220830 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Bedford, Indiana (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
8.88 miles S
21.01 miles N
23.06 miles SW
26.06 miles SW
27.21 miles NE
32.55 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Wal-Mart
2649 W 16Th St
0.93 miles SW
Spring Mill State Park
9.76 miles SE
Fairfax Beach
11.92 miles N
Indiana
Bedford
Most Recently Reviewed
Hoosier/Hardin Ridge Recreation Area
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-01 22:30:37
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Bedford, Indiana
Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
September 2011
Latest Rate
$13



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   9   8   9   6   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$13
I stayed at Free Spirit for a week. The rate reflects PA rate. This campground is not big rig friendly. There are trees very close to park roadways in several places. Negotiating the roads both coming in and leaving was difficult. In addition, the sites are no where near level. You should plan to bring plenty of levelers. If I were to return to this area I would try one of the nearby state parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$27
No WiFi, many seasonal campers. Pull Thru available, but small roads to drive and a lot of trees. Some level sites. Campground need some upgrading and paint. Overall: not to bad for one or two nights, beautiful surroundings. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$12
Rate is PA; otherwise $25. Spacious shade/sun sites. Very quiet. Pool, mini golf, playground, pavilions for parties, walking path through wooded area to pond, alpacas to feed (baby carrots), lots of birds. Not a resort but just a nice country campground. We would recommend this to others and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Free Spirit Family Camping
Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   10   8   8   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
Our first time at Hardin Ridge, and this is one of the natural beauty parks in Indiana. Folks around here point to Brown County SP as the most scenic, but Hardin Ridge gives it a run for its money, plus Hardin Ridge has access to Lake Monroe. This park has HUGE sites, private and wooded. It's a mix of tent campers and RV campers. It's very quiet, well-maintained, park staff is friendly, trails are nice, fishing is good. We really enjoyed it. Word to the wise, though: some of the sites have a LOT of slope and aren't really motorhome or big TT friendly. Trust the descriptions on the booking site, or call. We'd give it a '10' if there was a camp store or one close by. Gotta drive about 8 miles to get to a bait shop/convenience store/gas station. Over-the-air TV is sparse, cell signal (AT&T) is good. If you've got kids, the 'playground' is the woods and water. We visited nearby Paynetown SRA, and that's where the party is: bigger beach, rental marina, camp store, louder, more packed in, etc. If you want a quiet, back-to-nature experience (but also want clean restrooms and water/electric hookup sites available) this is your spot. We've already booked our next visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
This was our second time staying at Hardin Ridge in three years and we are just as pleased as the first time. The campground has replaced a few more of the shower houses and restrooms with modern buildings that have individual shower stalls and they are all clean. There are still only 13 sites with water hookups, that would be something that could improve. There is also only one playground in the camping area (Blue Gill Loop) as opposed to two in the past. Regardless, this is still a beautiful park. None of the sites back up to each other and are very well separated with dense forest. It seems as though this is an unknown campground because the nearby state facility (Paynetown) had many more campers with a campground that is not nearly as pretty. If you are looking for someplace quiet and truly surrounded by nature, this is a great place to go. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$17
An absolutely beautiful park. There is good separation between sites with heavy forest providing privacy. None of the sites back up to each other so you have a forest view out your back window. There are 6 roads or streets off the main road each with a circle drive at the end, the road we camped on (site #144, water, 50A electric) had no other campers. We camped in the middle of the week in early September. There are only 5 sites with water and 50A electric. None of the sites have sewer hookups but a dump station is provided. Big rig friendly, we had no difficulty in navigating in and out of the park and campsite with our 38' fifth wheel. We will definitely stay here again when in the area. The rate of $17 reflects the use of a Seniors Pass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Hoosier/Hardin Ridge Recreation Area
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com