221771 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Stanley, Idaho (Air Miles)
-Other Nearby Points-
Mormon Bend Hot Spring 100
4.99 miles SE
Basin Creek Hot Spring 133
5.07 miles SE
Elkhorn Hot Spring 136
5.97 miles SW
Sunbeam Hot Springs 169
7.12 miles SE
Stanley Hot Spring 106
8.02 miles SW
Robinson Bar Hot Springs 131
10.88 miles SE
Sawtooth Rgr Stn
Stanley
11.04 miles S
Idaho
Stanley
Most Recently Reviewed
Elk Mountain RV Resort
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-03 16:39:16
9 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Stanley, Idaho
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   5   10   5   5   5   1   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  no  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$27
This park has a variety of site sizes and types in the lower shaded area...some more level than others. Pads are gravel, no fire pits at individual sites, but a nice central fire pit/grill in a grass area with a large awning over picnic tables. The Pot Belly cafe on-site is very good casual dining. The smoked prime rib offered on Weds & Sat is great. Free laundromat and nice folks make this worth a visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$24
We stayed here 9 nights and got one night free. The spaces are a bit tight getting in, but they were helpful with getting you parked. This also means you have close neighbors, which was OK since our friends were on one side and on the other side was a guy who worked; plus we are gone all day hiking and bicycling. The restrooms are good, but the showers could use some regular cleaning. It was quiet and a nice park. Nice and friendly managers. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
The RV park is in a beautiful setting, but nothing fancy. The Pot Belly Cafe on site has wonderful food. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. We stayed in pull through site # 11. No TV reception unless you have satellite. WI-FI was good at our site. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Elk Mountain RV Resort
Camp Information
Sites
45
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$16
Wonderful campground along the Salmon River. Sites are well spaced out and easy to get into. Somewhat sparse tree cover, but it is adequate (my solar panels loved it). Our space was level -- did not see many blocks, so I think most sites are very level. Access to river via trail. A quiet alternative to the zoo at Redfish Lake. Water is available in the campground and is of a very high quality, but it is via a hand pump -- make sure you fill your tanks before you arrive. Dump stations and drinking water are available two miles away at either the ranger station or Redfish Lake. The ranger station may have the most scenic dump in the world. Keep in mind though that the drinking water hose has a narrow diameter -- it can take 20-30 minutes to fill your water tank. There is an adequate market in Stanley for food, but the nearest "real" supermarket is probably in Challis. All in all, a wonderful campground and we will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$16
We found this to be a very pleasant campground. It is set among lodge pole pine, with views of the Sawtooth Mountains. The Salmon River runs adjacent to the campground, and can be heard from much of the campground. Only a few sites have views of the river. The roads and spurs are paved, as is the area around the picnic tables and fire pits. Each site also has a leveled tent pad. Overall, the facilities are excellent. Water is by hand pump only. When I filled a bucket, the water didn't look very clean. I am sure it is safe, but I would bring my own water for cooking and drinking. The vault toilets are in modern concrete buildings. They are spotlessly clean and very fresh smelling. There are no showers in the campground, although showers are available near Redfish Lake. The roads are easy to navigate for big rigs. Many sites will accommodate a 40' motorhome with toad. Our site handled our 40' motorhome, LARGE toad, and motorcycle with room to spare. Of the campgrounds in the immediate area, this seems the best suited for larger RVs. Some sites are not as level as they could be- we ended up with both front wheels of our motorhome off the ground. Most sites are well separated, but there is relatively little undergrowth for privacy. The lodge pole pines will provide minimal shade. You can hear the traffic on the highway, but we didn't find it objectionable. We were pleasantly surprised to have decent Verizon cellular service. Internet access thru our aircard was intermittent, but better than nothing!This location is less than 3 miles from Redfish Lake. There is a dump station available near Redfish Lake, and another one near the ranger station, about 3 miles north of the campground. Both dump stations have a $5.00 fee, and drinking water is available at each. The town of Stanley is about 5 miles away, and has several restaurants, a small grocery, fuel, lodging, and post office. We will definitely return to Sunny Gulch when in the area! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
16
Date of Stay
August 2011
Latest Rate
$7



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$7
This is a beautiful spot located right on the Salmon River. The camp host keeps the facilities very clean. Fly fishing right outside your unit's door is terrific. Kayaking or tubing from Stanley to the campground is excellent! Lots of outdoor things to do in a very short drive from the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$13
Beautiful Forest Service Campground located on the Salmon River. Interior roads and sites are newly paved. Sites are level and long enough to accommodate a 40ft motorhome plus small tow. A few sites are close to Hwy. which is not a busy one. Most sites are back ins, a few pull throughs. No cell service. We would definitely return. This is a quiet park approximately 7 miles from Stanley. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
19
Date of Stay
September 2009
Latest Rate
$9



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$9
The campsites are some of the best we've ever camped in. The pads are asphalt and level. The picnic tables were in great condition and they even had separate built-in cooking tables to set your grill on. We had a split rail fence behind our site that gave it such a nice rustic, cozy feel. Beautiful trees surrounded the site. The only problem was that the campground host was negligent in cleaning the vault toilets. They had a strong ammonia odor. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
August 2011
Latest Rate
$6



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$6
I checked off "pull thru" sites but there are only 2 or 3 of them. The rest are back-in. The pit toilets are kept very clean. The roads and sites are asphalt and fairly level. Sites have picnic tables and campfire grills. Half of the campground is on the river side of Idaho 75 the other half are located on the other side of the road. The water is by old fashioned pump, which means you can't hook a water hose up to it. There is a dump station and drinking water is available to dump/fill your tanks 1 mile south of Stanley, ID., at the ranger station. A $5.00 donation is appreciated. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$11
The only reason this campground did not get a 10 is because there are no hookups. This is a beautiful National Forest Service Campground located about 4 miles northeast of Stanley and is right on the beautiful Salmon River, the "River of No Return" which was the setting for the movie starring Marilyn Monroe. The sites are all very long, paved, and many are right on the banks of the river. This is one of the few National Forest Campgrounds in this Sawtooth Wilderness area where the roads and sites are fully paved and can handle a big rig. We pulled our 40' motorhome (with ease) head into the site so we could see the river from the windshield. The river was about 30 feet in front of us, with lots of white water boiling over the rocks. The camp manager was gracious and welcomed us like family. We boon docked here for only two nights due to our schedule, but we will definitely return for a longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
10
Date of Stay
September 2009
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$18
This is a small campground currently consisting of 10 sites located on the Big Wood River. There is a hot spring and swimming pool within walking distance and the Harriman bike trail runs through the campground. Part of the campground is closed due to flood damage. There are no facilities except for some pit toilets which were clean. The water faucets in the campground don’t work. Potable water and a dump station are available at the visitor center about 6 miles away. Interior roads and sites are gravel. All sites are level and can accommodate larger RVs. The campground host was friendly and helpful. We had a double site, but couldn’t tell much difference between the single and double sites. It was quiet except for some highway noise. However, traffic is light and almost nonexistent at night. This is a great place for dry camping. We would camp here again. Although this campground lacks facilities, we rated it compared to other dry camping experiences. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$25
The CG is comprised of 3 loops and sits on a wooded hillside near Redfish Lake. Sites and access roads are all paved and asphalt extends to the picnic table and fire ring area. Although this is a USFS site it is operated by a concessionaire. Most sites need some leveling and many are not suitable for bigger rigs. This CG and all the others in the area fill quickly and reservations are essential for summer weekends. Redfish Lake provides a wide range of water sports and spectacular views. Trail access to the Sawtooth Mtns. begins near the CG. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
23
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$16


Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$16
Would be a 10 with hook-ups. Easy access, big sites, asphalt roads with cement pads. This is just a beautiful campground with great camp hosts. If you like to dry camp this is heaven, it is first come with no reservations taken. Get there early and enjoy!!! Will visit again!! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$16
Sockeye is one of the half dozen NFS campground units at Redfish Lake South of Stanley. Newly renovated...large/long and wide asphalt pads, some single some double. No hook ups here. Dump station within a mile. Limited services. Gas available, no diesel, no propane in park...need to go to Stanley...about 15 minutes. Generator use from 8 am until 10 pm allowed...we did. Stunning setting in Sawtooth. Cold and wet when we were here. Park was not full. Maybe too early in season? No At&t...Verizon OK. Limited shots for satellite TV from Sockeye spots. Views of Lake and Sawtooth Mountains from sites 6-11. Stayed 3 nights. No reservations accepted in Sockeye unit. Other units had full reservations..no space. We would probably return if passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
18
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$7.5



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   3   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$7.5
Had a site with good view of the beautiful lake. People were very friendly and helpful. Area was clean and site was almost level. Can't expect much for $7.50 The area was beautiful even though the fantastic mountains were hard to see because of the smoke from the fires near the area. Would go back. Was cold at night: 29 degrees and this was still summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$7.5
We stayed in the Lakeside Loop. The road into the campground is very rough and not maintained. Area around the sites is not maintained. We paid for our site within the 30 minutes required. Someone checked the fee box later that evening, but the next morning the host told us (and the people in the site across from us) that neither one of us had paid, even though nothing was said when the box was checked that evening! We paid a 2nd time because we had paid with cash, so had no proof. Would NOT stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$10
What a beautiful place. 50 yards off the back of our trailer was Stanley Lake, and across the lake was a great view of the Sawtooths. Picture post card! Campground was well groomed and the restrooms were very clean. There are pumps for drinking water, but we found the water to have a rust taste so we were glad we brought our own. Price reflects $10 reservation fee and Senior discount with a federal card. I checked the GPS and found us at 6600 ft. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Stanley Lake Campground
Camp Information
Sites
4
Date of Stay
August 2010
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
There are only two locations with hookups in Stanley. This is not a large area with only 4 RV slots. There is a small grassy area adjacent to three of those spots. There is not a lot of shade available but given the evening and night temps in Stanley this is not as critical as it might be elsewhere. Slots are all back in but the gravel apron is very large and we had no problems backing in. Our site was very close to level. The gravel parking area was very welcome as there was hard rain/hail on several afternoons and nights. It is fairly close to the highway, but Idaho 21 is not a heavily traveled road and very quiet at night. BBQ grills are available at the side of the motel. Hookups worked well, and the area was very neat and clean. There is an outstanding view of the Sawtooth mountains to the south. Sign up in office about Wi-Fi but we did not use it so can’t comment on it. We would recommend purchasing supplies before getting to Stanley, as local availability is somewhat limited. Had a good dinner at the Casino Club, and the Stanley Bakery serves good breakfasts. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2009
$27
Located 1/2 mi. W. of Hwy. 21-75 junction on Hwy 21. This was okay if you just need a place with hook ups but hardly a camping experience. Situated between the office and the motel there are 4 RV spots. Actually it's more like a parking lot with hook ups. Each space had about a 4 by 6 foot piece of grass. The rest of the property is mainly crushed rock. No pull through option. No shade at all and right on highway 21. I didn't see any bathrooms or showers so I assume none are provided. If you just want a place to sleep and not looking to drag out the deck chairs and enjoy nature this is okay. The electric hook ups looked fairly new, the area was clean and well maintained. No dirt to make it dusty. The town of Stanley only has two RV parks that have any hook ups, so not a lot of choices. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com