224371 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Lava Hot Springs, Idaho (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
8.93 miles NW
12.73 miles SW
27.58 miles NW
31.32 miles SE
33.18 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Lava Hot Springs 113
1.26 miles NE
Portneuf River Warm Spring 93
12.08 miles NE
Flags West
I-15 X31
14.20 miles SW
Pebble Creek Ski Area
15.05 miles NW
Idaho
Lava Hot Springs
Most Recently Reviewed
Lava Spa Motel & RV
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-14 03:01:35
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Lava Hot Springs, Idaho
Camp Information
Sites
95
Date of Stay
September 2008
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$32
Price includes tax which is a bit over priced for what you get. Park has no Cable, Wi-Fi, 50 amp, or pool. It has two sections, a lower under larger trees and an upper which has smaller trees 15 - 20 feet tall all of which need to be trimmed. We did not enter the lower section but it was hard to find an upper section site where you could avoid contact with small tree branches. We were on the high end of the park and had barely enough water pressure to take a shower which probably is not an issue on the lower sites. A fairly active railroad track is less then 200 yards from the park and town. There were a few over the air TV channels which we left on all night to drown out the train noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$27
Nice park. Owners very helpful and friendly. Close to the hot springs and to downtown. The restrooms and showers are very clean and well kept. The campground has two levels with the lower level having very large trees. A few pull through sites. Some noise from the trains and the highway but not too bad. Very nice for a couple of days. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$22
Basic family operated campground. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Camp was within three blocks of Lava Hot Springs Hot Baths, a state operated facility. We spent the entire afternoon and evening there. There are 4 pools ranging from 104 to 110 degrees. Camp is on small river that runs through town. It was close to highway and train but noise was not bad. They have little supplies, but every store in town is within walking distance. It is a nice area to spend a day or two. Hot Springs also operates a large pool complex in the summer with waterslides and such. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
95
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   3   4   8   1   4   3   5   5   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  question  no  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
Beautiful location, great amenities, lots to do in town and around camp site. Only complaint would be the trains that run night and day that are so close to this site you can feel the ground shake. If you have young babies, they will not be able to sleep here. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$67
Not Big Rig friendly! The sites are level for some areas but extreme slope in others. They have 3 premium sites that are premium because there is a concrete pad 40 feet long. But trees obstruct the satellite coverage. Nice people and new owners, but I wouldn't stay here in a Big Rig (over 34 feet ). We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$46
Campground has 30 & 50 amp area. We were in the old 30 amp area with FUSE boxes. Our power blew those old screw in fuses and we had to wait until morning to get another fuse. We had only our fridge and clock using electricity. We left messages on their answering machine, but they did not return our calls. Employee in the morning didn't know where the answering machine was. Dusty campground that advertises that they deliver pizza to your site. The kitchen area is messy and dirty and not appetizing. STAY AWAY! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Lava Hot Springs KOA
Camp Information
Sites
23
Date of Stay
September 2010
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
question
Cable TV
question
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
This place is not for everyone but we liked it. Had a spot 20 feet from the river with electric water is available but not at all sites. No sewer hook up. People are very friendly would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
16
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$30
Like so many campgrounds the owner/manager made all the difference. He was very nice, and we enjoyed our stay. No showers or laundry, and we were there after the 'season' was over, so it was quiet. ALL campgrounds in this location are going to hear the train as it labors up the canyon. Plenty of shade, plenty of room between sites. We are looking forward to staying there again. I believe if you're coming after the main season (after Labor-day) you could probably bargain hard for a better price. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$45
We've stayed here before. A nice place on the river but priced too high. There wasn't even a dumpster this time. It is right across the street from the hot springs so very convenient. Staff and owner are very friendly and try to be accommodating. I would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$44
Stayed here with my family during our kids fall break from school. We really liked how close the site is to the hot springs -- (just across the street). RV site had nice cement pad outside our door, and river behind our rig was fun to listen to. Sites feel a bit close together, and no frills at this site. For example, fire ring is a bunch of rocks too close to RV to be useful, no barbeque, no table. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Lava Spa Motel & RV
Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   2   9   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
This was a great park to stay at. It is well maintained, clean bathrooms - the main bathrooms are closed from 10pm to 8pm but regularly cleaned Porta Potties are available with hand sanitizer for the night. Trees are large, most (if not all) spaces had a picnic table, a tree for shade and a fire ring. The river is nearby but well fenced off - the only RV park we found in Lava Hot Springs with that feature (we travel with little children so that's a great feature!). The staff was friendly, they are hard to reach by phone but leave a message and they will call back. They go out in person and make sure you find the right site and will not answer the phone while checking another camper in. This is a non-profit campground run by the Sheriff's Association and managed by a retired sheriff. Probably not the campground for anyone who wants to party all night!!! (I'm chuckling as I type that!) I toured the other campgrounds that I could find in Lava Hot Springs, Idaho, and this was by far the best I could find. I recommend this campground, it will accommodate large rv's. It is not paved but we didn't mind. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Since you cannot put specifics on this website, lets just say the staff is 'get in your face' rude. The sites are on top of each other. The river view sites are way above the river and you can barely see it if you lean over the fence. You are right off the main road so there is a lot of traffic noise. They lock up the bathrooms at night so we did not use them. And make sure you read the list of rules, because they are all over you, if you break them. The shade trees were great and they did come around and pick up your trash. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
Beautiful little park in a beautiful location. The Good: Friendly greetings; a quiet park (we were here during the week, I think weekends are busier); just far enough away from town for peace and quiet, but close enough to walk to the Hot Springs, which are amazing. This park is right up against the hill behind the KOA park, so the train is further away and relatively quiet. Trains tend to blow their whistles at the other end of town. Nice grassy location. The only thing I regretted was that we were right under a light. The stars are amazing if you can put a tree or two between you and the lights. The one warning I would issue is the water pressure is extremely high (95 lbs). We blew out a hose, but without our regulator we could have damaged our RV. Would stay here again when we are in the Lava Hot Springs area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Mary's Place
Camp Information
Sites
87
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   2   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$55
We enjoyed are stay here. It was nice to be so close to the swimming pool and town. We stayed by the river and there is hot water from the pools that dump into the river. The kids liked to hangout there, especially after floating the river. You can bring your own tubes or rent them. They have very large trees that make it shady. You can tell this is an old campground and needs some updates. It is almost like it has been passed down the family and now the kids just do what is needed. The staff was very nice and helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$33
Our experience here was different than other reviews because in September we were the only RV here. We had some train noise but not after 10 PM, when it was very quiet. It is a close walk to one of two hot springs and not far from the large one. We were able to get DirecTV from our site. Yes, the hookups are old but 50 amps worked fine and we backed in on the grass site with no problem and it was very level. The normal fees here are $45 but during off season in September we paid $33. This time of year this is a decent location for the hot springs that are available. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$4 9
In 25 years of RVing, this was the worst experience we have ever had. It was definitely meant for campers, not RVers. Lots of tenters, dogs and kids run loose throughout the park, everyone walks through others spaces, noisy. It does have lots of shade and is right on the river. May be perfect for families with kids, but not for older RVers. No enforcement of hours. Awful! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Rivers Edge RV & Camping
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com