214403 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Almo, Idaho (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
28.18 miles N
-Other Nearby Points-
Durfee Spring 102
0.62 miles SW
City Of Rocks National
1.52 miles SW
Grape Creek Warm Spring 72
3.70 miles SE
Sears Spring 84
9.18 miles NE
Rice Spring, Ward Spring 72
15.28 miles NE
Idaho
Almo
Most Recently Reviewed
Castle Rocks State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-13 05:20:31
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Almo, Idaho
Camp Information
Sites
38
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   7   8   9   9   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$22
Very attractive CG on the lower slopes of Smokey Mountain, just past the visitors center for City of Rocks/Castle Rocks. (Interesting arrangement - a federal area & state park administered jointly.) All sites in the state park campground have electric & water hookups, and the campground has a bathhouse/showerhouse with flush toilets, soap at the sinks, and individual shower rooms; they are older & rather spartan, but were very clean. There's a campground host there fulltime; otherwise registration is done at the visitor center or at a self-reg kiosk. The main draw of the area is for rock climbers and bicyclists, and the makeup of the campers reflects this. Previous comments about sites 15 & 16 apply to several other sites as well. Beautiful place, both the campground and the state park & national reserve - and just the local scenery! We will return, but not likely in midsummer. (Just too hot to enjoy the outdoors.) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$23
Pinon trees. Number thirty seven (#37) a back in, not straight but very private. This loop has horse corals. Lots of flies! A nice area! Campground on a hill side, so most sites have some slope. The "rocks" and history are spectacular! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
Nice campground but it is deceptive to find. It is not right inside the state park but rather in Smokey Mountain campground. Follow the directions on the state park reservation page for correct directions. Most sites had partial shade. Avoid site 16. The pad of site 15 looks down on your site and so there is no privacy. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Castle Rocks State Park
Camp Information
Sites
64
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$12
I gave the park a 8 because of the nice primitive campsites with good views of the rocks and country side. No facilities here except for vault toilets. The park is kid friendly in so far as there is open areas to play. No playground or other facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$16
There are several campgrounds in the City of Rocks, but not all can accommodate large RVs. The sites are all dirt and some are not very level. We stayed in site #7 which was large enough for our 36' class A, but not very level. Getting there is the tough part. From Almo you need to drive about 3 miles on a rough dirt road (not maintained in winter and very messy when wet). We would say here again, but would think twice about bringing the RV. No cell reception from either AT&T or Verizon. Weak signal in town though the local market offers Internet access. Water (threaded spigot) is available at the Visitor Center so fill up there. There is a dump station just before the dirt road into the campground. Lots of hiking and biking trails with great scenery. Dogs are allowed on the trails! Castle Rocks State Park has a nearby campground that may be better suited for RVs. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com