223192 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Island Park, Idaho (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
14.65 miles SE
22.86 miles SW
25.42 miles SW
32.59 miles SE
34.72 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Harriman State Park
5.63 miles NE
Dump
Island Park
8.45 miles NE
Ashton Warm Spring 79
13.97 miles SE
Visitor Center
Ashton
15.13 miles SE
Idaho
Island Park
Most Recently Reviewed
Henrys Lake State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-10-01 16:26:44
7 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Island Park, Idaho
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
Great spot 35 miles from the entry to Yellowstone. Great owners and very helpful. No sewer, but a dump station. Owners make cinnamon rolls in the morning and the best pizza in the area. Great, laid back operation. Stayed for ten days and would definitely come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
Very helpful owner/operators gave directions to location and other info. Espresso and cinnamon rolls in the a.m. were great! Unlimited supply of hot water in showers. Internet connection was excellent. Could use a little more lighting for trips to bathroom in the night. Will definitely come here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
This park is 32 miles from the East entrance to Yellowstone and is fine if you can not find reservations anywhere else. Only water and electric at sites but they do have a dump station. It was very woodsy behind the campground and grassy at the sites. The mosquitoes were horrible and we fought them for 2 nights in our motor home, which is why we left the campground. They make great pizza's, coffee, and espresso. The owners are wonderful and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
84
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   9   7   6   7   9   8   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$35
$35.44 per night (this included $5/day vehicle entrance fee) was for a level asphalt pad site with full hookups, picnic table, and fire ring. The campground is in a desert-like setting but has been planted with trees and each site has a grassy area making it seem not so dry. This lovely campground is located overlooking Henrys Lake. Cabins are available but there are no primitive sites. The park staff and campground hosts were very friendly and helpful. Bicycles are permitted on park roads and trails but the trails can be very bumpy. Do your shopping before arrival as stores are miles away. We used this campground as our base to visit Yellowstone National Park as it’s only 13 miles to the west entrance. AT&T cell service is fine for calls and texting with four bars Edge. We used our Milliencom jetpack for internet access as we received four bars of 4G LTE. Park Wi-Fi is available but it costs $$ after the 20 free minutes per 12 hour period. There were four OTA PBS TV stations. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$34
They just opened up a new section in July with some 50 amp full hookup back-in sites. We stayed in new section in a 40' motorhome. Water pressure and electric were good. Interior roads and sites were new asphalt and easy to negotiate. Restrooms and showers were very clean. We could get 3 bars on our Verizon phone and my Millenicom MiFi got 4G LTE well. The views around the lake are very nice, sunsets are pretty, there was a lot of wind each day we were there. The $34 includes the $5/day State Park entrance fee, so campsite actually cost around $29/night. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$34
We camped here three nights and were very pleased with the facility. Water and electric at the site, and a dump station near the entrance/exit gate. We had one of the few pull-through sites, as most sites are back-ins. The camp host was very friendly, and hosts appeared good at picking up any trash left behind by sloppy campers. Great view of the lake and mountains on all sides. We don't fish, but there were quite a few fishing boats coming and going while we were there. 14 miles from the city of West Yellowstone and West entrance to Yellowstone National Park. Any shopping or restaurant needs must be done in either West Yellowstone or Island Park, ID about 16 miles South. This park has a brand new, unopened camping loop with new bathhouse that appeared almost ready. These new loops offer full hook ups, but opening date is not known at this time, but I would guess very soon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Henrys Lake State Park
Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
July 2007
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
question
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$23
The park is located on Henry's lake. The park rents docks and there is a boat launch ramp. The pull through sites are dirt and are not level. I was able to level my motorhome ok with the levelers. The 50 amp power was ok at between 106 and 110 volts. Water pressure was a little low at about 40 lbs. I was able to get satellite tv with a remote dish. This park is a low cost alternative to the much higher priced West Yellowstone RV parks. This park is about 16 miles from West Yellowstone. The WIFI worked 5 out of the 7 days we stayed here. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
63
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2013
$29
Sites were spacious and large and that is about the best that can be said. Overgrown with weeds; our site had quite a bit of broken glass. Every thing is gravel, dirt, and weeds. This place could have potential if someone would do some work. Sites on each side of us had leaking water pipes, which were reported, but numerous people said no one seemed interested if fixing them. Bath house left a lot to be desired. Husband liked location for fly fishing, but I won't stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
62
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   8   10   10   4   8   7   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$45
Camped here for 9 days and the hosts are very accommodating and pleasant. Each site has a grass area and is larger than most private campgrounds. Lake Henry is a short distance as are several venues. This is a long way from city life and any large stores. Peaceful and quiet place to relax and fishing is close by. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$48
This is our 2nd time staying at this campground. We camped here in a 40' motorhome. The electric and water service worked well. Bottom line, it is a pretty nice campground with all of the right amenities, but, I think that it is overpriced for what you get. But, there aren't many choices out there in Island Park area in full hookup campgrounds so they can charge these kinds of rates and get it. We stayed one night and then moved on. The owners were very pleasant to deal with. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$43
If I had to use one word to describe our stay here, it would be "quiet". While there are several other choices in Island Park that are closer to the highway, RedRock is a ways off the main highway, but well worth the short few minutes to get there. It's quiet, and the scenery is unlike anything else you'll find along the roadside. Be sure to wait until the hosts guide you to your site. They're more than willing to help assist you with getting set up (even in the POURING rain). We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for RedRock RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
67
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   7   10   8   5   4   2   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2014
$41
I called ahead and explained very clearly that I have a large rig, towing a trailer (65’ overall). They assured me there would be no problem. Well, the site may have been long enough, and if I was camping in a helicopter it would have been fine. The problem is, this campground is overgrown with trees and maneuvering to a site with a big rig is impossible. Eventually they were able to accommodate me, but it took a long time and too much “explaining”. If you have a small rig and your only concern is that there be plenty of trees, you’ll like this campground. What I consider overgrown some will call ‘nicely wooded’. Wi-Fi is available only in the office. The campsites are close to the highway, but noise was never an issue. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
Lots of shade, but trees so thick not much room on either side of vehicle. Hot tub and pool were freezing cold. Wi-Fi signal so weak hardly usable. Most sites so close together no room to sit in front of RV. This is more of a sleeping spot for Yellowstone visitors than a place to spend a week. We didn't hate it, but we certainly didn't love it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Very wooded park. Nice hookups. Most sites are pull through. Beautiful and quiet. Close to Yellowstone. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Sawtelle Mountain Resort
Camp Information
Sites
78
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   9   3   7   8   8   8   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
We had a somewhat similar experience as the previous reviewer. We came in early July,expecting to get the 15% Escapees club discount, per the Guidebook, on the (inflated) $40 daily rate. The curt cashier said NO Discounts in July. The workamper we met later was much nicer and offered to pass on the discrepancy to the absentee owner. Nevertheless, we had to pay the full $40 and felt quite ripped off. Consider that the monthly rate is $450 ($15 day!). The previous camper was lucky he came in June for the Passport America rate. There was no TV antenna reception; our Verizon cell and MiFi were slow but better than the bad park Wi-Fi. The highway noise on the front row was loud all night. The sewer cap was a foot below ground and the water spigot also low, so we didn't use them. The view of the mountains and lake is really nice, and the big laundromat was welcome. Otherwise, there are many other better choices in the area, both private and government campgrounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$37
Price was for 50 Amp full hook ups weekly rates with Escapees discount. No pool, no playground, no campfires make this a wonderful quiet and peaceful place to camp. Food is very expensive in this area of the country, so stock up before you come. They have gravel driveways and pads. We were deluged with rain for a couple days, but drainage was excellent with only a couple small puddles to contend with. There is no cable TV. There are 2 over-the-air channels available, channel 8 and channel 10 (PBS). They are extremely difficult to tune in and impossible to get half the time. Most campers were using satellite. There was no trash pickup at the sites; bear proof dumpsters were available. The free WiFi strength was excellent, but the response was slow and barely useable. There were some mosquitoes at night (nothing like the warms in Yellowstone), but no flies. Lots of ground squirrels and robins. Verizon and ATT wireless showed 5 out of 5 bars signal strength. They do have a huge laundry. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
This is a clean, well maintained park with spacious, relatively level sites and very easy off/on to highway 20. The lady who greeted us on the driveway and the fellow who parked us were a delight to encounter at the end of a long day of driving: welcoming, friendly and helpful. The lady at the reception desk was unbelievably rude. The rate per night was considerably higher than advertised on the Passport America website. Although the park says it offers Wi-Fi it is Wi-Fi in name only. I experienced better speed and dependability with my old dial-up modem of years gone by. From a purely physical point of view this park should rate a 6 or a 7 but the way in which my wife was treated while negotiating our stay at the (vastly inflated) Passport America rate warrants no more than a 3 (and even then I am being generous). Bottom line: if you want a nice site with unacceptable Wi-Fi at an inflated price while being badly treated by check-in staff this definitely is the place for you. We will not stay here again... if we cannot find a similarly optioned RV park in this area (and there are lots of other parks nearby) for 30$/night or less we will simply stop sooner or drive further. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Valley View RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com