206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby New Castle, Indiana (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
8.37 miles SE
12.06 miles SW
16.18 miles NE
16.26 miles NW
17.19 miles N
18.89 miles NE
20.05 miles NW
20.37 miles NW
23.96 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Super Wal-Mart
709 S Memorial Dr
0.59 miles NW
Walnut Ridge Family Rv
3.97 miles NW
Walnut Ridge Cg
(877)619-2559
4.59 miles NW
Flying J
I-70 X123
5.00 miles SW
New Lisbon Cg
(765)332-2948
8.09 miles SE
Gas America
I-70 X115
10.99 miles SW
Indiana
New Castle
Most Recently Reviewed
Cornerstone Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2013-09-28 10:00:45
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
New Castle, Indiana
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
We loved this campground. Surrounded by cornfields, the campground has good asphalt and gravel roads and the sites are well-shaded by mature trees. On our visit, the grounds were gorgeous, with well-kept grass, flower beds and seasonal Fall decorations of dried corn stalks and pumpkins. There are clean showers and restrooms at each side of the park. Free WiFi is available at the cafe/office and the surrounding sites. The owner's wife is a caterer, and there is an on-site retreat center and banquet hall, in addition to the cafe. The cafe serves breakfast daily, as well as coffee, cold drinks, hamburgers, nachos, popcorn, hot dogs and delicious freshly made pizza, which they will deliver to your campsite at no charge. Amenities include a fishing pond, horseshoe pit, basketball court, putt-putt golf, swimming pool, shuffleboard and two playgrounds. The water in this area has a lot of iron, so use a filter if that bothers you. This is truly a family park, and the owners are some of the nicest folks we've met. This campground is among the best we have visited and we look forward to staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
This is a very nice campground. The grounds are well maintained and in very good condition. The location is easy to find from the Interstate with all paved roads en route. The host are very friendly. Met us at the entrance and guided us to our site. Interior roads are paved and the sites are gravel. All sites are level with lots of grass and trees. Rest rooms are spacious, clean and modern. Our rate was a weekday special for the month of August. Our Wi-Fi signal was strong and fast. Loaded with amenities. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
This campground it right off I-70. It is under new management and they are great. It is a family campground lots of things to do. They have activities on the weekend. This is a quick drive for us from Indy. Very nice! We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Camp Information
Sites
125
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   7   6   7   9   7   7   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$26
Electricity is a problem. Entire side of campground A (where we were) lost power several times over the 48 hours we were there. A call to the office resulted in a park employee showing up to flip a switch, or something, within about 15 mins or so. Folks we camped next to said it's a regular problem there. Bathrooms and showers have standing water pretty much all the time, from the front door to the shower areas, which need painted badly to cover the rust from the iron water which is the most prominent color in the shower. Staff does their best, it seems, to keep the shower/bath house stocked and cleaned, but the facilities are in need of renovation. Hiking trails are just OK, but pleasant. Bought five green toothpicks that were being sold as firewood at the 'camp' store, which only sells ice and the so-called firewood. There are a couple bait/sundry/grocery stores a mile or so down the road from the park. The park property is nice; however, with a really pretty and clean lake. The beach is smaller than some other comparable state park facilities, and we had the place to ourselves on Friday at dusk. The sites in area A are very large, but some are full sun. Sites in area B are smaller, less level and more shaded (mostly pop-ups and tent campers in that area, it seems). There is a shared-post water hookup for the camp sites, but bring plenty of hose. We used all of 50ft. Lakefront sites were all booked when we reserved our site a week prior. Overall, the campground was filled with pleasant folks, fewer bike-racing children than we've seen at the other state parks this year, and more adult 'group' campers. It's probably not high on our list for return sites, but it's not out of the question. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$27
Very nice camp ground! Lots of sites in Loop A are next to the water or close by. All sites are very good size. Everything clean and well kept. Two things that were an issue. The power supply for our site did not work right. Power was constantly flickering. Fishing was very poor from the bank. Most people there this week fishing was saying the same thing. Will definitely camp there again, fishing not withstanding! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
Nice state park, well taken care off. Sites are not that level overall on the north road in section A, can flood with heavy rain. Empty for the most park during the week but packed on weekends. No sewer, water available, bring 50' of hose, 30 amp electric. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Summit Lake State Park
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
October 2012
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$18
Stayed here two nights due to weather. Closing on the 14th for the season. Beautifully kept area inside and out. Showers were not new but very clean and well maintained. We appear to be the only ones left here that are not full time. Staff is most helpful and has a wonderful supply of tools if you forgot your saw, etc. I agree that the dump station is a strange spot on the way out. Easy access, cement pads for pull through, friendly, and even they escorted us to our site. I would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
90% permanent sites. Great for work being done at Walnut Ridge RV dealer who also owns the campground. . Electric & Water only. 50 amp. Out site was short but worked-would not have if I had my swivel-wheel trailer connected. Some shade but afternoon very sunny. Dump station in a lousy area-directly in path RV's come in. Charge for the pool $2.50 per person-and closed at 5pm. When temps were over 90 degrees all week this was a bit short sighted on their part. Bill's diner in town is where the locals eat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$36
The office staff was very friendly and helpful. Very attractive campground. Neat, clean. 50AMP "big rig" site had water: but NO sewer hookup! Dump station was placed on a curve, on an incline. Could not completely dump when we came in, as dump area (In the middle of the entrance to a road) on left side of coach was a steel plate placed in the asphalt. Had then to back up to maneuver into the entrance road. Site was level and gravel. Had to dump AGAIN next morning when we left to get tanks completely empty. Felt that the COST of $36 was VERY high for only water and 50AMP hookup. Turns were very tight for a 40" rig. Due to the high cost, we wouldn't return. Based on other sites we've visited throughout the US, $25 would have been more reasonable. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Walnut Ridge RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com