220250 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Niceville, Florida (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
5.55 miles SW
9.11 miles S
11.42 miles SW
16.13 miles SE
17.31 miles NW
18.14 miles SE
19.81 miles NW
25.15 miles NE
25.52 miles NW
25.96 miles SW
33.26 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Eglin Afb Famcamp
3.36 miles S
Bluewater Bay Resort
4.54 miles SE
Eglin Air Force Base
6.25 miles SW
Destin Army Rec Area
8.03 miles S
Marina Cafe
9.21 miles SW
Flamingo Cafe
9.22 miles SW
Henderson Beach State R
9.36 miles S
Super Wal-Mart
15017 Emerald Coast Pky
9.64 miles S
Louisiana Lagniappe
9.68 miles S
Los Rancheros
9.89 miles SW
Sams Club 740 N Beal Pky (Located To Street)
10.67 miles SW
Super Wal-Mart
748 Beal Pky Nw
11.35 miles SW
Gulfarium
11.39 miles SW
Pandora'S Steak House
11.60 miles SW
Open Road Inc
13.73 miles SW
Super Wal-Mart
3351 S Ferdon Blvd
15.06 miles NW
Florida
Niceville
Most Recently Reviewed
Fred Gannon Rocky Bayou State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-25 11:32:14
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Niceville, Florida
Camp Information
Sites
38
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   8   9   8   8   10   9   9   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$19
This campground is also reviewed under the official name of Fred Gannon Rocky Bayou State Park, but is the same place. The entrance is a bit hard to spot, and the road is a bit narrow. Lots of trees and shade, and undergrowth between sites, as Florida is determined to return their parks to a more natural environment. We picked a site that was wider than most, as we have a 35 ft trailer, towed by a 4 door F350 with a full sized bed - we tend to want a lot of space with no tight trees at the entrance. Clean shower buildings, quiet even though it was pretty full for the weekend. No planes overhead, but that might be a problem during the week. Lots of families & tents. No wi-fi, cable, or sewer (some Florida state parks do have sewer), focus is on outdoor activities on the water mostly. You get free access to their sister park out on the Gulf-front beaches, but either have to go around to them then long way, or pay $3 each way on the new mid bay bridge to get there (it is cheaper to get & use SunPass if you go to FL a lot). Thought it was a convenient location for running around, and less expensive than the gulf-front park. We stayed 2 nights, and would go back for a couple days longer in the spring or fall. We prefer to be able to have sewer, but were planning on stopping at a commercial campground after leaving, so didn't have to deal with the dump station. Our site was gravel, and one of the larger sites. Drove around and looked over the whole place - not that many sites that we thought were long enough for larger equipment, and many had trees that made backing in and pulling out a bit tricky. They all have a wider area toward the back where the picnic table goes, kinda "L" shaped, which we liked. We noted about 7-10 sites that we could pick from when making future reservations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$16
The park is typical for a state run park. The trees were too low and close to the road for today's taller coaches/5th wheels. We got several scrapes from limbs. We could not get our coach into site #29 without scraping on a tree, and the same thing getting out. We used our waste wagon because we were staying for 2 weeks. There is no easy way to pull your wagon to the dump. There is no paved walkway to get you all the way to the dump. We have an 18 gallon wagon and it took both of us to handle it and get it pushed up the ramp (they did think of that) to dump it. We would have preferred a graveled site, but #29 was one of a couple that was dirty sand. The view of the water was nice from #29. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$17
This park is located near Niceville. The lots are nicely spaced, and each one is surrounded by a wooden fence to define the space. Some sites were on compacted dirt, others were done in fine gravel, and the handicapped sites were concrete. The staff and volunteers were very nice and pleasant to deal with. The rate shown includes the $16 nightly fee for water and electric, plus 6% sales tax. The campground is near Eglin Air Force Base, and on days they have maneuvers, the noise is RV-shaking. We also heard what sounded like cannons going off, but they might have been sonic booms. There are a couple of trails in the relatively small park. Our Verizon card and phone worked well at the campground. The bathrooms were clean and modern. TV reception over the air was marginal. During our stay in early February, many sites were vacant. The park graciously allowed us to have a package forwarded to us care of the park. We'd stay again when in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Fred Gannon Rocky Bayou State Park
Camp Information
Sites
57
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   7   8   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
Fantastic park with big open sites and a view of the bay. Can walk right down to the beach from the RV for a little beach combing. However, I would not recommend swimming in the bay. While each RV site did not have its own fire ring, there were numerous fire rings near the beach. There is a decent newer playground. Bathrooms/showers were clean and adequate. Very close to Destin--just cross the bridge (cost $3 each way). Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
Sites are far enough apart that you don't feel like you're camping right on the next guy. All sites are mostly shaded and some are fully shaded. Nice view of the lake. There is some highway noise from the bay bridge. Cable TV was very poor reception on our site. Most of the time the picture was unwatchable. Not a big problem as we were not here to watch TV, but it would have been nice to get reliable news. We eventually quit trying to depend on a cable picture and switched over to OTA TV. WiFi was slow but reliable. Bathroom/shower house was very clean but somewhat dated with some worn flooring. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$18
We have stayed at this site a couple of times. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice and clean bathrooms. Sites are fairly roomy and have a nice view of the bay. Destin right across the Mid-Bay bridge. However, this is a toll-bridge. The sites do not have fire-rings. There are several community fire-rings along the bay. Lots of long-term campers. A lot of the sites are in poor condition. Most of the sites patio covers and grill are severely rusted. Also, the sites we were given had ruts, exposed roots and were not very level. Lastly, the Mid-Bay Bridge can be noisy. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Display older reviews for Mid Bay Shores Rec Area (Military Camping Only)
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com