220522 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Arco, Idaho (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
25.20 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Carrolls Travel Plaza
Arco
0.43 miles NW
Idaho
Arco
Most Recently Reviewed
Craters of the Moon / Arco KOA Mountain View RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-09 14:19:332014-09-09 04:14:21
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Arco, Idaho
Camp Information
Sites
57
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   8   8   9   1   4   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$36
Price shown is the daily rate with a 15% Escapees discount. We enjoyed our stay here. The owners are friendly and helpful, and are working hard to keep the campground nice. Arco is a very small town, so it is very quiet and peaceful here. The utilities all worked well, and we had a clear view of the sky for satellite. About 18 miles to Craters of the Moon NM and Preserve. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$38
I asked for a shady spot because it was hot and my popup doesn't have AC. We got a perfect spot. The WiFi is slow and works only when close to the main building. The sites are mostly level and the spacing is moderate. The staff is very friendly. This KOA has a small pool, of which we took full advantage. The town of Arco isn't much. A couple diners, a couple gas stations and a small grocery. The main attraction is Craters of the Moon National Monument - which is about 20 minutes away. It's beautiful - in a volcanic sort of way. I'm not a big fan of KOA, but I liked this place. We had no problems with noisy neighbors. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$38
We were lucky to get a site with satellite access. Some sites are not satellite friendly. We were unlucky in that we reserved a 50 amp site and got a 30 amp. I was not going to move the rig and risk loosing our satellite service. The sites and roads are all gravel and the manager made a strong point about not parking on the grass with the RV or car. The problem with this is that the sites are only about 8 feet wide so you have to line up very carefully and your slides will go over the grass. They need to scrape the grass back to make the parking sites wider. Many of the guests are "camping" and cook over a fire and sit out late at night talking. The bottom line is that this is a fairly decent campground and could have been a lot worse. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Craters of the Moon / Arco KOA
Camp Information
Sites
51
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   10   7   10   10   9   10   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
Your only chance to camp on the moon. Unique environment, camping in the lave flows. The rangers did interesting nightly programs in the campground amphitheater. This is a small/remote park. Don't expect to be able to do shopping once you arrive. Come with your holding tanks empty, because there is no dump station either (though nearby towns have free ones). Big rigs / trailers need to be very careful. It's a tight campground and the big rocks are unforgiving. Saw a travel trailer dragged over a boulder as the campers were driving through looking at spots. There were a few big rigs, but parking/positioning them is not for amateurs here. We enjoyed the unique setting so much that we stayed an extra night. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$10
Nice campground at entrance to the park. No services available. No hot water or showers. Very little shade, but there are some sites with a single tree that can provide some shade. I was in #11 - nice pull thru - relatively close to the recycle area. Flies were a bit pesky, so if you are outside you will need a good swatter or spray. Great campground to see the park with. Allow at least 1 and half day to see all of the park. Make sure you get your cave permit before you leave the visitor center. Caves are easy hikes and worth it. Campground was very quiet and the two nights I was there only about 20% full. Would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$10
In my top "3" campgrounds, this place rocks (no pun intended)! A beautiful, eerie and yet serene campground, each site is clean and provides a view of the lava works. Super friendly rangers; take advantage of the various activities posted on boards throughout the campground. The hikes are fantastic and bicycling is perfect. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Craters of the Moon National Monument/Lava Flow Campground
Camp Information
Sites
44
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   10   6   8   9   10   8   6   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2014
$35
We liked this park pretty much. The pull through was too short for our 37' 5W and truck so we parked the truck in another site as they were not busy. The WiFi worked well as did the water and sewer. Verizon cell service and hotspot worked. We had a low voltage power problem in the morning when everyone must have been using their heaters. The 30A voltage dropped to 101 volts so our EMS shut off power to the RV. Later in the morning when it warmed up the voltage increased to 117 volts. There are lots of trees between sites so we had to carefully chose a site which would allow our rooftop dish to get a signal. We ate a good BBQ rib dinner in the CG restaurant. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
Very large CG, with long pull-through spaces that are easy to maneuver. Gravel internal roads and level spaces. Plenty of shade trees throughout the park. Large grass area around each space. Great Wi-Fi. Clean laundry room, well equipped. Good water pressure, power, and sewer. Trees are well trimmed. Easy access from the 20. This park has a small eatery serving breakfast and dinner (ribs being the main menu attraction). A few attractions in the area. The new owners live on the property and are very friendly and helpful. An overall great place to spend a few days. We were here for 7 days and loved it! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$32
This is a very nice campground in the fact that the sites are large and well treed. However the campground is right on US Highway 20 so there's a lot of traffic noise to contend with. The new owners have eliminated the free pancake and egg breakfast, which is too bad, it was a nice novelty. When we checked in we were not given a map or a set of rules or any information on area attractions which seemed strange. The town is very small ( We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Mountain View RV Park
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com