206886 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Carlyle, Illinois (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
13.05 miles NW
18.55 miles S
22.49 miles NE
28.71 miles NE
29.94 miles NW
35.08 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Wal-Mart
Us Hwy 50
2.40 miles NW
Hickory Shores Resort-21925 Dove Ln
8.88 miles NE
Illinois
Carlyle
Most Recently Reviewed
Hickory Shores Resort
Latest Review Submited On
2014-04-03 00:02:12
5 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Carlyle, Illinois
Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
question
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$12
This campsite is along the COE Carlyle Lake Reservoir, about 12 miles south of I-70, and about 60 miles east of St. Louis. It has both electric and full-hookup sites. I stayed in an electric site and then moved to a full hookup. Electric sites are in woods along lake, but I could not get satellite. Full-hookup sites are newer and more open with asphalt pads and grass. There is a marina and boat launch. I would easily stay here again. Price is senior rate for COE campgrounds. Electric only site was $8. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
May 2012
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   5   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$16
Very nice COE campground. The sites are huge and in good shape. The grounds are very well maintained. Nice grass and huge mature trees. We had a lakefront site and it was very nice. All sites were back in. Very quiet area. The only negative was finding the place. We arrived after dark and there were no signs from the main road to direct you to this place at all. Once you find it, it is worth it though. Nice swimming beach area, boat ramps, extra parking for boat trailers. We had an electric only site and it was great for a weekend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$31
We had a great time @ Coles creek. This park is very clean, well maintained, and has great beach swimming. No complaints from me. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$12
The sites are big, paved, and clean. This park has limited full hook up sites. If you are fortunate enough to get in on a reservation you will love it. Very quiet. The summer is booked usually over the weekends...by the locals, which makes it difficult for full timers like us. 10 miles from town. Walk-ins are either W/E or just E. Reserve America isn't clear on this. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Cole Creek
Camp Information
Sites
109
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$9



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   10   8   8   8   5   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$9
This is a very nice Corps campground. We paid the senior half-price rate. They did have full hook-up and pull-through sites, but the back-in 50-amp sites are much larger and more private. We enjoyed the bike trails, as well. Only negative--to us--was that our site didn't have satellite TV access. Too many trees. Wi-Fi was good on Friday, weaker over the weekend. Verizon broadband worked. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$9
Paid Senior rate of $9 per night for a nice long, level paved 50 amp back in site. We took one of the sites that cannot be reserved, but are held for walk ups. This is a very busy CG. It filled on the weekend and people were showing up before noon on Sunday looking for an available site. Overall this is a very nice area. This COE CG has Wi-Fi which was a nice surprise, but it was spotty on the weekend. TV via batwing was very good as was our Verizon cell and broadband. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$9
Excellent campground, easy access, long sites, well maintained. We stayed across the street from the main campground and liked it. The earlier comment about the water changing temperature is still true but it wasn't that much of a factor. There are children's play areas. There are full hookup sites at the regular campground but most were underwater due to heavy rains. There were also nice long sites at the spillway that are first come, first serve. The only negative thing is that there are no places to eat in Carlyle, except for fast food. There's a café at the marina and it wasn't that good. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Dam West Recreation Area COE
Camp Information
Sites
148
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   5   7   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2014
$29
Hickory Shores "Resort" -- definitely need to remove the last part of the campground name. This park is a far from being a "Resort" in any context of the word -- bluntly, this "place" is a dump!! We were in the parking lot (by choice) as there was a 50 AMP connection -- one of the few in the "place". The Host was extremely helpful and apologized for the condition of the "place" -- owner appears reluctant to invest in updating all the known issues/deficiencies. We last stayed here in the early '90s and it's not been updated/maintained for years. Mostly folks living here are on a yearly basis -- projects a neglected "trailer park" appearance. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$31
This campground sites were very small. I have a 31 foot motorhome, we could not put up our awning due to a tree in the way. My slideout was about 1 to 2 inches from another tree on other side. The water & electric hook up was on other side of camper so we had to get out a garden hose for water. They had a very nice pool. The office/store closed by 3pm most time sooner than that. There was a pond with no fish in it one of the permanents said he there was fish in there but he had not seen anyone pull any out in a long time. Carlyle lake is near by its a huge man made lake looks like a smaller lake Michigan. There are lots of water things to do there. The campground was loud at night because cars and trucks. All in all this was a no thrills campground I would not drive out of my way to stay here. Lake Carlyle cool, Hickory shores resort not cool. We will not be going back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$23
Very pretty camp with lots of shade trees. The big draw back is it's distance from main highways. Park needs some restoration. They did have WiFi but the modem broke and they did not repair or replace it. I was directed to a site which was a nice choice but narrow on a winding road. The manager did not follow me or show me the site or help with my backing up. I was traveling alone so had to get in and out of the truck to check distances and obstructions. They need a lesson in park management. I just stayed over night and left the next day instead of staying longer. Park was empty except for two of us. Getting out of the site next day was fun due to the close confines and 360 degree tight turn to exit the area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Display older reviews for Hickory Shores Resort
Camp Information
Sites
328
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$15
Nice park and setting. Bathrooms incl showers moldy, musty, dirty - wouldn't shower in one. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
We found this park most scenic -- near the beautiful Lake Carlyle -- and near enough to town that we could run in for groceries, restaurants, etc. Even though we had a horrific storm at night, our grounds stayed fine. Showers and toilets could be better (and maybe more of them -- nearer), but all-in-all, it was nice. We can't comment on the pool and grocery part as it wasn't open yet. But we do recommend this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
I've camped here a few times. The sites are well spaced. The outhouses are, well, outhouses, but there are three shower facilities with toilets that are clean. No sewer or water hookups. There are some beautiful sites on the edge of Carlyle Lake and some beautiful sites back in the woods. They take reservations for sites 1-65, but the rest are first-come, first-served. There are a few stewards on at all times and the camp is open year round. I've camped in a tent site on the lake, and twice in a camper. Each time left me feeling closer to nature. There is a new-appearing playground, several hiking trails, and a swimming pool as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com