214620 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Garden Prairie, Illinois (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
5.67 miles SE
5.92 miles NW
11.09 miles E
12.29 miles W
14.54 miles NW
15.70 miles NE
17.25 miles S
21.40 miles SE
22.07 miles NW
23.19 miles NW
25.81 miles NE
28.10 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Paradise Rv
(815)597-1671
0.93 miles NE
Wal-Mart
1201 S Division
12.33 miles NE
Illinois
Garden Prairie
Most Recently Reviewed
Paradise Camping Resort
Latest Review Submited On
2013-08-26 20:55:36
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Garden Prairie, Illinois
Camp Information
Sites
460
Date of Stay
May 2012
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   6   7   2   8   7   7   3   10   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  no  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  no  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
There is a pool but they don't fill it. There is a playground but it's old and missing boards. There is a "kids barn" with activities which was a plus, but this is not a family friendly campground. The noise level is ridiculous & the seasonal campers are bad examples of how campers should behave. There are rules, but none seem to be enforced. There were many unleashed dogs, tons of people in the river when the rules state "no swimming in the river", there is a curfew for teenagers, but there were roving packs of them everywhere at all hours of the night, and there are quiet hours that everyone seems to ignore. We had to complain twice about the noise after quiet hours and to the owners credit, they did come out and take care of the loud people. The fact that anyone would loudly blast music at 1 AM and think that's OK, is ridiculous. This campground has a lot of potential, but you can tell that they just don't spend money on it. Everything needs remodeling and painting. The roads need paving and the bathrooms and showers need lots of work. Many of the toilets were clogged all weekend. The showers were old and we couldn't regulate the temp on any of them. It went from screaming hot to freezing cold within seconds. If you like to party and not be bothered with rules, then this is the place for you. If you want to camp with your family in a nice quiet campground, with nice facilities, then this is not the place for you. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$38
Nice sized campsites here. The catch and release ponds were nice; but the bathrooms leave something to be desired. People were frendly and our stay was quiet. Overall we had a nice time. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$38
Overall a positive experience. Gravel roads mean dusty conditions. Restrooms were not real clean but usable, campers can handle them. Very difficult dump station access. We didn't use it, luckily. Staff was very helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Display older reviews for Holiday Acres Camping Resort
Camp Information
Sites
290
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$13



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   9   9   7   5   8   5   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$13
We stayed here a couple of days while passing through the area. The sites are level and are well maintained. The utilities worked well and the Wi-Fi was fast most of the time. They don't have cable but we were able to pickup several over the air channels. The roads are not laid out well for big rigs but we didn't have any trouble getting in and out. Make sure you swing wide before getting to the gates. The GPS will get you close but you have to look for the campground's small sign. Follow the blue camping sign from the highway but turn left at the end of the road, our GPS turned us right so we had to make another approach. The host were not very friendly and just wanted to get us out of the office. We would probably stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
We camped here over Memorial Day weekend. The office staff were friendly and smiling upon check-in. Our site was easy to back into and pretty level. However the sites were small and close to your neighbors. Our fire ring was 3 feet from the gravel road and parking area to the bathrooms. The fire pits were not dug out from the previous season and had weeds growing in them. The first night there was a thunderstorm, our power flickered on and off. The next morning some of the gravel roads were flooded and remained muddy the entire weekend. The bathrooms and showers were cleaned multiple times a day. With the contstant usage of the bathrooms, one out of the two toilets clogged, the management put an out of order sign on the stall door. The other ladies room on the far side of the swimming pond had 2 toilets, but no stalls or doors. Adults and children alike, would just roam through your site with no respect for your personal space. The beach and swimming pond were very small. With the temperature above 90 people were packed on that beach like sardines. Our children didn't mind, they still had fun at the beach. There are a few playgrounds, one is on the beach area. There was also multiple activities scheduled throughout the weekend for children and adults. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
We came here specifically to tube on the Kishwaukee River, which runs right into the park. When making reservations, we were told they had a hayride to the tube drop site service... Sadly, it was canceled, the office didn't really help us, but we luckily asked a seasonal neighbor to drop us off, which they gladly did. Otherwise, most of the sites are pull-through & we asked to be placed in a location that doesn't flood (per previous reviews). The gravel site was mostly level & the overall size of the site was large, comparatively to other campgrounds (FN29). There are train tracks running next to the grounds, but only saw 1 train pass. We didn't use the restrooms/showers, but they seriously need to be updated (no doors in ladies room) & they are sparse. We checked out the 'swimming lake' & we wouldn't swim there, it needs a fountain or aeration of some sort. We did order pizza from the restaurant & it was pretty good. Our 2 border collies enjoyed meeting the other doggie residents. We didn't use the dump station, but it looks easy to use as long as there aren't too many cars parked in the lot. There is a gate/card system & a $5 deposit. All in all we enjoyed our stay & would come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Paradise Camping Resort
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com