206886 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Cartersville, Georgia (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
12.38 miles NW
14.81 miles SE
15.33 miles NW
17.01 miles SE
17.07 miles SW
22.43 miles NW
22.66 miles SE
25.93 miles SE
28.06 miles NE
31.51 miles NE
31.99 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Super Wal-Mart
101 Market Place Blvd
3.73 miles E
Etowah Indian Mounds Stat
4.06 miles SE
William Weinman Mineral
6.08 miles NE
Lake Allatoona Army Rec
9.34 miles SE
World Famous Navy Lake Rv
9.55 miles SE
Kennesaw Mountain Nation
17.93 miles SE
Georgia
Cartersville
Most Recently Reviewed
Allatoona Landing Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-04-06 22:56:25
8 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Cartersville, Georgia
Camp Information
Sites
116
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   5   6   8   5   1   2   3   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  question  no  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  question  no  no  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$32
This campground would be much better if not for the trains which come by every 20 minutes or so during weekdays (slightly less on weekends) and train horns are very loud and close! Lots of shady sites which would be great in summer. Lakeside sites would be nice also but no cable or WiFi back there. This park has obviously seen better days years ago and has gone down greatly since. Overall I felt a rating of 6 is generous. If we had a better choice of parks in this area I would have stayed elsewhere but we wanted conveniences of WiFi and cable TV for March Madness games. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$38
This a beautiful park but only a few sites have sewer, we booked a sewer site but ended up on non-sewer site. Went to office and asked for sewer. Was given two sites. Both were too out of level so we moved back to original site. The worst thing about this park is the trains. Every two hours a train comes within feet of the property and blows horn to make sure every one is awake. The staff was nice but we were not offered assistance to the site. Most of the sites are empty. There were level sites with sewer but we were not offered one. This park is OK for a day or two but not good for us for longer periods. Other than the trains, this is a nice park We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
We selected this park for a two-night shake down of our new to us RV. The site we reserved was lakeside and we were clearly informed at time of reservation that there was no cable, sewer, and the WiFi would probably not reach. We were pleased with the site. It backed right up to the lake and was pretty. We went swimming right from our campsite. The office staff was friendly and helpful. We declined help with finding our site as it was very simple. The site was not level but considering the banks of the lake, not unexpected. We did have to use our full complement of leveling devices to get our back end up enough to reach an acceptable level. Overall, one can tell that the park was once a much more vibrant place and has since seen significant decline. Many of sites have broken paving and few are level. The restroom and bathhouse were clean and in good working order. The train tracks are nearby and very active. Expect significant train noise. It is clearly no longer as nice as the website portrays but it is perfectly acceptable. If I were to return, I would select the same slot and be content. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Allatoona Landing Campground
Camp Information
Sites
Date of Stay
November 2008
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
yes
Sewer
question
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$18
We have been RVers for 36 years. We find Georgia State and County parks to be among the nation's best. Bartow Gatewood Park was not a disappointment. The foliage was stunning, the campground well kept and beautiful. The roads are paved as are many of the RV sites. There are plenty of lakefront sites with beautiful views, with decks built for the picnic tables. One side of the campground has a great view of the dam. We were greeted by the nicest hosts (Dicky & Vicky), who even delivered some firewood to our campsite for us. They were seen often driving through the park and if we were walking, they always stopped and asked if everything was OK and if we were enjoying our stay. I can't remember having such a nice reception in a government-owned park! Even though it is called Bartow Beach Campground, the beach was closed years ago, but there is a natural little beach that people enjoy swimming from. If I had to guess, I would say it's about 5 miles off I-75 out SR 20, and well worth the drive! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
114
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   8   7   8   9   8   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$35
Good place to stop for an overnight traveling on I-75. Some long nice pull thrus good for big rigs. Nice bathrooms and clubhouse. Friendly management. No problem with satellite in our spot, but some sites are in the woods. Did not try the internet. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
The rate cited is for a long term stay. Wi-Fi is available only at office and nearby sites. Wi-Fi does not work in 80% of park. Great place for overnight stay. Good clean camp area with reasonably level sites and good gravel road. However, it is not good for long term stay. Rules and more rules. Rules are good and work to keep things clean and respectful. However, at this campground the rules are used to kick you out. As stated in the rules, any infraction is an excuse to kick you out. I mentioned that one of the dryers was not working properly and the response I got was "That is the way it is." I also got a nasty look. During my stay here I felt like I was being watched the whole time and they were just waiting for me to break a rule so they could kick me out. Not a comfortable feeling during long term stay. My neighbor was asked to leave because he put "non-household" garbage in the dumpster. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$36
Super friendly ! This is a great campground when staying in between the Atlanta and Chattanooga area, one hour is the driving distance for each making this a great place to stay. The staff is super friendly and will print information off the internet and show you where to go on a map. We stayed on site # A9 and all the utilities worked well during our stay. A note about being in the rows of A1-A10 and B-1-B10, there are a lot of people who stay for a night or two, late night check in and early morning departure was the norm here. If you do not like that you might want a different site in the campground. AT&T service was LTE with very fast data service. This might not be a great campground for people staying with kids, a pool and small playground is what they offer. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Cartersville / Cassville-White KOA
Camp Information
Sites
32
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$26
This was the first campground we stayed at with a travel trailer. The hosts were very nice and directed us to a different pull-through site than the one we registered with and it was SO much better. Almost all tent sites are on the water and the RV sites are inland, but they are wooded and quiet. I agree with another poster that there are few level sites than can handle large rigs, but we have a 17-footer so that didn't bother us. The lake was close by, fishing was OK, clean restrooms and showers and the swimming area was very well maintained. We will definitely return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$13
I will preface this by saying my rating is based on the park's accessibility for a 32 ft. fifth wheel. There are very few sites large and level enough for anything over about 20 ft. This is a great park for tents, pop-ups, and small camping trailers. Unlike other COE parks we have been in, the water is only accessible at one or two sites, or the public beach. The bathrooms, when clean, are fine, but are highly used so probably need twice daily cleaning. I wish I had been here when our kids were little and we had a pop-up. Would have been nice. Rate reflects Golden Passport rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
This was our first trip to Mckaskey, the only C.O.E. campground on Lake Allatoona we hadn't been to. This campground was much smaller than many of the others around the lake. There are more tent sites than RV sites. All but a few sites on the water are tent sites. The RV sites are small and will only accommodate vehicles up to 30' with no room to park a TV or dinghy. Hosts were very nice and were frequently spotted making their rounds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for McKaskey Creek COE
Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   10   7   10   9   10   10   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
Our RV site was fairly level and clean. We were not advised upon check-in of the gates locking at 9 pm. It is not a key code access on the gate so you are literally locked in/out depending on which side of the gate you're on. I arrived at 10:10 pm with my children in the car with me only to discover we had been locked out. I phoned my husband who walked from our campsite (about 1/3 mile) and politely knocked on the campsite host's RV door and asked if he could open the gate for us. From his RV, the campsite host could see our vehicle at the gate. He refused to unlock the gate. My husband even offered to run down as he watched and unlock it for him. He refused. So, in a chilly 37 degrees, we walked our kids about 1/3 mile to our campsite in the dark. It was so cold, my eyes kept watering as the brisk wind chilled us to the bone. As guests, we were not accommodate or helped in our moment of need. He had the ability to help us and let us thru the gate, but he didn't care. We camped near the marina and was forced to listen to the blaring music of a party cruiser docked there. We could easily hear the music while inside our RV until early morning hours. You can also hear the train that runs thru periodically on the other side of the water, but it's tolerable. There needs to be a sign as you are leaving to alert you to the gate closure time. In addition, our hope is that a keypad is put into this location. It's a lovely campground, but the staff is inhospitable and you may have to deal with noise outside of the campground. Don't stay here unless you don't mind a curfew! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$30
Top notch Corps of Engineers park. Paved sites with electric and water. Dump station on the way out is easy to use. The park is really beautiful with miles of trails, a swimming beach, nearby marinas, wonderful wildlife, and friendly folks who run it. Really a super place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$30
We stayed at site 92, which we selected online. It is a 55-ft. back-in site overlooking the lake, and it's a lovely site. We have a 43' MH with toad, and arrived as it was getting dark. This was our first visit here, so we did not know what to expect. The road to get to the site was very narrow and windy, with lots of trees on either side. The site was located on a tight curve of the road, and we had to back in up a hill into the site - challenging with a 43' MH in the dark. Across the lake is a railroad track, with trains crossing frequently throughout the day (and night), and blowing their horns to let you know they are there. (We got used to it.) It's a good location, overall, if you don't mind train noises. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for McKinney Campground COE
Camp Information
Sites
12
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$16
This park was disappointing for us for several reasons. First, it is down a very narrow winding two lane road and over some steep and angled railroad tracks. On one turn, we launched our coffee pot from it’s location and broke it. The turn in, if you enter from one direction, is very sharp (125+ degrees). Distance wise, it’s only a few hundred yards below I-75 and one does hear the interstate. Once in the campground, we were assigned the only available site we were told that would handle our 40 ft rig and it was the handicapped site. It was under the trees (all sites are under the trees) so our rooftop satellite wouldn't lock on. Our bow-tie antenna, with built in booster, pulled in about 8 channels. Most were junk i.e. religious, QVC, infomercials etc. ) and not worth watching. The on site free cable was inoperable so we missed a World Series game. The lake was down due to flood control so no boating or swimming. Only one restroom was working and it was a hike from our site. It does offer 10 rental cabins, 10 tent sites and 12 W/E only RV sites. The CG shows an unsecured Wi-Fi at our site but we could never connect. Our Verizon Mi-Fi allowed us to get the internet. It’s a bit of a drive to the nearest small town of Cartersville and the closest grocery chain was 6 miles away. All in all, this is one facility that we will avoid in the future, even if it means paying a bit more somewhere else. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
111
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   9   9   10   8   8   7   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$28
The rate is for a “40 foot, back-in site” with 30 amp electrical and water hookup. There is also a $5 per day fee for park use. The park has five types of camping: 40 ft. pull-through, 40 ft. back-in, 20 ft. back-in, tent w/power and water, and tent w/o utilities. We are over 20 feet, so we had two choices. The 40 ft. pull-through sites are lined up all in a row, so we did not want to do that, so we chose the 40 ft back-in and made on-line reservations, which are not site specific. The park is fairly easy access off on Interstate, with some fairly narrow roads but doable. You arrive at the Visitor Center/Camper Check-in, where, unfortunately, there is no parking for RVs for check-in; so we parked in the middle of the lot with lots of dirty looks from other visitors. After check-in we proceeded to the campground, just a short ways down the road. Be aware of the entrance gate. When we arrived, it was open. We proceeded through and it started closing. We barely avoided being hit by the gate. Apparently someone had come through before us and actived the gate, then it started to close. So make sure you let the gate close, enter your code before entering through the gate. This is a very strangely laid out campground. Many of the sites have a lot of slope and are on sharp curves. For larger RV’s I would not recommend anything but the 40 foot pull-through sites. We found a site, but it was very hard to get into, even for our smaller 27 foot RV. We also had difficulty leveling. The power was 30 amp with two-30 amp plugs. Power was good. The sites are so far separated that there is good privacy even though there is little vegetation. Prior reviewers complained about train noise; although we did hear trains, they were far in the distance and not a problem. It was very quiet and nicely dark at night. The campground is very tree-covered, but we were able to find a hole with our portable dish to get satellite TV, but don’t depend on it. We had good Verizon phone and data (4G) coverage. The hiking trails are very nice and are a major attraction for the park. We would stay here again, but would want to make for sure we arrive early enough to find a somewhat level site. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
After a short mountain drive in the dark (scary for us newbies), we found our way to the gate just in time to catch the camp host before they locked down for the night (10 pm). A quick check-in and some excellent guidance from the host, we were set up in one of their large rig drive through sites. This was quick overnight for us, and the site was perfect. The pull through sites aren't level in the traditional sense, but they are 'crowned', and we found it a breeze to just stop when we were level. There was a nice concrete pad adjacent complete with a fire ring and a lantern hook. We had a delightful wind down listening to the night sounds of the woods. And woods they are. This is a densely wooded state park. Our closest neighbor was about 2 sites away, but they just as well have been a mile. There was lots of cover between us. After a good nights sleep, we woke up to deer in our yard, which made us wonder what else may have visited in the night. The closest bath house was closed for rehab, so we packed up and drove to the next bath house. This is when the character of the place shows. The drive gets very narrow, and steep at times. The sites in the next section are back-in, and probably not suitable for larger rigs (we're 25 feet and could have fit). The bath house was basic and adequate, tho they could use a shelf in the shower area. Once we cleaned up, we continued around the loop to exit and found that there was scant room to get our (little) rig by an inappropriately parked car. Things are tight around here! Of course this second loop was where the lakefront lots were (Lake Allatoona), and the view was spectacular. We didn't linger, but plan to come back and stay for a few days here soon. This park is very convenient to I-75, and well worth jumping off for. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$28
After a stint in a few Alabama State parks, we very pleased with this park. The sites were had great separation and views of the lake were great from our site. Very clean grounds. The bathrooms were very dated and not clean. No problem for us as we use ours. Nice trails and very helpful camp hosts. If you are staying more than 2 nights, consider annual family pass as it includes 2 free nights camping for $75. Pays for itself if you go to more than 2 parks in a year. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Red Top Mountain State Park & Lodge
Camp Information
Sites
109
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   8   10   10   9   9   9   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$24
This was a great campground. The only reason I didn't grade a 10 was that many of the water front camp sites could not be reserved; they were held for walk ups. Regardless, we reserved two campsites side by side. They were across the road from the water. They had great views of the lake. Each site had a concrete pad to park on, fire ring, grill, electric and water. The campground was laid back. It had a beach. We rented a boat and spent one day on the lake. It was great. We will visit this campground again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$26
This is a beautiful campground on Allatoona Lake. The sites are well-maintained and range from lake sites to treed and secluded sites. The restrooms were cleaned regularly, and the showers had hot water with strong water pressure. We were impressed with the friendly and efficient campground hosts. They were very professional and patrolled the campground often. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$24
Nice COE park with well maintained sites. The hosts were friendly and the park was patrolled several times throughout the day. Some of the lower numbered sites, below 27, have the impact area located down a set steps from the driveway which is not very convent if you are in a camper or don't know the site is set up this way. There are actually two sites that have sewer, one is a single site and one is a double site. They are near the entrance and do not have a view of the lake and are not reservable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Sweetwater COE
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com