214850 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Peru, Indiana (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
13.32 miles NE
17.71 miles NW
18.58 miles SW
26.58 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Gallahan Oil Co
Peru
2.96 miles NW
Miami State Recreation
7.95 miles SE
Indiana
Peru
Most Recently Reviewed
Honey Bear Hollow
Latest Review Submited On
2013-09-03 23:24:03
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Peru, Indiana
Camp Information
Sites
101
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   5   5   9   10   8   3   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
My husband and I were searching for a campground and visited here to get information. We did not actually camp here so that is why my answers were marked as "don't know". I also have no idea what their nightly rate is, as I would never camp there. When we walked in the campground store/office, we had to ask for someone to talk to. The person was not extremely friendly. When we asked about golf carts being allowed, we were rather rudely advised that they are NOT allowed because they aren't needed - everything is within walking distance. We noticed, however, that there were 3 golf carts parked out front - possibly for staff use. As I have a bad knee, walking is not always easy. I definitely got the impression that the person we spoke with could care less whether we camped there or not - so we left. From what little we were able to see, the campground did look very clean and well kept. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$23
This is an average campground. Only 30 amp and no sewer was available. The place needed a good landscaping, and grass needs mowing. The owner was a little grouchy; not too bad but just a little. No WiFi or Verizon phone service either. Roads and sites are not paved, all gravel. It's an average place, not upscale but far from being a bad place. For the $23, it was an ok place. If in the area again, I would check out other parks to see what others might have to offer. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
OK park. Owners/staff are not too friendly. Really felt like I was interrupting something important when checking in. Be prepared to pay extra for AC use. Bathrooms clean, but got a good chuckle with the signs posted in front of each urinal and in the stalls telling me how to do my business; detailed all the way down to what order to do it all in. The chuckle was because they were serious, these weren't posted here as a joke. Campground did not come across as very kid friendly either. Could be wrong, but that's just the impression we got. Definitely not a destination park and probably won't return, nor can I recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Honey Bear Hollow
Camp Information
Sites
197
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
A previous review from 2012 is inaccurate. I am one of the "permanent resident campers" that was referred to in that review. While some of the review is correct, there are some areas that could stand to be cleaned up, the reviewer could not possibly have toured the entire campground and gone on top of the hill where the majority of permanent campers are located. The campers there are NOT rundown and in fact have decks and decorations that are beautiful. This campground does not have a restriction, as some do, for the age of the camper. There are campers ranging from brand new 2013's to much older, however they are NOT rundown. There IS a swimming pool up on the hill and there are many sites with trees. Pets are DEFINITELY welcome as are children. There are sites that a larger camper could indeed "pull through" with no difficulty whatsoever. The staff is very friendly and helpful in getting new campers set up. The resident campers are extremely friendly and welcome new campers, permanent or weekender. The sections for tent campers are all mowed and under trees and a shower house is readily accessible. This campground is a wonderful place to spend a weekend or an entire camping season! There are trails through the wooded areas that golf carts can travel or they can be hiked without problems. If you are looking for a FRIENDLY, welcoming place to relax and enjoy camping, this place is definitely one I would recommend! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
Campground has long winding gravel road through the trees to get to check in. No 50 AMP. Sewer hookups were just an open 3 inch PVC pipe. Very few sites available and most were to tight among trees to get into. Most campsites are permanent residents with extremely run down campers. Park is scattered with all kinds of debris and looks like a dump. Would not stay here again and would suggest avoiding this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
335
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   10   10   8   7   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
Rate reflects $5 entrance fee to the park. Not all sites have water hook ups but there is a place to fill tanks on the road from the entrance. We were there on a Tuesday and the park was very quiet. The sites are fairly close together so I can see how it could be crowded and noisy on the weekends. There are several restrooms with showers and several more that just have vault toilets. The restroom near our site #159 was very clean, but could use some updating. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30+
This park is an excellent park. We took our grandsons for an extended weekend. The park is very clean, the sites are very nice, lots of things to do with in the park, trails, great swimming beach with a very nice store/snack stand, playgrounds, horse shoes, volley ball. I will stay there many times again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
We have camped here many times for weekend get a ways since it is close to home. The actual campground is at Miami State Recreational area as a part of the Mississinewa reservoir complex. Be sure not to confuse it with the private campground below the dam. What other reviewers have said are on the mark except to my surprise there is now WI-FI available to most of the campsites. The broadcast antennae are mounted on the water tower so the closer the site is to the water tower the stronger the signal. The lake is strictly a flood control reservoir so be aware that water levels can fluctuate. Reservations are available via Reserve America. Weekends are busy and the full hook up sites are almost always full well ahead of the weekend so plan accordingly. The comfort stations are clean but could use an upgrade. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Mississinewa Lake
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com