218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Peru, Indiana (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
13.32 miles NE
17.71 miles NW
18.58 miles SW
26.58 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Gallahan Oil Co
Peru
2.96 miles NW
Miami State Recreation
7.95 miles SE
Indiana
Peru
Most Recently Reviewed
Honey Bear Hollow
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-31 22:48:39
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Peru, Indiana
Camp Information
Sites
101
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   3   4   5   5   9   10   8   3   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$26
Beautiful setting of rolling hills and forest nearby. Sites are large, but not level. Great open feeling, just being there. Well stocked store, with microwave for heating snacks and hot dogs. Male at front office was nice, had good business attitude, and courteous. Called me Sir. Stayed only one night, would stay again, if given a chance to travel through there. This RV park gives you a feeling of great openness, We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2014
$27
Very crowded sites, owners are not very friendly. Only one washer and one dryer were operational. Would not return. Be prepared to pay extra if you want to use air conditioner or hot water heater. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
My husband and I were searching for a campground and visited here to get information. We did not actually camp here so that is why my answers were marked as "don't know". I also have no idea what their nightly rate is, as I would never camp there. When we walked in the campground store/office, we had to ask for someone to talk to. The person was not extremely friendly. When we asked about golf carts being allowed, we were rather rudely advised that they are NOT allowed because they aren't needed - everything is within walking distance. We noticed, however, that there were 3 golf carts parked out front - possibly for staff use. As I have a bad knee, walking is not always easy. I definitely got the impression that the person we spoke with could care less whether we camped there or not - so we left. From what little we were able to see, the campground did look very clean and well kept. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Honey Bear Hollow
Camp Information
Sites
197
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
A previous review from 2012 is inaccurate. I am one of the "permanent resident campers" that was referred to in that review. While some of the review is correct, there are some areas that could stand to be cleaned up, the reviewer could not possibly have toured the entire campground and gone on top of the hill where the majority of permanent campers are located. The campers there are NOT rundown and in fact have decks and decorations that are beautiful. This campground does not have a restriction, as some do, for the age of the camper. There are campers ranging from brand new 2013's to much older, however they are NOT rundown. There IS a swimming pool up on the hill and there are many sites with trees. Pets are DEFINITELY welcome as are children. There are sites that a larger camper could indeed "pull through" with no difficulty whatsoever. The staff is very friendly and helpful in getting new campers set up. The resident campers are extremely friendly and welcome new campers, permanent or weekender. The sections for tent campers are all mowed and under trees and a shower house is readily accessible. This campground is a wonderful place to spend a weekend or an entire camping season! There are trails through the wooded areas that golf carts can travel or they can be hiked without problems. If you are looking for a FRIENDLY, welcoming place to relax and enjoy camping, this place is definitely one I would recommend! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
Campground has long winding gravel road through the trees to get to check in. No 50 AMP. Sewer hookups were just an open 3 inch PVC pipe. Very few sites available and most were to tight among trees to get into. Most campsites are permanent residents with extremely run down campers. Park is scattered with all kinds of debris and looks like a dump. Would not stay here again and would suggest avoiding this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
335
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   3   8   8   9   10   10   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$27
Very spacious clean, spacious sites. Helpful attendants on duty. Lots of activities available, including disk golf, basketball goals, volleyball court, hiking trails, and large beach and lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2014
$34
We came to this campground after reading the reviews here, and I have no idea how it was rated so high. If you want to meet somewhere with a large family group that likes to make a lot of noise (screaming kids, people in cars blasting their stereo while driving through the park, dogs barking late into the night, baseballs and Frisbees hitting your RV, etc.), then this is your kind of place! If you are full-timing or looking for a little quiet, forget it. After 2.5 years of full-timing, we have finally learned to never stay in a large state park during the summer season. Besides the above complaints, other folks might be interested to know that the bathrooms and showers here were disgusting - not maintained at all as far as we could tell, and not clean. I will give them a break on cleanliness, since the place was completely packed and people were in and out of the facilities constantly. We enjoyed the hiking and biking paths, although they were obviously not maintained either - with old trees and branches laying across the paths. Most sites were terribly out of level, the worst we have seen. Spacing between sites was not bad. Each site had 2 tables and a fire pit. The 30-amp power and water pressure were adequate. The daily rate was too high when considering the "zero-maintenance" policy that seemed to be followed with regard to the facilities. I hope other state parks in Indiana are not like this one. Oh, almost forgot - no Verizon cell signal here at all, but I was told that AT&T works in some areas of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
Rate reflects $5 entrance fee to the park. Not all sites have water hook ups but there is a place to fill tanks on the road from the entrance. We were there on a Tuesday and the park was very quiet. The sites are fairly close together so I can see how it could be crowded and noisy on the weekends. There are several restrooms with showers and several more that just have vault toilets. The restroom near our site #159 was very clean, but could use some updating. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Mississinewa Lake
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com