223611 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Arco, Idaho (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
25.20 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Carrolls Travel Plaza
Arco
0.43 miles NW
Idaho
Arco
Most Recently Reviewed
Craters of the Moon National Monument/Lava Flow Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-10-11 22:32:59
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Arco, Idaho
Camp Information
Sites
57
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   8   8   9   1   4   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$36
Price shown is the daily rate with a 15% Escapees discount. We enjoyed our stay here. The owners are friendly and helpful, and are working hard to keep the campground nice. Arco is a very small town, so it is very quiet and peaceful here. The utilities all worked well, and we had a clear view of the sky for satellite. About 18 miles to Craters of the Moon NM and Preserve. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$38
I asked for a shady spot because it was hot and my popup doesn't have AC. We got a perfect spot. The WiFi is slow and works only when close to the main building. The sites are mostly level and the spacing is moderate. The staff is very friendly. This KOA has a small pool, of which we took full advantage. The town of Arco isn't much. A couple diners, a couple gas stations and a small grocery. The main attraction is Craters of the Moon National Monument - which is about 20 minutes away. It's beautiful - in a volcanic sort of way. I'm not a big fan of KOA, but I liked this place. We had no problems with noisy neighbors. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$38
We were lucky to get a site with satellite access. Some sites are not satellite friendly. We were unlucky in that we reserved a 50 amp site and got a 30 amp. I was not going to move the rig and risk loosing our satellite service. The sites and roads are all gravel and the manager made a strong point about not parking on the grass with the RV or car. The problem with this is that the sites are only about 8 feet wide so you have to line up very carefully and your slides will go over the grass. They need to scrape the grass back to make the parking sites wider. Many of the guests are "camping" and cook over a fire and sit out late at night talking. The bottom line is that this is a fairly decent campground and could have been a lot worse. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Craters of the Moon / Arco KOA
Camp Information
Sites
51
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   10   7   10   7   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  no  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2014
$10
Regarding the campground itself, I can't add much to what's already been covered in previous reviews. It's definitely a strangely beautiful place and worth a stop if you don't mind dry camping. We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed the quiet after traffic on the highway died down in the evening. We didn't hear any generators running. We noticed the best / largest campsites were empty before noon and taken again by about 1-2 PM each day, so definitely come early if you need lots of room. During our stay in the fall on weekdays, the campground was maybe 50% filled. An AT&T wireless signal was nonexistent. Verizon data was slow and intermittent even when using an external antenna and a signal booster. I wouldn't come here planning to stay connected. Come here to unplug and relax. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$5
$5 (that’s a 50% senior discount with our Golden Age Passport) per night was for a primitive site in a level cinder area (some sites are very un-level) with a picnic table and pedestal BBQ unit. No wood burning is allowed but charcoal and propane grill units are allowed. The campground is in the high desert setting surrounded by the ancient volcanoes. Bicycles are permitted on park roads only. There are trails (you can walk up to the top of some cones) to many areas and caves (free permit needed) in the park. The campground is located not far off ID route 93 but there is very little traffic noise. The visitor center has two videos and a very nicely done exhibit about volcanic action in the area. Cell phone service and internet access at the campground is weak at best unless you have boosters. The night sky is brilliant with stars. The nearest town of Arco is 12 miles NE and offers good cell phone reception. It’s a small town with a nice park (where we sat at a table under the pavilion for internet access) and not much else. There is a dump station S of town. The town’s claim to fame is that it was the first town in the USA online with nuclear generated power. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$5
Our site was level and big rig friendly. Staff was helpful and scenery was outstandingly unusual. We made a short stop here and glad we did. Very unique facility with interesting geologic history. We would definitely stay here again! Price reflects Golden Age card discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Craters of the Moon National Monument/Lava Flow Campground
Camp Information
Sites
44
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   9   10   6   8   9   10   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$39
If you're in southeastern Idaho, this is a great place to stay. Sites are huge, level, and easy to get in to and out of. Electric is good and water is adequate with pressure regulated by the park. Unfortunately, there is no cable TV and broadcast channels are sketchy. A rarity is that they encourage washing RVs at the site. The owners are great, friendly folks who also operate Arco's best restaurant right at the park. If they had cable TV and concrete parking pads, this would be a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2014
$35
We liked this park pretty much. The pull through was too short for our 37' 5W and truck so we parked the truck in another site as they were not busy. The WiFi worked well as did the water and sewer. Verizon cell service and hotspot worked. We had a low voltage power problem in the morning when everyone must have been using their heaters. The 30A voltage dropped to 101 volts so our EMS shut off power to the RV. Later in the morning when it warmed up the voltage increased to 117 volts. There are lots of trees between sites so we had to carefully chose a site which would allow our rooftop dish to get a signal. We ate a good BBQ rib dinner in the CG restaurant. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
We stayed only one night in this park but will be back. It's well kept, spaces are nice and big and has very easy access. Previous reviewers have mentioned the wonderful things about the restaurant so we decided to try it. Very good food, ribs are awesome, but we felt they were pricey. My husband had a sandwich and a beer, I had the ribs and a glass of water and the tab was over $35+tip. Will stay at the park again for sure, but probably won't go to the cafe. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Mountain View RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com