of the rangers and volunteers were friendly and great to deal with. Its competition is Moraine Park Campground, only about 5 miles away. Glacier is often open when Moraine is full. We stayed at both and actually liked Glacier a lot. It is not as pretty or organized, but has a more wild alpine feel (it is at a higher elevation). In our site we were able to get satellite but many sites would have too many trees. We did not have Verizon phone or data. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$10
We stayed at Glacier Basin campground, paying $10/night with a Golden Age pass. We arrived shortly after 9:00 am on a Sunday morning, without a reservation, and were quickly escorted to a campsite for our 40' rig. At this time I think you can get in Glacier Basin w/o reservations, if you arrive early on days other than Friday and Saturday. It is difficult, but not impossible to get around the campground to your campsite in a big rig. Some going backwards and forwards is necessary, and you may get some scratches from the high overhanging branches. The campsites in the non-reserved sites are nice, with quite a few trees. I only give this campground an 8.0 because of the lack of hookups. You must boondock. And for the difficulty in getting a big rig to the campsite. But this is Rocky Mountain National park, one of the most spectacular of the National Parks, and a place that deals quite successfully with the hoards of visitors. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
Glacier Basin Campground has been hit hard by the pine beetles, so a lot of the trees have been cut down. There is construction going on with some bath houses, so it's not the prettiest sites (be careful making a reservation--they let us move to a different site). Has good access to the Bear Lake trails and lots of wildlife to watch from camp. Rangers are very attentive and nice. Moraine Park seems to be in better shape in terms of preserved trees and more privacy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Glacier Basin Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
245
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   9   8   8   8   8   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$10
The rate reflects a 50% senior discount. This campground may be the most convenient for all activities on the east side of the park. It is a very large campground with little separation between the sites and not a lot of vegetation for privacy. However, many of the sites have spectacular views of the surrounding meadows and peaks. Loops A, C, and D are reservable during the high season. Loop B is always first-come, first-served. (At least as of this writing. These things change.) Generator use is not allowed in Loop D. Overall, generator hours are fairly limited, but enough to charge batteries. The interior roads and pads are gravel and it can be a bit dusty. We were there during prime pine pollen season, so almost everything was yellow from the pollen. There is only one dump station for the campground and it is also the primary fresh water fill station, so it can get quite crowded. The campground is nicely quiet and dark at night. In our site we were able to get satellite. We did not have reliable Verizon phone or data, only enough to send a text message or two. The campground is convenient to shopping and dining in Estes Park. There are trails that can be easily accessed from the campground. We were in Loop C and could easily get to great hiking trails to Cob Lake and Fern Falls and Lake. This campgrounds main "competitor" is Glacier, only a few miles away. We stayed at both and each has its advantages. Moraine seems more orderly and organized. Glacier seems a little less organized and a little more remote, despite the fact that is only about 5 miles from Moraine. We would stay at either campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
This is a great campground for visiting the east side of the park. Elk and deer came through at dusk and dawn most days. We got a walk-in site (Glacier Basin Campground was closed so they made Moraine loop B walk-in this year) and had a long level site. I knocked off 2 points for lack of any hook-ups, but truthfully it was worth dry camping for 4 days for the location of this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$10
If you stay here, it is for the scenery and wildlife experiences; because it is dry camping. The big improvement over our stay 2 years ago is that we had decent Verizon cell & data. The sites are generous, although some are not too level. The restrooms are clean; however, no showers are available. Were were here in mid-Sept. and the elk were bugling every evening in the meadow. The only negative that comes to mind is the single dump station just before the CG exit. It can get crowded and there is no staging area; just park on the road and wait. You can fill up with water there; but I chose to bring mind in and avoid a conflict there at the dump. We would definitely stay here again in our 40 ft. MH We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Moraine Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
98
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   9   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
Still a nice campground even without the trees. The mountain pine beetles that have killed so many of the majestic tall straight pines trees in Colorado, have sadly struck here too. Over a couple years the various loops have been closed and the dead trees removed. The tallest trees left in the parking areas are at most 10-12 foot tall - but growing and healthy. During tree removal, it appears that the campground layout was changed to have fewer sites with more room between sites. I don't remember if the sites were asphalt before, but they are level. Most sites are back-in and available for tents or RVs, some sites are tent only set up for small groups, and some RV only sites are pull through. I enjoy ranger talks, but lightening cancelled the evening's program. On the nice night, a ranger gave a very informed and specific talk about geology of the tundra to the lower treed areas - very nice! Fortunately, the rainy night happened after the herd of at least a dozen female elk meandered through the campground with the lone male, and two babies. We watched for about an hour and one-half as the fire-rings provided an ash snack for the females. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$18
This is a really fun place to camp. Elk come thru the campground daily and moose often graze near-by. The best way to find moose is get out on the road early in the morning. If you see cars stopping you can bet either moose or elk are near. There are many wonderful hiking trails near the campground. Grand Lake is just outside the gate. This side of the national park is not as congested as the Estes Park side so if avoiding crowds is high on your preference list Timber Creek is the place to be. Like most national parks the campgrounds are basic. No hookups or showers but there are flush toilets. Timber Creek was built for tents. With all the trees out, RVs can get into about 20 of the 98 sites. There are no reservations. According to the host the campground rarely fills but if you need more than 20 feet of pad you should have an alternate just in case. Mine was Sunset Point in the Arapaho National Forest--located between Granby and Grand Lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
This is dry camping, so no showers are available. I am rating an 8 based on this being a national park campground, not on hookup availability. A well designed dump station is at the entrance, along with a fresh water tank fill station. Water spigots, some threaded, some not, are located throughout the campground. The entire campground has been denuded of trees due to the pine beetle and the associated blue fungus. Sad to see how barren it is. However, the tree removal tradeoff is the great views of the nearby Never Summer Mountains. There are some pull through sites, but many are back in. Lots of tenters. Sites are well spaced apart, fire rings and tables at every site. Wildlife very abundant, including 12 elk in the campground, a moose, mule deer, and apparently every now and then a black bear will go through. Be careful of getting near moose, they are aggressive in this park. Walks to the Colorado River abound with animals and wildflowers. Rainy during our three day stay. I would suggest not leaving awnings open while hiking or driving to Alpine Visitor Center due to winds. Bring a coat. In July, morning temps were in the upper 30s every day. Tenters frequent the bathrooms. If you are in a camper, plan to use your own because by day's end, the bathrooms are beginning to show use. No cell phone coverage here, must drive to Grand Lake Village for phone coverage. Internet available at Grand Lake Village library for free. Evening program on the only night we went was boring, but the amphitheater is state-of-the-art. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Timber Creek Campground (NPS Campground)
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com