220584 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby LaGrange, Georgia (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
7.84 miles NW
11.42 miles SW
16.84 miles SE
18.71 miles SW
23.23 miles N
24.23 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Wal-Mart
803 New Franklin Rd
8.00 miles W
Lagrange College
8.76 miles SW
Callaway Gardens Resort
14.33 miles SE
Roosevelt'S Little Whit
17.19 miles SE
Georgia
LaGrange
Most Recently Reviewed
Whitetail Ridge COE
Latest Review Submited On
2014-04-30 21:03:47
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
LaGrange, Georgia
Camp Information
Sites
48
Date of Stay
July 2010
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
I was supposed to stay for two nights only lasted one. The campground is littered in trash. The campfire ring had old clothes, bottles, and trash in it along with the two sites next to me. The bathrooms were never cleaned and were the worst that I have seen since camping. Shower curtain was covered in mold, and the floors had not been swept or moped in a long time. The road is gravel with pot holes and washed out places. The back of the sites had beer cans and bottles all in the woods. The majority of the sites were unlevel. I would highly recommend staying away from this place. They had no pride in the campground at all. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$25
Water park (extra $), Roller rink ($1 on Monday; $6 I think on Fri and Sat), Laundry, Padded sites, Kids play gym, VERY FRIENDLY OWNER! Nice big lots, small lake, Monthly rental is 330/30 350/50, near West Point Lake. Great County park about .5 miles with boat ramp. Does have unpaved road in the campground. Maybe that will change soon. Great free fast wi-fi. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$20
Owner is very nice. Yes, there are trains during the night, but we love trains. We will return. We had a site on the small lake (pond) that faces the water from the patio area, and no other RV's, though you must be a Class C or A to get into it because you have to back out. There is also a Roller Rink($), 2 300' water slides($), and batting cages($) on site. Mostly under trees, the sites are plenty shady. A few are small but mostly they are decent sized, and fairly level. (We didn't have to use any blocks at all) Typical Georgia clay roads that are in good shape other than the entry. Their flyer does not say how many sites are here. The owner is working hard on the park, and took the time to use the tractor on our site to make sure it was plenty level, and spread hay over the clay areas, once we made our reservation. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
163
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   10   9   8   10   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$24
We only overnighted here but we will definitely return. While this campground is well outside of the city of LaGrange, it is a beautiful facility along the shores of West Point Lake. Sites are large and private with paved pads, easy back in, and a woodsy lakeside setting. Everything is very well tended and clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$24
We camp in a popup and we like to see clean updated restroom and showers. Holiday COE at best has dated restrooms and showers. We have never been to a campground much less a COE where there are seperate shower buildings that are not close to each loop. I would think that this campground needs an overhaul of the entire facilities. This was our first stay on West Point and probably will not be back. The scenery was fantastic especially at sundown and the camping was peaceful. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$28
If you're looking for a nice spot next to the lake under the trees, look no further than this park. It was quiet and the weather was nice while we were here, which always makes a place more enjoyable. Of course, not all sites are next to the water, and some sections have only 30-amp service with water. There are no sewer hookups, but dump stations are available. We stayed at site #111 in the #103-112 section, which is at the end of the road and receives less traffic than other areas of the park. There are sections dedicated just to groups of tents or RV's which is nice. Unfortunately, many sites throughout the park are not even close to level, which is important to us with a large motorhome and caused our rating to drop. All sites are paved, spacious, and have a fire pit and picnic table. We got fairly good Verizon service to our phones and MiFi. Bathrooms and showers are clean. The showers are small, and I wish they would add some shelves for shampoo and soap. The building near our section had one washer and one dryer. There are a couple of short walking trails that are nice, and several miles of paved roads that can be walked or biked. Major stores and the main part of LaGrange are about 10 miles away. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Holiday Campground / West Point Lake COE
Camp Information
Sites
160
Date of Stay
January 2008
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   1   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2008
$20
Hard to say whether this place is friendly. We never saw a soul. Just signs telling us where to drop our money. We called the phone number posted, but the woman who answered was nowhere near this place and knew nothing. So we deducted the Good Sam discount since they advertise on their own sign and in Trailer Life as a Good Sam park and dropped the resulting $20 in the box. There's no reason to ever come back. If the trains persist, there will be a good reason to stay away. The rumble actually shakes the motorhome slightly, and the whistle is louder than we like to have the television volume. I agree that the banners with the Bible verses are over the top considering the contrast between what they imply and the complete indifference these people seem to have to the people from whom they want to take money. It won't be us again! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2007
$17
Hoofer's is the most non-hospitable RV campground we have encountered in 30 years of road travel. We phoned ahead to make sure the place was open for business. The phone was answered, "Gospel Barn." I asked if this was the correct number for the RV park and was told yes. The person on the phone volunteered no information, and sounded as though she was annoyed at having been interrupted. It was easy enough to find the place, but there was absolutely nobody around to greet us, do registration, whatever. At the gate, we found a stack of registration forms that had been left out in the weather, with instructions to fill one out and put it in an ordinary tin mailbox, along with our payment. Never mind that we prefer to use credit cards, and we certainly were not going to leave a check under the circumstances. The sites, such as they are, are laid out in rows in a big open area. Since the roads were gravel, becoming overgrown, there was no way to know if any of them were pull-throughs. Because we were tired, we made camp in spite of our misgivings. We watched half a dozen others come in the gate and go through the same confusing process we did. A few truckloads of workers showed up, but it appeared they were a painting crew, just using one of the sheds on the place for storage. I have never spent the night on a Wal-mart parking lot, but I am certain I'd get a better welcome there. Bible verses posted here and there on banners were actually offensive in the context of this we-don't-give-a-damn management. I suppose you could call it salvation by post-It notes, but the place showed no evidence of anyone caring about anything other than the money they expected to collect on the occasion of their gospel or bluegrass concerts. I will drive out of my way to avoid this place in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$15
We stayed 1 night while traveling. There are no recreational amenities except some weekends have Blue Grass or Gospel singing in the 'barn' which is on site. There are very, very clean restrooms and showers and nice laundry area. The hosts were very nice. Great place to stay if in the area or traveling through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
58
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   9   8   10   10   9   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$24
This is a very nice Corps of Engineers park on West Point lake. The sites are well spaced and offer lots of privacy. Water and electrical hookups were fine and I did not experience any problems with either. The front office personnel were very hospitable and helpful. They do a great job. The only objection to the park is that its about 12 miles or so from the nearest city. Other than that, its a wonderful park and we will be coming back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$24
Most of the sites within Whitetail Ridge COE are spacious. Most sites can accommodate large rigs and there is usually a space near the site to park a truck or tow. All of the interior roads were on asphalt. Some of the sites were on gravel while others were on asphalt. The interior roads were pretty narrow. There are only two buildings for bathrooms and only two shower stalls (per sex) for the entire campground. The loop we were in was only a ΒΌ filled and yet the electrical voltage was hovering around 115. I would image that during the summer the voltage would be a potential problem. All sites had 20/30 amp service. The utilities were located at the rear of the site. No Wi-Fi was available. Verizon cell phone and internet access was good. As of March of this year, all sites are on the reservation system. To avoid going through the town of LaGrange take exit 13 off of I-85, then take Pegasus Hwy which is just north of the Pilot truck stop. My GPS did not show this route but Goggle Earth did. I am assuming that this campground would get pretty busy during the summer. We would camp here again but only off-season. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$12
This yet another wonderful Corps campground. This one is adjacent to Holiday, and they are essentially the same: clean and well-maintained camp sites, rest rooms, playgrounds, and all. Many of the sites are right on the lake and the rest are just a short walk away. The camp hosts are very friendly and diligent about keeping the campground in top shape. There are about half a dozen campgrounds at West Point Lake. They are all so nice that even though we live in the area, we frequently go "camping" just because the experience is so good. The stated rate reflects the Senior Discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Whitetail Ridge COE
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com