214877 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Benton, Illinois (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
9.54 miles NW
10.61 miles N
12.43 miles S
14.90 miles SW
17.37 miles W
19.24 miles S
22.01 miles N
28.21 miles SW
28.99 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Super Wal-Mart
I-57 Exit 71
Rend Lake Plaza/Central St
1.20 miles NW
Southern Illinois Artisa
5.63 miles N
Larry'S Trailer Sales &
9.53 miles SW
Wal-Mart
1713 South Park Ave
15.38 miles SW
Illinois
Benton
Most Recently Reviewed
South Marcum Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-14 03:56:48
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Benton, Illinois
Camp Information
Sites
52
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   6   7   7   5   4   7   3   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
Very nice park with plenty of trees in a semi-rustic setting. Nice small creek that goes down one side and though the park. I can see where this could also be a destination park as well as a place to stop for a night of sleep and travel recovery. Warm welcome upon check-in, escorted to your site and offered assistance in hooking up. My only small complaint is the same that seems to haunt most all RV parks, that is the extremely limited Wi-Fi reception that seems slower than the day of old dial-up modem service. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$30
Rate reflects KOA discount. Nice park, owners are very friendly. They have an on site cafe which serves meals from 9am until 5pm daily. The park is close to I-57 so there is road noise and we could hear trains. Neither of those bother us but it might bother some people. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
This campground is close to the highway and has a nice staff. We were just passing through and only stayed one night. It is an excellent location for that. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Benton KOA
Camp Information
Sites
161
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   10   10   10   7   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$24
Very good campground with paved pads and concrete patio areas. Sometimes hard to reserve. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$12
This is campground heaven! Tall trees, paved roads & sites (our #84 was right next to a private bathroom & shower, and was on a lake-side peninsula) on Rend Lake. There is lots of room (about 50 feet) between sites & screening trees between. Quiet & beautiful spot, but only 3 miles from I-57. Best of all, our America the Beautiful Senior Pass meant that our regular fee of @24 for full hookups was only $12. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$12
This is a great Corps of Engineer campground. The grounds are well maintained, the staff is very helpful and the restrooms/showers were clean. The rate we paid reflects the Senior Pass discount. Rates range from $12 for tent sites to $36 for full hook-ups. Full hook-up sites are limited. They include #'s 14 thru 18 in Owl's Roost loop (reservable; Sites 19, 22, 23, 25, 28, and 30 on the Beaver Lodge loop (non-reservable); Sites 49 thru 54 and 60 thru 63 on the Buck Ridge loop (reservable); Sites 65, 66, 67, 69, 70, 72, 74, 77, 79, 80 thru 84, 115, 116, 119, 121, 122, 125, 126, 127, and 129 on the Covey Point loop (reservable); and Site 137 on the Whispering Pines loop (non-reservable). Excellent tent sites are available on the lake and are level with fire rings and picnic tables. We spent 3 nights and had several deer walk through our site including a doe with 3 fawns and 2 buck with 4 points each. What a sight. Some sites require side to side and front to back leveling, but the majority are either flat or only require front to back leveling. The campground is easy to get to off of I-57. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for South Marcum Campground
Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$12
We really enjoyed our stay at South Sandusky campground. We practically had the place to ourselves as we were there after Labor Day. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The grounds and roads were in great shape. The rate was with the senior discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$18
Wonderful time. Go during non holiday weekends if you really want piece and quiet. Full hookups are closer to the site loop entrances and not by the water. The only exception to this would be Gunn Creek. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$24
Very nice campground located next to Rend Lake. Very mature pine trees provide lots of shade. Very family friendly. Nice campground for people who are accustomed to camping in state parks and/or who are not looking for an RV resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for South Sandusky Campground COE
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com