224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Lena, Illinois (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
8.58 miles S
17.22 miles NW
17.41 miles NE
21.18 miles SW
25.00 miles SW
25.64 miles NW
27.96 miles N
28.14 miles SW
30.38 miles SE
32.43 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Wal-Mart
1755 S West Ave
12.33 miles SE
Beltline Cafe
12.85 miles SE
Illinois
Lena
Most Recently Reviewed
Lake Le-Aqua Na State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-10-22 21:21:31
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Lena, Illinois
Camp Information
Sites
142
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   5   8   5   9   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2014
$20
The only reason this park does not rate higher is the horrible condition of the road to the campground. It's barely two lanes with deep drop offs and very winding. There are many deep pot holes and its very steep. I don't know what you would do if two big rigs met going opposite ways. The campground itself is very nice with clean bathrooms and a very friendly camp host. They have lots of nice trails and are close to several tourist destinations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
Positives: Most sites are electric and fairly good sized. Bathhouse is newer and seemed well maintained. Most sites are non-reserved and usually available last-minute (even Labor Day weekend still had sites available). A concessionaire drives around the campground at dusk selling firewood and ice-- very convenient. Quiet out of the way park. Illinois State Parks require no vehicle entrance fee. Negatives: Steep hills make walking in the park difficult. Not many trails of interest in the park anyway. Lake was completely green and half-covered with algae when we were there so was not appealing for swimming or canoeing. But biggest negative by far was the heavy-handed ranger and park hosts who nagged and nit-picked. I've never ever experienced that at any other private or public park I've stayed at, so camping here is simply not worth that kind of hassle. Plenty of other nicer parks in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$15
Sites were not level but had a great time fishing and relaxing. The rangers were always around and count the camping unit as a motor vehicle. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Lake Le-Aqua Na State Park
Camp Information
Sites
72
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   10   7   7   7   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$41
You can tell that the owners of Lena, KOA must love camping because it is very evident in the beautiful park they have. Well groomed and maintained grounds with soft lush grassy sites (no camping carpets, please!) and flowers and landscaping everywhere. The sites are adequately spaced and many boast mature shade trees. The pool was well maintained, fairly large for a mid-size KOA and even had slides for the kids to enjoy. There was a jumping pillow, sand volleyball, tetherball, basketball, playground and pedal bike rentals - so plenty for the kids to do! Though the campground is right off of Hwy 20 with Galena/Iowa traffic, the campground is quiet and peaceful (if you are a light sleeper, ask for a spot past the main building - you don't hear a thing out there!). The owners and staff are very nice and helpful and ice and wood is delivered to your site. Their Kampstore is very cute and has a great selection of local wines and Kampy decor. They can accommodate any size RV/camper, have three sizes of Kabins, sand-pit tent sites and even tee-pees - KOOL! This is a VERY nice KOA, owned and maintained with pride. We will go back OFTEN! Also, only 30 minutes from Galena (watch your speed though on Hwy 20-drops from 55 to 35 often!!). We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
Lena is an exceptionally well managed and maintained KOA about 35 miles east of historic Galena on Hiway 20. It is a quiet, flower-landscaped campground with both wooded and grassy areas surrounded by farm fields. The staff is friendly and helpful. The park has the usual KOA facilities (heated pool w/slide, WiFi, shower/restrooms, laundry, camp supply store, camping cabins, pool, playground, game room) all of which were clean and in good shape. Lena also sells LP gas which is another big plus since most RV campgrounds don't any more. Most campsites were typical for a KOA, fairly level, fairly close together, some with shade. Our elec & water hookups worked well. About 20 channels came in on Antenna TV. Quite a number of sites were taken by what appeared to be seasonal campers with wood decks and a lot of golf carts and ATV's. Their Kamping Kabins surround a large outdoor Kamping Kitchen/Gazebo (40 person seating with three sinks with hot and cold water, two stove tops, one small grill and one large group grill: great for groups/reunions). In addition new this year, they also had two of what they call authentic "Sioux" style Teepees to rent for a rustic Native American camping experience. Activities include bingo, sand volleyball, horseshoes, pancake breakfasts, barbecues, ice cream socials, "hey" rides, live music, weekly movies, etc. Besides the usual KOA fun-bikes and pedal carts to rent, they also have a giant inflated jumping pillow. They describe it as crossing a trampoline with a bounce castle. Wristband purchase required to use. Check their website for full details. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
Our experience with KOA's has been that they are generally OK for overnight stops but do not offer much more for us. This Park is an exception. It is a wonderful little park, well maintained and managed by a very friendly and helpful staff. The park has of course all the typical KOA facilities (cabins, pool, game room, c-store), none of which we needed for an overnight, but they all seemed to be in good shape and clean. The restrooms and showers were also very nice. The grounds were very well maintained. As is typical the sites were fairly tight, but more than sufficient. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Lena KOA
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com