220021 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Goreville, Illinois (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
10.17 miles SE
12.80 miles NE
13.18 miles NW
17.39 miles NW
17.86 miles SE
18.49 miles N
25.04 miles NW
30.75 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Ferne Clyffe State Park
Goreville
1.15 miles SW
Tony'S Steak House
12.42 miles NE
Sams Club?I-57:54B 2709 Walton Way (Located To Block)
12.81 miles N
Wal-Marti-57:54B 2705 Walton Way (Located To Block)
12.81 miles N
Kamper'S Supply
14.65 miles NW
Super Wal-Mart
1450 E Main St
16.77 miles NW
Illinois
Goreville
Most Recently Reviewed
Ferne Clyffe State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-05-05 14:17:03
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Goreville, Illinois
Camp Information
Sites
59
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   8   10   10   10   9   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$20
Ferne Clyffe is a truly beautiful park. This is not an RV Park/Resort it is a campground. It does accommodate large RV's with some pull through sites. There are electric sites, tent sites, and backpack camping opportunities. Most sites were fairly level, we were able to level without any blocks, others used some but didn't seem to struggle. All sites have some shade. Clean, spacious campsites. Potable water located throughout campground. One set of pit toilets on each campground loop and a nice and clean bathroom and shower house in the middle. Aluminum recycling and garbage dumpster. Sewer dump station. Multiple playgrounds, picnic areas, and shelters throughout the park. Excellent hiking trails; if you don't do any you at least need to do the one at the back parking lot that leads to the waterfall, this is a nice level path, more like a maintenance road. Gorgeous rock formations, butterflies, and other wildlife. Stream is big enough to splash in but not swim. Lake is for fishing only, no boats - not even kayaks and no swimming. The lake is very pretty. Some folks took their kayaks to Cache River Wetlands and reported they had a good time. If you like some beer etc while camping make sure you bring it with you. The nearby town of Goreville is dry. Also, there was no campground host while we were at the park so get your ice in Goreville and your firewood from the boyscout, on your honor, wood lot in Goreville, across the road from Cheers gas station and behind the other local gas station. At the time we were there it was $4.00 a bundle and you put your money in the lock box. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$20
This State Park is a bit of a drive from the Interstates, but worth it for us to be in a nice park. The roads to the campground are all good but a bit lacking in directional signs. The interior roads are paved and the pads are gravel. There are two camping areas, one along a road paralleling the main road and one on a more-traditional loop. We thought the second area was nicer so chose it for our camping spot. Several of the sites were not very level, but we found a relatively level site since the park only had ten or so other campers during our off-season visit. The sites are relatively well separated but there is not much vegetation for privacy. A very nice and helpful attendant came by to collect our camping fee. There is no water at the sites, but it is available at the dump station. There are several nice hiking trails in the park and nearby is a nice wildlife refuge (Crab Orchard) and wonderful bike trail (Tunnel Hill – start in the town of Vienna and go north to the tunnel). The campground is heavily treed, but we were able to find a hole in the trees for our portable dish to work. Our Verizon phone and data (4G) worked well. We had originally planned on staying only one night but extended our stay because of the attractions in the area. We would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
Very nice State Park. The sites look nice: big, and level. Campground hosts were very nice and friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Ferne Clyffe State Park
Camp Information
Sites
52
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   4   9   10   6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$22
This is a perfect overnight stop, OR LONGER, place to camp! The rates are reasonable b/c you are not paying for a pool, laundry, etc. However, they have some very nice pull-thru sites and a pavilion, horseshoe pits and most amicable owner. Over the past 15 years we have been here on group camp outs and for overnight stays. It is very well maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$22
Challenging entry for motorhome pulling a toad. Quiet, even though near the freeway. Level gravel site and decent electricity. OK for one night stop, but not for more. Lots of low hanging tree branches to scrape the top of the rig -- not really happy with that! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$17
Very nice campground. We've stayed at the Hilltop campground off and on for several years. The owner/manager does an excellent job, and when he's not around for any length of time, he has a host to assist campers. The sites and streets are all gravel, and very level. Most sites have trees for shade, and then there are some 30 amp sites where you can park if you don't like parking under trees. This park is a nice friendly, family park. Many family campers come for various holiday weekends. They have a very good monthly rate with all utilities included. Also, very good location right off of interstate 57. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Hilltop Campgrounds
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com