206914 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Sarasota, Florida (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
11.16 miles SE
12.46 miles NW
12.60 miles NW
12.96 miles N
15.05 miles SE
21.72 miles SE
25.58 miles NW
26.99 miles NE
28.60 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Bijou Cafe
0.16 miles E
Backstage Cafe
0.24 miles SE
Marina Jack'S
0.29 miles SE
Michael'S Seafood Grille
0.30 miles NW
El Greco Cafe
0.49 miles E
Selby Gardens
0.74 miles SE
Mote Marine Aquarium
1.13 miles NE
Michael'S On East
1.38 miles NE
Hillview Grill
1.71 miles SE
Jack'S Chophouse And Dow
1.88 miles NE
Sarasota Jungle Gardens
2.14 miles NW
Chef Caldwell'S
2.17 miles SW
Ringling School Of Art An
2.18 miles SE
Osteria Italian Restauran
2.28 miles SW
Chart House - Longboat
2.31 miles W
Tommy Bahama'S Tropica
2.36 miles SW
Cafe Baci - Sarasota
2.95 miles SE
Sarasota Kennel Club
3.04 miles N
Sarasota Classic Car Mus
3.16 miles NW
Asolo Theatre Festival
3.18 miles NW
John & Mable Ringling M
3.19 miles NW
Dutch Haus Family Restau
3.20 miles SE
The Resort At Longboat K
3.50 miles NW
Cafe Campestre
3.60 miles SE
Primo Ristorante
4.25 miles NW
Jo-To Japanese Steakho
4.34 miles NW
Sarasota-Bradenton Intern
4.39 miles N
Wal-Mart
8320 Lockwood Ridge
4.51 miles NE
The Colony Dinning Room
4.58 miles NW
New College Of The Univer
4.75 miles SE
Bali Hai Supper Club
5.44 miles NW
Coasters Restaurant
5.79 miles S
Surfrider
5.87 miles S
Sams Club?I-75:210 300 N Cattlemen Rd (Located To Block)
5.91 miles E
Elks - 6808 14Th St W
6.00 miles NW
Figaro's
6.16 miles SE
Elks - Sarasota(Manasota)
6.18 miles N
Sugar And Spice
6.48 miles SE
Wal-Mart
4381 Cattlemen Rd
6.62 miles SE
Lynches Landing
6.68 miles NW
"Elks - E,W - 5680 Rosin Wy, Sarasota South"
6.76 miles SE
Windward Isle Rv
(941)922-3090
7.24 miles SE
Arbor Terrace Rv
(800)828-6992
7.27 miles NW
Sams Club 5300 Mchenry Rd (Located To Zip)
7.66 miles NE
Tropical Gardens Rv
(877)231-6583
7.67 miles N
Super Wal-Mart
2911 53Rd Ave E
7.75 miles N
China Palace - Bradenton
7.97 miles NW
Turtles On Little Sarasot
8.32 miles SE
Italian Grill
8.41 miles SE
Ophelia'S On The Bay
8.59 miles SE
Euphemia Haye
8.66 miles NW
Harry'S Continental Kit
8.75 miles NW
Miller'S Dutch Kitch'
9.40 miles NW
Super Wal-Mart
I-75 Exit 220
6225 E State Rd 64
9.65 miles N
Miles Trailer Sales
Bradenton
9.72 miles NW
Super Wal-Mart
5315 Cortez Rd W
9.83 miles NW
Moore'S Stone Crab
10.82 miles NW
Historic Spanish Point
10.88 miles SE
Leverocks Seafood House
11.03 miles NW
South Florida Museum Bis
11.24 miles N
The Pier Restaurant
11.32 miles N
Peach's
11.33 miles NW
Gulf Drive Cafe
11.42 miles NW
Encore Sarasota North Rv
(800)678-2131
11.78 miles NE
Holiday Cove Rv
(941)792-1111
12.25 miles NW
Casa Mia
12.74 miles N
Elks - Palmetto
12.84 miles N
The Beachhouse Restaurant
12.94 miles NW
Seafood Shack
12.95 miles NW
Lee'S Crab Trap Ii
13.38 miles N
Elks - E - 1030 Knights Tr Rd
15.69 miles SE
Beach Bistro
16.17 miles NW
Anna Maria Island
16.25 miles NW
Florida
Sarasota
Most Recently Reviewed
Myakka River State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-04-19 00:06:32
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Sarasota, Florida
Camp Information
Sites
97
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   10   10   10   10   6   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
Palmetto Ridge camping area is the newest gem in Myakka River State Park. Large sites, clean, modern facilities. Plus Myakka River State Park is our FAVORITE bicycling spot in Florida for spotting birds and wildlife. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$28
It was very confusing trying to figure out where to camp based on the on-line information. So, to sort it out continue reading. There are three campgrounds. None of the campgrounds are actually on the lake. Big Flats campground is the furthest into the park at 2.8 miles past the entrance. There is water and good, solid 50 amp service. This is where we stayed and it was very nice. Spaces were close but vegetation provided some privacy. There are camp hosts and it is relatively quiet. The road that goes past to the boat and tram tours is busy during the day, but calms down at night. We did not use them, but the restrooms and showers seemed to be good. There is a gray water dump station but not one you can reach by driving. The only dump station for the park is along the main park road about a mile from the entrance. The Old Prairie campground is close to the park entrance. The sites are very close together and it has a very old feel. We were glad we did not stay there. The new, modern, very nice campground is the Palmetto Ridge campground. It has full hookups and is very nice. We would probably stay in this CG if we visited here again, but we were quite pleased with Big Flats. As noted, this is a beautiful park with lots of good biking. Just be aware that some of the trails/roads are sandy and hard biking. We were not able to get satellite because of tree cover. We had very spotty Verizon data, sometimes 4G and sometimes nothing. We would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$26
New campsites and great pull-through for a 34' motor home with tow. New clean bath house with handicap access. Bike trails, hiking trails, be sure and take the boat ride on the lake. The guide was very informative and entertaining. Arrive early to get your ticket. Lots of alligators, birds, and other wildlife. Would highly recommend this for a winter get away. Sarasota is just a few miles away if you tire of looking at the alligators! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Myakka River State Park
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$40
Established park with mostly park models and a few spots for visiting RV's. Very clean and well maintained. Friendly, helpful staff. Gated at night with card access. Quite near airport and planes can be annoying, especially during the day. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
Park is a full time over 55 park that rents out spaces as they are available. Park is exceptionally clean & well taken care of. We stayed for a month. Swimming pool is nice. Locked gates at night...access with a card. Every spot has a patch of grass and usually a tree or some shrubbery. I really liked this place. Only reason for a 9 is because they don't have a fenced dog run. Other than that, FIVE stars!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
52
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$59



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   7   10   8   10   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$59
The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is location. This little resort is packed into the middle of the city. I Love to be close to nature. But,then again, this location is exceptional for easy shopping,getting to the beach etc. The entire place is immaculate, the spaces are easy to back into and the roads adequate for our 45 foot zephyr. There are individual TV's in front of each piece of equipment in the gym; he pool is kept at 85 degrees no matter the temp. The staff is very helpful,warm and friendly. There were no spaces in Sarasota for our overnight stay but the manager got us in to help out one of their regulars who had to leave their lot for which they had paid for five months. this was due to a family emergency. The manager worked hard to fill their space every night and apply those charges against their long term renter's costs. many planned activities and a free breakfast buffet every Saturday morning and dinner on Wednesday evening. there is so much they do above and beyond. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$24
This is our third time here in 2 1/2 years and the park has been improved every time we've returned. Very neat and clean, with pleasant, helpful staff. We would rate the park a 10, except for the crushed stone/shell sites. Wi-Fi is strong and reliable. Very convenient to beach and city. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$50
It's a smaller mobile home/RV park, completely renovated, surrounded by a residential/car dealership neighborhood. They just opened a beautiful fenced in dog park. It has a nice club house and exercise bldg. It's really for snowbirds, not short term visitors. It's not conveniently located to many of the local attractions. Those living there love it, but we ran out of things to do the week we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Sarasota Sunny South RV & Mobile Home Resort (55+ park)
Camp Information
Sites
800
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   6   7   9   8   10   5   6   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2014
$50
We reserved a site that we could park our boat and RV. They assigned us a premium 60' site for 2 weeks, which we paid in full. Within 1 hour of pulling our boat in someone from the office knocked on our door to ask us to park the boat at the parking lot. I was told that anyone staying over 1 week had to park their boat there. I told him I had specifically reserved a site for my boat and RV. That didn't matter they had received a complaint. He said he would send the park supervisor. 2 days later the head of security showed up at my site to say that boats weren't allowed this time of year on the sites (March). I told her I wasn't moving my boat out of my sight. She called the supervisor and she and "another staffer showed up 10 minutes later to tell me they would call the sheriff and have me forcibly evicted. I would have 1 hour to pack up and leave or they would do it for me. We decided to leave without the sheriffs help and told them they had breached our contract and would be getting a summons down the road. There is no regulation for parking boats in Fun N Sun's park rules. By the way don't be mislead by the Wi-Fi hot spots shown on the park map, none of them work. You have to go up to the computer room to get on line. When asked about Wi-Fi was told everybody now uses smart phones so Wi-Fi is one the way out. Stay away from Sun N Fun! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$69
This campground is designed as a old-folks place. It is clean, appears to have lots of activities for anyone wanting to participate. It is near shopping of all kinds. It feels like a camper parking lot. Our site was difficult to get into and is very close to the next campers. Sarasota is a lovely area of Florida and I would like to spend more time in this area but would probably try another campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$60
The amenities (pool, life center, activities) are first class, but the RV sites are tight and run down. We would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Sun-N-Fun RV Resort
Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   8   2   8   9   4   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$55
We liked this campground and will be back for 7 nights in late April, so why the so-so rating? Primarily because you can't see the beach from the sites and the beach is not that great, with two steep terraces to the water. Sites are sandy with overhanging trees that will dump stuff on your rig but provide some shade. There is some noise from the adjacent Turtle Beach public parking until late at night, and the sites nearest the road get road noise, but traffic at this end of Siesta Key is not heavy. Sites are really designed for up to 30' motorhomes. Bigger rigs will struggle to get situated as will trailers and 5ers due to the narrow campground road. Hookups are all situated at the rear of the site making for a 20' sewer hose run for us. Bathroom is old but fairly clean, laundromat is a nice plus. Like others we enjoyed Turtles Restaurant across the street with a bay view (not the pub with a street "view"). So in spite of my stated concerns we'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
As other reviews state, the spaces are small but since we were in a 17' Casita travel trailer this was not an issue. Our site had full hookups with Wi-Fi (local 20 TV channels available for small additional fee). It is basically one long street with 40 sites. Has security gate and is operated by Sarasota County. It is all about location, location, location. Walk 100 yards or less west and you are on Turtle Beach, walk same distance east and you are at Turtle Beach Pub and Marina. If you are a beach person this it it. Beach, boating, kayaking. All the things we love. Stayed in June so the summer rate was great. $32.00ish. Will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$70
The guy below must have been an awful driver. Yes, the sites are not too big, but there is easily enough room to park a 25 ft trailer. Sounds like the guy just had a bad experience with the druggies and let it cloud his judgement. Great location for the beach and deathly quiet at night. Wi-fi was very in and out. Showers good and laundry, too. Excellent restaurant across the road, an absolute must if you stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Turtle Beach Campground
Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   10   7   9   3   6   10   10   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  no  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  no  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
I originally reviewed this as a "2" because of not being able to get into the campground site and not getting a response when I wrote asking for a refund. However, on my second attempt emailing them, I did get a written and a verbal response, and I was told that my money is being credited back to my account. The lady explained to me that the sites are small and tight and that situations like mine do arise. She also said that the sites are easier to get into if you are in a motor home instead of a travel trailer. However, that it is a nice campground to access to one of the most beautiful beaches. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
I gave it a 7 due to the lack of "perks" but, really, the location is THE PERK. I love this place! Have reservations soon and cannot wait. Hoping there will be no red tide but other than that, I expect to have a wonderful time there. It isn't fancy, it's "old Florida" at it's best and staying there takes me back in time. The front spaces that a previous poster stated had been closed off has been converted to picnicking areas for campers with nice tables, grills, etc. This area is fairly well shaded. If you are looking for a "resort" try Sun n Fun, Royal Coachman, or maybe Horseshoe Cove. If you really wanna go to the beach to camp, this is your spot :) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$60
We spent 2 weeks in Feb 09 and plan on 2 trips in 2010. It was clean, quiet and they are very friendly. The pub across the street is great. The beach is not as white as Siest Key Beach but it was never crowded and very clean. A small place with no frills, but you're on the gulf. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Turtle Beach Campground (formerly Gulf Beach Campground)
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com