220520 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Walden, Colorado (Air Miles)
-Other Nearby Points-
Hansen Park
Walden
6.16 miles N
Colorado
Walden
Most Recently Reviewed
State Forest State Park - Ranger Lakes Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-07 21:02:09
5 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Walden, Colorado
Camp Information
Sites
3
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Granite Corner is a small park run by a gentleman who works for the county. The park is basic and simple and the reason to visit is to meet him, his small community, and to experience the multitude of things worth doing in the county. Ghost towns - hiking trials in nearby State Forest State Park - Fishing in lakes no more than 15 minutes away - Back country forest roads and Calamity Pass - Arapahoe Nat'l Wildlife Refuge are all nearby. Walden is the ONLY town with services in this 1600 sq. mile county with less than 1400 residents (about 1/3rd live in Walden itself)...but, there are still several restaurants in the town, two gas stations, and a local food market. Good for 1 night? Heck, I stayed 3 and probably could have made a full week out of it! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
A small new park that is very neat and quiet. Very long/wide gravel pull through spaces with fairly level spaces. The owners are very friendly. Bring your groceries as the town is lacking a grocery store. We will stay here anytime we are in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
This is the nicest park in Walden and is located in a residential neighborhood. It is well maintained; sites are long, level gravel; the owners are very nice and welcoming; and the neighbors in the nearby homes are friendly. Because of it's size, there are no restroom/shower facilities or laundry. Due to the irrigation of nearby hay fields this time of year, the mosquitos can be bad. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Granite Corner RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
36
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
The previous review is much too generous. This place is beyond a dump! The "park" is located 15 miles northwest of Walden on a narrow, poorly maintained road. The entire place is absolutely filthy. The "pull through" sites are not only overgrown with weeds but are unusable as you would high center your rig if you tried to pull through. For those of you who remember Deliverance, this place is the western version! If we could give it a less than zero rating, we would have done so. We did NOT stay here, but passed through and returned to Walden. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Calling this a resort is a joke! It is terraced on a hillside of rocks and dirt/clay. The sites are weed ridden, the clay sticks to your shoes in 1/2" thick clumps. The views are beautiful but that is the only attribute this campground has. First, showers are not included in the $30/ nightly rate. Oh no, that will be $5 extra! If the proprietor is using this money for upkeep and maintenance, he owes me $4.50!! The bathrooms are small, single units and smelly. The shower stalls are musty and filthy. The kicker, you better not need to use the restroom before 8am. That is when the "store" opens and that is when you can get a key. No Joke! Oh and he closes (locks up) at 9pm. Late night potty break? I don't think so!! I implore you, stay away from this campground!!!! Better to boon dock it along the lake shore if you are so equipped. That is free or maybe $5/ night. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
May 2012
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   1   5   3   1   10   2   3   1   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
When we pulled up, we saw a banner that said the campground had won the Chairman's award in 2010. Apparently, that doesn't take much because this place sucked! First, there is no propane, despite what their website says. Second, they've chopped all of their trees down because of a beetle invasion but left all of the stumps. This made the campground look like crap and difficult to walk around in. The dirt site was extremely unlevel. They say they have wi-fi, but it never worked while we were there. When we checked in, the guy told my friend, "you guys have to be in by 9:00 for quiet hours." Not sure what that meant, we made sure we were in the park by 9:00 thinking they may gate it or something. They just meant be inside your RV. (yes, we might be silly, but he could have been more clear). No grills are made available. Really no amenities at all except a meager playground. The only thing this place has going for it is full hook ups. I don't think these folks give a darn what people think who camp there. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2011
$38
They claim to have Wi-Fi but it doesn't reach all the campsites so we didn't have it and we were closest to the office. Owners were never around during the hours stated on the office door. Restrooms and showers were dirty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
On the plus side, it's a decent place with full hookups. On the downside, there is absolutely nothing special about it. Ok for an overnighter and to dump after camping, but that's about it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for North Park / Gould / Walden KOA
Camp Information
Sites
32
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   4   8   2   8   8   10   10   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  no  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$17
Due to beetle kill, the campground has few trees but lots of nice grasses. Nice trails available. Pit toilets, no showers. Nice lake with good fishing but lots of mosquitoes especially in the evening. Found a nice geocache. To see moose, get up early and take the Gould trail that leads to a meadow. No dump station at this campground; one is located at the North Michigan entrance. Be sure to visit the Moose Center...you can hike to it from the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
This used to be a favorite but now the trees are all gone and the service is not what it used to be. Evidently, since the Dept. of Wildlife took over the Colo. St. Parks, sevice and upkeep have gone downhill. The only amenity is electricity and firepits. One outhouse and one water faucet is all there is. We found out from a camper that the fish had all died of winterkill and the DOW had not re-stocked it yet. We won't return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
As others have mentioned this area has been hit hard by the pine bark beetle. The campground has been clear cut which actually makes for beautiful views of the mountains, as well as super easy to maneuver in and around the campground. The sites are long level back-ins with 50amp and good space between sites. It is right off 14, but there is not a lot of traffic, especially at night. We used this campground as a base for doing several beautiful hikes in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for State Forest State Park - Ranger Lakes Campground
Camp Information
Sites
52
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   4   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2013
$16
This park's amenities consist of dirty firepits, two outhouses, and one overflowing dumpster. It is five miles off the pavement and is not worth driving to. We won't be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$19
Nothing like their website stated!!! I know it is not their fault that the trees were infested with beetles but they could have noted on their site that all the trees were cut down and not even picked up. The water spigot for you to fill your tank was in a place that you couldn't even get you camper to!!! The whole thing is under construction/renovation which is good. It needs it but it should have been shown or stated on website and then let me make the choice. There were men cutting down trees until about 4pm so they didn't want you exploring until they were finished. My son went to go fishing and they told him to come back. When he came back one of the loggers came up to him while he was fishing and said, "You're not going to catch anything because they haven't stocked it yet. There's no fish in there." Website said fishing!!! It was a 50 mile, difficult drive and extremely disappointing. Not worth the drive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$14
Awesome views from our outer site. Horse corral available. Close to fishing lakes. Lots of people bring ATVs here, so that can get noisy. Vault toilets--you know what that means. Great recreation area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com