215029 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Amboy, Illinois (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
18.36 miles NW
20.59 miles N
20.97 miles NW
24.50 miles NW
27.27 miles SE
28.25 miles SE
29.45 miles N
-Other Nearby Points-
Green River Oaks Camping
(815)857-2815
1.65 miles SW
Woodhaven Lakes-509 Lamoille Rd
4.49 miles SE
Illinois
Amboy
Most Recently Reviewed
O'Connell's Yogi Bear Jellystone Park Camp-Resort
Latest Review Submited On
2014-06-05 18:37:12
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Amboy, Illinois
Camp Information
Sites
225
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   10   7   7   9   7   4   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
This is an older park that is out in the rural area, so it doesn't have any road noise, railroad trains, etc. It is showing its age and could use some good tlc and repairs. Check-in people were very nice and helpful. Our site was ok, but the sewer connection was broke and just laying on the ground. There are a number of folks who apparently keep there RVs there and come in on the weekends. Would probably stay again when in the area. We were there 4 days/3 nights while attending a class reunion. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
We stayed at Green River Oaks Camping Resort over 4th of July weekend. We really enjoyed our time here with our two sons. If you want a peaceful, relaxing trip, this is the place for you. First off, the owners are wonderful. They have owned the property for 41 years. They were very welcoming and made us feel at home. The land is beautiful. The swimming pools, basketball court & baseball were bonuses and fun for our boys. I won't lie, the place needs a little TLC, some bushes trimmed and the pavilion could use a new roof but none of that took from the beauty of this campground. We will definitely be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
Weekend camping. Large area, little rough sites but manageable. Internal roads ok; check-in hut during week. Great, open area and fields away for everything but we were parked in a reunion gathering with 20 other campers while there were many, many open spots we could have been assigned to. Low attendance. Mostly shady, restrooms fine, sites and surrounding areas mowed and clean. Great walking, hiking and bike riding area. Class A, probably won't return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Green River Oaks Resort
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   3   2   5   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  question  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$15
Rate reflects monthly rate. This is no longer a Passport America park. This is a get-away park for Chicago folks. Most sites are seasonal most are well kept and nicely landscaped. The residents are neighborly. The owners are on-site and accommodating. There is a restful, bucolic atmosphere here, especially during the week. Things ramp up a little on weekends and there are many activities. Big highlight for my sons was the weekly Sunday morning frog jumping contest. The fishing is good, catch and release for cats and bass; keep panfish if you like. The laundry is adequate. Showers/restroom a little dated but clean and serviceable. Like most of Illinois, there is high iron content in the water - you'll want a new filter when you leave. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
This is a Passport America park that is very popular with locals as there are mature trees and several lakes for fishing or swimming plus themed activities for kids and adults. Families come here for generations from what we were told. Interior roads are dirt/gravel and the sites were mainly grass. Some sites are very unlevel. We were near the office so had a back-in site with FHU and a decent WiFi signal. The owners are extremely nice and very helpful. The grounds in no way compare to modern RV parks we are accustomed to. Showers and restrooms need major work and cleaning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
We stayed for 3 nights over Memorial Day weekend. Yes, they have pull-thrus, but they go to dead ends so getting out was interesting. Pull-thru sites were nowhere near level, and even with my extensive blocking capability I couldn't get the 5th wheel close to being level. Wi-Fi was a joke - I had to take my computer outside the office to have access. No Wi-Fi signal at all in the pull-thru area. Bathrooms, toilets and showers were filthy. Saturday morning two of three toilets plugged. Sunday morning three of three toilets plugged. Fortunately they left a plunger outside for community use. Illinois health department should shut this place down. I will never return to Mendota Hills! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Mendota Hills
Camp Information
Sites
700
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   2   8   5   6   8   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  no  question  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$48
Wonderful park for the grandkids. They have such a good time here. We have been coming here for years. They used to have WI-FI so I had to use an aircard. Satellite reception was great. The area we stay in has no defined parking spaces so you just park on the grass next to the utilities (although it was quite level). Several pools and lots for the kids to do here. We will definitely come back again and again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$59
We stayed here again for Columbus Day weekend (Halloween weekend). Great time as usual. Excellent haunted house and Halloween activities. Always lots to do for young and old. The golf carts seemed to be more controlled this year, maybe they took everyone's advice. They even stop all vehicle traffic (including golf carts) during trick or treat time, and it`s enforced! We are already booked for next year. Can`t wait! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
This campground is designed for young families. Our children are grown so we just used it for camping. None of the attractions were open during our stay. Our site needed mowing. There was a little bit of gravel, but it had been overtaken by grass and weeds. The staff was somewhat friendly. They have very strict rules. We wanted our daughter and her two children to join us for a Sunday evening cook-out just for a couple of hours, but it would have cost $7 per person just for them to enter the campground. I could understand an admission fee if the attractions were open, but they weren't. I will not return to this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for O'Connell's Yogi Bear Jellystone Park Camp-Resort
Camp Information
Sites
123
Date of Stay
June 2008
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   1   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
This campground has no business letting "outsiders" in. This establishment only caters to the seasonal camper. Rules of the campground are not clearly posted anywhere. There did not seem to be any organized activities. There were no tents there at all when we camped. Staff was rude and refused our attendance on their "hayride". The only bath house was lacking attention and extremely dirty. Doors falling off of hinges and cobwebs everywhere. The swimming hole looked like a mucky swamp infested with bacteria. Fishing pond was also lacking attention. Not much in way of a store with camping supplies. Sites were tight for the more modern campers with slides. Only nice feature was the beautiful pine trees. I would not camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
Unbelievable. Most terrible camping experience we've ever had. The owners were rude and belligerent. Do not come here and do not bring your children. The owners screamed and yelled at us and my children, threatening to throw us out of the campground for singing children songs on the hay ride. My 5 and 7 year old were in total fear...screaming, crying. I argued with the owner after we were threatened and accused of using profanity...something we never did, nor did anyone else on the hay ride. I cannot explain their behavior, but they did call the sheriff to have us thrown out. This is a place for regulars...yearly and seasonal guests. I suggest if you consider coming for a weekend stay, that you do not. You will be an outsider and they will throw you out for any reason they wish, truthful or not. The bathrooms and showers were disgusting. I felt that my family was in danger staying there. Signs all over the grounds read "we reserve the right to refuse service to anyone". The playground sign reads "if you are older than 6 years old, and caught playing here, you will loose your playground privileges" How can they even prove age? Do they ask for the child's drivers license? The pond is considered "great for swimming". I wouldn't let my kids put one toe in that disgusting water. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$27
If you like quiet, this seems to be the place. The sites are shaded by tall pines. Some sites are a little tight. We have camped here three times now and it has never been crowded. They have a great park for little and big kids. They do have a swimming "hole" and a fishing pond. This park would be perfect if it had a pool. We camped here in '04, '05, and '06. We plan on coming back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Pine View Campgrounds
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com