220584 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Chesterton, Indiana (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
8.49 miles SW
10.60 miles NE
15.22 miles E
19.21 miles SE
27.14 miles SW
30.63 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Indiana Dunes National
3.20 miles NW
Camp-Land Inc
4.72 miles SW
Wal-Mart
4301 S Franklin St
7.74 miles NE
Meijer 149
7.94 miles NE
Wal-Mart
6087 Us Hwy 6
7.98 miles SW
Yogi Bear'S Jellystone Park
(219)762-7757
9.37 miles SW
Basil'S Le Franklin R
9.52 miles NE
Purdue University North
9.63 miles SE
Valparaiso University
9.95 miles S
Super Wal-Mart
2400 Morthland Dr
10.96 miles S
Indiana
Chesterton
Most Recently Reviewed
Indiana Dunes State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-04 00:08:44
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Chesterton, Indiana
Camp Information
Sites
140
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   7   9   8   8   8   6   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2014
$30
Nice wide sites, very pretty. Paved roads and sites. No water at site. Showers decent and same with toilets. Mosquito's prevalent. Not a favorite! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$26
Rate includes entrance fee/reservation fee over 3 nights. We like this park but it is very busy in the Summer - no matter what day of the week - but what else would you expect for a CG right near the lake 40 miles from Chicago-Land. The park itself is nice and the sites are big but it is noisy as many of the sites have large family groups with 3 or 4 tents set-up on each. The restrooms/showers get dirty towards the end of the day as they only seemed to be cleaned once a day. Good hiking trails to the lake and dunes and easy access to the train into Chicago. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$24
This is a very busy park during the summer. The beach is very nice with a concession stand and lifeguard protection. There are also miles of walking trails in and around the dunes. On a clear day you can see the skyline of Chicago across the lake. The nearby town of Chesterton has many stores and restaurants. There's also a train station at the entrance of the park (with freee parking) that has scheduled service to Chicago. As for the campground itself, the sites are all paved and many are long enough for large fifth wheels. The sites are electric only but there are several water spigots scattered around the park that you can fill up from if you run out. Just be sure to bring a water thief since there are no threads on those spigots. There are also two water fill stations (with threads) as you enter the campground. We were disappointed to see that many large trees have been cut down since our last visit. Perhaps the ash borer is to blame. As a result, many previously shady sites now receive a lot of sun and there's not much privacy between sites (although spacing is OK.) Since this is such a busy park, even on weekdays during the summer most sites are occupied so it has a parking lot look to it with the absence of some of the trees. If you like a social atmosphere with plenty of families, this is the place for you. If you want a more private, secluded, quiet environment, then I recommend the National campground just to the east. Although it has NO hookups, it is very pretty and in a dense forest with a modern restrooms and showers. As for this campground, the restrooms were cleaned daily (the family restroom was closed permanently which is irritating); there are two playgrounds; cell reception is good; TV reception is spotty; there is a campstore open until 9 or 10pm with the basics; sand is everywhere (you're around sand dunes after all); we never saw a Park Ranger drive through but most campers observed quiet hours beginning at 11pm. We would return because of the beach and the park is well run, it's just not the prettiest campground. With all the other families and two playgrounds, our kids had a blast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Indiana Dunes State Park
Camp Information
Sites
140
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   6   2   7   1   1   2   1   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  yes  no  no  no  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  yes  no  no  no  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Stopped here for a night. It is about 3 miles off the interstate driving through a neighborhood and cornfields. The turn into the campground is a bit tight for a big rig. The sign is old and advertised a religious camp. The office is sparse, only a desk and a few things for sale. The person in the office was Asian and did not speak much English. He did not ask how big our rig was, just said he had water and electric available. We told him we were over 40ft with our tow vehicle so he gave us a grass site with water and electric. The site was only 20 amp so we asked for another which was 30amp. The electric quit working after about an hour and the office was closed, so we had no power which was hard on our dog. The restrooms were ok. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
This campground is much improved this year. Totally new rest rooms and showers that are very nice. They are tiled. They just needed to be cleaned more often. A new pool was under construction not sure when it will it will be done so call first if this is important. Very roomy sites with some shade. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
No maintenance for years, park is falling apart. Says it's a revival park. Yuk, must have been nice when new. It has some unemployed people hanging around, scary. The hand rail into the office sways in the wind, that's the first clue. I'd pee in the woods first before using the bathroom here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Sand Creek Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com