206530 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Walsenburg, Colorado (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
16.85 miles SW
21.95 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Iron Horse - Walsenburg
1.70 miles E
Birco Inc
2.44 miles NE
Bearadise Cabins
(800)596-6221
13.08 miles SW
Log Haven Lodge
757 39.245262
13.30 miles SW
Rest Area On Co I-25 At Mile Marker 37 Unverified.
15.37 miles SE
Colorado
Walsenburg
Most Recently Reviewed
Lathrop State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2013-10-05 08:03:16
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Walsenburg, Colorado
Camp Information
Sites
15
Date of Stay
June 2010
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   7   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
This is basically a weedy, potholed gravel parking lot with full hookups, only 30amp. The sites are spacious and semi-level. It is conveniently right off I-25; you can hear road noise. There is a slight sewer type smell outside. There is plenty of room to park to check in at the motel next door. No amenities, the bathrooms are locked, with weeds growing in front of them. My aircard worked fine. Still needs a lot of TLC. The motel sign says Budget Host Motel, my receipt says Country Host Motel. I would have to be pretty desperate to stay here again. You get what you pay for. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$23
On the plus side. Long pull through sites (90 ft) with a good turning radius and good spacing between sites. Large area for parking when checking in. Easy access from the freeway without overbearing noise. Price is good for the area, for full hookups. Check in is easy at adjacent Motel. Negatives. Located adjacent to a small sewer lagoon with mild lagoon smell. Only 30 amp. Needs some TLC. I would use this park again for an overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$17
I agree with the previous poster. This is an excellent place for an overnight stay. The front desk personnel were friendly and helpful, and the office is open until 11:00 pm. Sites are level and long, some back-ins and 50 amp power is good. Views of the mountains are fantastic! We've never stayed at a Motel/RV campground before so we were pleasantly surprised by the welcome and the great facilities provided. Will definitely put Country Host Motel & RV Park on our "return" list. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Country Host Motel & RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
31
Date of Stay
October 2010
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   1   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$23
This was a one night stop for us. The hosts were friendly and the site provided a quiet night's sleep. There are no top notch attractions nearby so I cannot rate this campground with an extended stay in mind. It is dry and dusty here, but that is quite likely normal for southeast Colorado. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$22
We planned to stay here but left after driving around and checking the place out. Generally, the previous reviewer has it right--this place feels like a dump, and in addition to road noise, there was noisy construction equipment on site. No one was in the office. Everything generally run down. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
Although the owner is very friendly the camp itself is poorly maintained and feels like a dump. Right on the frontage road. Many sites taken by permanent residents. RV service is good and they have many parts which is why we stopped to begin with. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
103
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   7   5   9   9   8   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
This was an overnight stop and they do not take reservations (at least this time of year). We stayed in Loop D with 50 amp power, no w/s. Very large private sites. They are all pull through; however, the turning radius is not adequate on some of them if you are a big rig. The sites are flat but not level. Regardless of these two small drawbacks, I highly recommend it. Beautiful park with lakes, hiking, good roads, golf course. We do not use the public restroom facilities, so I cannot comment. I did use a restroom in another area of the park and it was extremely clean. Best spot for the night or the weekend in the area. Great views. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$21
So beautiful. The views are out of this world. Nice large sites. Peaceful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$17
This is the only campground that we visit every year. We love the large sites, the privacy, the spectacular views and the great hiking in the area. The La Veta museum is well worth a visit. It is work in progress, but still remarkable for a little town like La Veta. The best way to find Lathrop State Park from I 25 is to follow the Hospital signs. The park is directly across from the hospital. There is also free Wi-Fi in the hospital cafe. I have never camped here in the summer. There isn't much shade, so it could be hot. The fee of $17 with a life time CO SP pass. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Lathrop State Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com