218180 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Benton, Illinois (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
9.54 miles NW
10.61 miles N
12.43 miles S
14.90 miles SW
17.37 miles W
19.24 miles S
22.01 miles N
28.21 miles SW
28.99 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Super Wal-Mart
I-57 Exit 71
Rend Lake Plaza/Central St
1.20 miles NW
Southern Illinois Artisa
5.63 miles N
Larry'S Trailer Sales &
9.53 miles SW
Wal-Mart
1713 South Park Ave
15.38 miles SW
Illinois
Benton
Most Recently Reviewed
Gun Creek Campground - COE
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-17 20:32:57
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Benton, Illinois
Camp Information
Sites
52
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   10   9   6   7   7   5   4   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
Nice park for an overnight stay. They have robust cable, which is good because the abundance of trees makes satellite access unlikely. The wifi was good, and utilities were easily accessed. Water pressure and electricity were good. Sites are easy in, easy out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$36
This KOA was not like most that we had camped in. Upon entering the KOA, you are greeted by a row of what were obviously long term campers (or renters). Almost immediately, I found this off-putting because of the quality of and unsightliness of the trailers and vehicles. A fairly steep gravel road leads to the majority section of the campground, after the small hill, the camp opens up to approximately 35 or 40 pull-through and back-in sites. One can quickly see another row of long-term rigs lined up along the edge of the park that borders the highway fence. None of the campground is paved, but the gravel is level and dried out quickly after a brief rain. The spots are KOA close, but there was enough room for my 4 kids to play and not encroach on the other campers. The staff was like all other KOAs - helpful and immediately attentive to my questions and drowsiness-induced noob "there's a problem here" (there wasn't a problem). The bathrooms were clean and the pool was great. We really like the pool because it was 9 feet deep on one end and 3 at the other. A real adult use pool. Had I written a review after my first couple hours at the park, I would have told you it was the worst KOA that we had ever graced with our presence. But, that would have been incorrect. Upon researching the local area, we found some of the nicest, albeit far off the highway, Corps Of Engineers campgrounds we had ever seen. Also, there were many other campgrounds significantly closer to Rend lake - the local attraction. Taking all that in, the KOA is perfect for what it is - a great spot to overnight or spend a couple days. The pool is great, the camp is close to town and has easy access to the interstate, local big box stores, and restaurants. The KOA is open year round and there is a significantly sized underground coal mine close which I learned explained many of the long-term campers. 7 out of 10 stars for the gravel roads, shared fence line with the interstate and awkward/tight dumping station. Staff was great and can't beat a real pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
Very nice park with plenty of trees in a semi-rustic setting. Nice small creek that goes down one side and though the park. I can see where this could also be a destination park as well as a place to stop for a night of sleep and travel recovery. Warm welcome upon check-in, escorted to your site and offered assistance in hooking up. My only small complaint is the same that seems to haunt most all RV parks, that is the extremely limited Wi-Fi reception that seems slower than the day of old dial-up modem service. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Benton KOA
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
question
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$10
I would rate this higher if it had water available at the sites. The water is from a central location on the loops. You have to drive over to it to fill your tank. Many sites are Very uneven, we had to find one level enough to use still using several boards to level the rig. The park is very clean, popular. Many boats around. This is a COE park. They have several campgrounds within the park and Gun Creek is just one of them. This is a grassy and wooded park, very pretty. We rode our bikes to the craft shop which had nice quality arts. We would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Camp Information
Sites
161
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   10   10   10   7   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$24
Very good campground with paved pads and concrete patio areas. Sometimes hard to reserve. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$12
This is campground heaven! Tall trees, paved roads & sites (our #84 was right next to a private bathroom & shower, and was on a lake-side peninsula) on Rend Lake. There is lots of room (about 50 feet) between sites & screening trees between. Quiet & beautiful spot, but only 3 miles from I-57. Best of all, our America the Beautiful Senior Pass meant that our regular fee of @24 for full hookups was only $12. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$12
This is a great Corps of Engineer campground. The grounds are well maintained, the staff is very helpful and the restrooms/showers were clean. The rate we paid reflects the Senior Pass discount. Rates range from $12 for tent sites to $36 for full hook-ups. Full hook-up sites are limited. They include #'s 14 thru 18 in Owl's Roost loop (reservable; Sites 19, 22, 23, 25, 28, and 30 on the Beaver Lodge loop (non-reservable); Sites 49 thru 54 and 60 thru 63 on the Buck Ridge loop (reservable); Sites 65, 66, 67, 69, 70, 72, 74, 77, 79, 80 thru 84, 115, 116, 119, 121, 122, 125, 126, 127, and 129 on the Covey Point loop (reservable); and Site 137 on the Whispering Pines loop (non-reservable). Excellent tent sites are available on the lake and are level with fire rings and picnic tables. We spent 3 nights and had several deer walk through our site including a doe with 3 fawns and 2 buck with 4 points each. What a sight. Some sites require side to side and front to back leveling, but the majority are either flat or only require front to back leveling. The campground is easy to get to off of I-57. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for South Marcum Campground
Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$12
We really enjoyed our stay at South Sandusky campground. We practically had the place to ourselves as we were there after Labor Day. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The grounds and roads were in great shape. The rate was with the senior discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$18
Wonderful time. Go during non holiday weekends if you really want piece and quiet. Full hookups are closer to the site loop entrances and not by the water. The only exception to this would be Gunn Creek. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$24
Very nice campground located next to Rend Lake. Very mature pine trees provide lots of shade. Very family friendly. Nice campground for people who are accustomed to camping in state parks and/or who are not looking for an RV resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for South Sandusky Campground COE
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com