206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Hanover, Illinois (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
6.65 miles SW
10.19 miles NW
14.83 miles SE
15.24 miles SE
20.43 miles SE
22.35 miles SW
23.05 miles SW
23.53 miles SE
26.10 miles NW
26.10 miles NW
26.26 miles NW
29.50 miles S
30.68 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Pleasant Creek State Rec Area 60 Ne
5.76 miles SW
Bellevue N42.247 W -90.4229
6.49 miles SW
Spruce Creek County Park 86 E
7.26 miles NW
Chestnut Mountain Ski R
8.02 miles NW
Fried Green Tomatoes
9.42 miles NW
Ulysses Grant Home Stat
11.39 miles NW
Galena Historic District
11.97 miles NW
Cafe Italia/Twisted Tac
11.99 miles NW
Bubba Gump'S
11.99 miles NW
Log Cabin - Galena
11.99 miles NW
Eagle Ridge Inn And Res
12.37 miles NW
South Sabula Lakes Park County 27 E/10 Ne
15.85 miles SE
Illinois
Hanover
Most Recently Reviewed
Blanding Landing COE
Latest Review Submited On
2011-09-05 17:06:00
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Hanover, Illinois
Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
July 2007
Latest Rate
$18


Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
We drove through this campground. We are fans of the the COE campgrounds and were very disappointed with this one. So disappointed we didn't stay. Most COE campgrounds have either gravel and cement pads -- this campground had neither --you park on the grass. The ground did not appear level in most places and would require some leveling. I also agree that we took the "direct" route to this campground from Galena and that in itself was an adventure. The other road leading to Hanover was several miles (5-6 miles) of gravel -- not too happy with that either. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$14
This is an Army Corp of Engineers campground. It is very remote, 8 miles west of Hanover, Illinois. If you are a freight train buff, you will LOVE this place, as the trains run next to the campground. A local told us sometimes as many as 60 trains pass by here daily. It took a bit of getting used to: at night they quiet down but still average about 7 a night. By the third day, it didn't bother us much, and the quiet between trains is deafening in itself. The campground boasts 50 amp electric, but no water or sewer at site. Water is available throughout the park however. The restrooms were neat and clean, even over the Labor Day weekend. There is a boat ramp into the Mississippi backwater and I assume the fishing is good. Lots of trees, but open areas as well. Large, grassy sites are the norm, which afford some privacy. There is a well-maintained playground, and it is a very kid-friendly campground. Be sure to get a lower number site if possible, the higher number sites back up to the tracks and I guarantee you will know it when a freight rolls through. I would have given this a 9 rating even without water and sewer except for the trains. We would return however, because it was very pretty and peaceful despite the trains. Also, do NOT use Google Maps to get to this place; Google got us there the most direct route possible, but also took us down some roads that a travel trailer had no right to be on. Best way is to go through Hanover and just follow the signs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
37
Date of Stay
August 2011
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$14
Depending on what you want in a campground, you may enjoy Blanding Landing. It is remote with pretty river views. (Don't look to the South where the big fence for the Savana Army Depot says RESTRICTED.) The road in is not big rig user friendly, although the park has plenty of room. The location is north of Hanover, Illinois and SW of Galena, Ill. There is a road w/signs coming from either direction: but they are both narrow, hilly, curves and low branches. There was a camp host. The bathrooms, playground and the entire park was immaculate. The sites are grass, some are flat, some are not. There are plenty of water stations and space between sites. Early in the week we were one of only 3 campers. The boat landing is very good with lots of parking, the weekends pick up: but even on a beautiful Labor Day weekend, there were at least 5 spots still available. There are trains that run fast and often through out the day/night near the back of the park. We parked closer to the river and after a day we didn't notice the trains much. I would rate this higher, but the roads in can be a challenge, especially if you meet someone coming in as you are heading out. Although it's only 15-20 miles from a nearby town, it seems much longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$18
Blanding Landing and Blanding Landing Corp of Engineer as listed on this web page are one and the same so I will just expand on what other reviewers have covered. It is a campground that can accommodate most sized RVs, but is more suited for tents, campers, and shorter rigs. It is big rig accessible, but not necessarily friendly. It is located on a lake far from nowhere, but there was cell coverage. The fifteen mile paved road leading to it is hilly, curvy, and with some areas of overhanging tree branches. Once started down the road, there is no turn around point until in the campground. The shoreline portion of lake is covered with algae making any use of it impossible. The voltage is low even on 50A service. Power management is required. There is no laundry room. The community water faucets in the campground are mainly for refilling holding tanks. Each site has a picnic table and fire ring. A dump station is available. Access roads are gravel and the grass sites that are fairly level. There are only four pull thru sites but they are the closest to the railroad track. Thankfully, the trains pass quickly so noise is short-lived. There are no street lights - at night it is pitch black. Because it’s off the beaten path, you may have the park all to yourself as we did. The gate attendants are only on duty from 6-9 pm so I think there might be a problem if you pick an empty site that might be reserved by someone else. Except passing trains, I personally enjoyed the woods, dark nights, and very peaceful solitude. But I have to rate based on what other’s would expect and that is less than the typical Corp campground would usually receive. If you have the tolerance for occasional train noise and don’t mind an “adventurous” drive then bump it up a couple points. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2006
$14
Good camping for big rigs, although not isolated. Nice hosts, but there is a train track that runs LOTS of trains late afternoon through the night. Because of that we will not stay again. It is beautiful country and a nice trip to Galena and Southeastern Wisconsin. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com