214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Niceville, Florida (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
5.55 miles SW
9.11 miles S
11.42 miles SW
16.13 miles SE
17.31 miles NW
18.14 miles SE
19.81 miles NW
25.15 miles NE
25.52 miles NW
25.96 miles SW
33.26 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Eglin Afb Famcamp
3.36 miles S
Bluewater Bay Resort
4.54 miles SE
Eglin Air Force Base
6.25 miles SW
Destin Army Rec Area
8.03 miles S
Marina Cafe
9.21 miles SW
Flamingo Cafe
9.22 miles SW
Henderson Beach State R
9.36 miles S
Super Wal-Mart
15017 Emerald Coast Pky
9.64 miles S
Louisiana Lagniappe
9.68 miles S
Los Rancheros
9.89 miles SW
Sams Club 740 N Beal Pky (Located To Street)
10.67 miles SW
Super Wal-Mart
748 Beal Pky Nw
11.35 miles SW
Gulfarium
11.39 miles SW
Pandora'S Steak House
11.60 miles SW
Open Road Inc
13.73 miles SW
Super Wal-Mart
3351 S Ferdon Blvd
15.06 miles NW
Florida
Niceville
Most Recently Reviewed
Rocky Bayou State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-05-02 02:48:09
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Niceville, Florida
Camp Information
Sites
38
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   8   8   10   9   9   3   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$16
The park is typical for a state run park. The trees were too low and close to the road for today's taller coaches/5th wheels. We got several scrapes from limbs. We could not get our coach into site #29 without scraping on a tree, and the same thing getting out. We used our waste wagon because we were staying for 2 weeks. There is no easy way to pull your wagon to the dump. There is no paved walkway to get you all the way to the dump. We have an 18 gallon wagon and it took both of us to handle it and get it pushed up the ramp (they did think of that) to dump it. We would have preferred a graveled site, but #29 was one of a couple that was dirty sand. The view of the water was nice from #29. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$17
This park is located near Niceville. The lots are nicely spaced, and each one is surrounded by a wooden fence to define the space. Some sites were on compacted dirt, others were done in fine gravel, and the handicapped sites were concrete. The staff and volunteers were very nice and pleasant to deal with. The rate shown includes the $16 nightly fee for water and electric, plus 6% sales tax. The campground is near Eglin Air Force Base, and on days they have maneuvers, the noise is RV-shaking. We also heard what sounded like cannons going off, but they might have been sonic booms. There are a couple of trails in the relatively small park. Our Verizon card and phone worked well at the campground. The bathrooms were clean and modern. TV reception over the air was marginal. During our stay in early February, many sites were vacant. The park graciously allowed us to have a package forwarded to us care of the park. We'd stay again when in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$27
Overall this is a pretty decent park. It backs up to Rocky Bayou (go figure!) with easy access. Lots of tent campers and families. Some sites are paved, some are not. Our concrete back-in was pretty level. The interior roads are a bit narrow but we easily navigated them in our 40 foot rig. Keep a close eye out for the entry sign to the campground - we passed it the first time partly due to the fact that our GPS was taking us further down the road. Nights are quiet except on weekends when the revelry kicks up a notch. Just people having fun, nothing terribly intrusive. During the day it was not unusual to hear low-flying planes and booms from the ordnance disposal site just down the street. Very friendly and helpful staff. BTW (By the way) - if you are using this campground as a base to explore the Destin area, the mid-bay bridge charges a $3.00 toll each way. They want to pay that off in a hurry! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Fred Gannon Rocky Bayou State Park
Camp Information
Sites
57
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   7   8   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
Fantastic park with big open sites and a view of the bay. Can walk right down to the beach from the RV for a little beach combing. However, I would not recommend swimming in the bay. While each RV site did not have its own fire ring, there were numerous fire rings near the beach. There is a decent newer playground. Bathrooms/showers were clean and adequate. Very close to Destin--just cross the bridge (cost $3 each way). Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
Sites are far enough apart that you don't feel like you're camping right on the next guy. All sites are mostly shaded and some are fully shaded. Nice view of the lake. There is some highway noise from the bay bridge. Cable TV was very poor reception on our site. Most of the time the picture was unwatchable. Not a big problem as we were not here to watch TV, but it would have been nice to get reliable news. We eventually quit trying to depend on a cable picture and switched over to OTA TV. WiFi was slow but reliable. Bathroom/shower house was very clean but somewhat dated with some worn flooring. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$18
We have stayed at this site a couple of times. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice and clean bathrooms. Sites are fairly roomy and have a nice view of the bay. Destin right across the Mid-Bay bridge. However, this is a toll-bridge. The sites do not have fire-rings. There are several community fire-rings along the bay. Lots of long-term campers. A lot of the sites are in poor condition. Most of the sites patio covers and grill are severely rusted. Also, the sites we were given had ruts, exposed roots and were not very level. Lastly, the Mid-Bay Bridge can be noisy. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Display older reviews for Mid Bay Shores Rec Area (Military Camping Only)
Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
yes
Sewer
question
Wireless Internet
question
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$16
A hidden jewel of a park with a great trails, a boat ramp, several playgrounds for children, pavilions, and excellent activities offered by the rangers. I could go on and on. Why a rating of 9? The gravel road, which is well maintained, is the only reason. The camping sites are large, shaded, and well marked. The bath houses are great, with tons of water pressure. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com